Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 2045 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

actually im a student. im just to join in this school. its make me interested. i hope you can allow me to join this school, i really really hope your opinion is good for me. and how to join this school?


Posted February 14, 2014

You were NOT a student at American Senior High School and I was NOT your teacher. Your have FOUR run-on sentences and that would have been impossible after taking my course. Patriots do NOT talk bad about each other or their school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2013

I would like to respond to the teacher who responded earlier. Please, don't insult students when you can't even teach. I had you for a class and it was a nightmare, our entire class filed complaints against you because you managed to upset every student and this is coming from a student you actually liked. Anyway, on the topic of the school. I was a student here from 2007 to 2011, I have very mixed feelings about this school. They have many teachers that are terrible, but have some that genuinely care and the memories I have of the good ones will follow me throughout my life, such as how the memories of the terrible ones will also haunt me and I bring them up whenever I want to tell a funny story to people. It really is a ridiculous school now that I think of it. It was ridiculous, but I enjoyed it for the most part. :)


Posted August 11, 2012

While this school does have a few good teachers most are just shameful. For starters the teachers will 87% of the time give you a long packet which you have never been reviewed on, and say i need it by Monday. Oh and no this isn't one of those know how much you know packets you get one of these almost everyday. They mostly gossip with their favorite students or teachers ABOUT students, openly too. Example: a teachers goes to lunch with other teacher and talk about how stupid this kid is or how fat that one is. how do i know? i actually hear them, they are not discrete at all. Oh but when open house comes they go into angel mode and appear as if they are the best, kindest teacher ever. I got 3 more years of this left but hey it readies you for college in that since you don't learn ANYTHING WHATSOEVER you get to cram the book and study all day and night to pass. If you pass the teachers give themselves a pat on the back for their hard work. Oh not only that but say a kid is getting beaten in the bathroom and a teachers hears about it ' don't worry kids sooner or later they will finish'. . BTW we cant make a complete sentence cause WE DON'T LEARN ANYTHING. I wish i could say more but.


Posted July 13, 2012

American to me is an okay school. i am still going to be in that school for the next three years and im not liking the idea. the teachers DON'T DO ANYTHING. i mean i was lucky to even pass the first year i DID'N'T LEARN ANYTHING at all i have to teach my self all my teacher either were always yelling at the students the moment they walk in. other teacher just sit there not even teach just give you something to do and that it while they are gossiping to there students. others give you grade just by favoritism nothing else if the teacher hates you they give you a bad grade. im not joking around because almost all my teachers where like that i've seen it my self . American needs teacher like mr. escalante from the movie stand and deliver.


Posted May 28, 2010

As my sister, cousins and myself were former students of american, I have to say that even though it started out very bad, then became a somewhat better school - there is still much lack. Now, my child is attending...The overall attitude is sarcasm from staff and teachers "acting" as if they care about the school/student, when they really don't. The reason more parents aren't involved is because they are blown off and quickly dispatched, considered a neusance for getting involved. Let's mention the teachers that are constantly complaining about having to teach, and saying so to the kids! Plus, their total lack in commitment to teach (most rather be on the INTERNET or gossiping with other teachers). It's a total dissappointment & insufficient leadership. Main problem is the messed up attitude not the budget! Slightly better school in the area for consolation?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Wow . Im currently a student at american now . I went into this school with an bad attitude from lawton chiles . I had bad grades but when i came to american my grades improved majorly . American is a great school . Trust me !
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

Last year, our valedictorian was accepted to MIT. This year we have a few seniors are attending Ivy league Schools. Im my opinion, it's an overall good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

As an alumni I can personally say American was the best choice my parents made. I was involved since freashman year with countless other kids in clubs, sports, and associations. Like every public school it has deadbeats but for the most part the kids are all very intelligent. We have a really high number of grads reviving scholarships for sports and grades. I know classmates that got accepted into UF UM NYU FSU FIU MSU UCF UH MDHC Vtech and OSU just to name a few of the best. Don't underestimate the students because of their ethnicity social class economic status or the schools history.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

this school is the worst school that you can ever imagine,i cant believe that it got a 5, a 3 maybe but a 5,whoever rated this was being to lenient
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

Has many and great extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

Many people believe that the school is bad. My freshman year there has been the best. They have a lot of really good students and outstanding academic programs. The school has tons of extracurricular activities and tries really hard to be involved with student's lives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

I thought this school would be bad, but it has been great! My son did not do so well in lawton chiles, and i thought that would continue in american, but i was wrong! The school has improved, there is no more violence, the teachers care for students and newsweek named it one of the nations best schools! To all the parents who think this school is bad, take it from me, i thought it was bad too, but it's great, and it will continue to do good in the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

As a former student of American Senior High, I must say... WOW! This public school is so very unorganized & way to crowded. All I keep coming across in these reviews is how wonderful AP courses are & hoe great the honors program is. What abou about the students who aren't in honors? Should they be exposed to the lower part of what is considered to be a 'no child left behind' program? Quite frankly, I believe we not to stop all of the rediculous budget cutting surfacing. Otherwise, American will never reach brilliance & most of our students (potential leaders & what not) will never fully reach for the stars so to speak. Our public school system needs more money! What's more important: being able to supply maximum amounts of money for our criminals in jail or providing money right now so students have better fates then that of jail.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

My child has some of the most challenging AP classes he has ever taken. Teachers do a great job challenging their student's minds. My daughter seems to love this school. I recommend this school to you and your child if you are ready for the experience of a lifetime.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

As a student fitting in seems to be a religion for many. At american high fitting in isnt hard getting along is easy and teachers are supportive and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

As Alumni in American Senior High School, I would hands down recommen dthis school. The diversity of students, the enthusiasm of many teachers including counselors, and the motivation to compete academically was always present.I've attended private & public school & can honestly say this was the best positive experience.The area is not bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

The faculty is very helpful. They really do care about you and your child. Also, the teachers are some of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

The School has a bad reputation because of the Area that it is Located. In Actuality The School is Better than All the Schools in the Area. This Year it was rated Top 5% of Schools in the nation by Newsweek Magazine. The Environment, The Clubs, The activities, The Teachers & Staff are all excellent. Forget what everybody else says about the school, Experience it firsthand and you'll come to notice its not at all what people say it is.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2006

Worst school I ever attended
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

506 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

493 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

487 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
23%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 29%
Black 28% 23%
White 3% 42%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 86%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%58%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Ranked in top 3% of Newsweek Magazine’s List of America’s Top High Schools (2006)
  • Ranked in top 5% of Newsweek Magazine’s List of America’s Top High Schools (2005)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Mandarin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30
School end time
  • 2:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Luis E Diaz
Fax number
  • (305) 828-7380

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Mandarin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18350 NW 67th Ave
Hialeah, FL 33015
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 557-3770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT