Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Hialeah Gardens Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1222 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

West Hialeah Gardens Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers are wonderful!! Security is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

My daughter started 3rd grade there and so far I don't have any complaints. Teachers are informative and involved with the students and parent relationships. Hopefully things go well :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

Looks can be deceiving! This school's appearance is beautiful with lovely gardens. The inside is a whole different story. My daughter attended this school and had to do an exaggerated amount of homework every day. I have to say that some teachers at this school would benefit from taking professional development courses especially my daughter's previous teacher. My daughter is attending a different school now and is doing much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

My school is a very positive environment to work in. The principal helps you to be the best that you can be and raising your moral, makes you want to achieve more for your students and for the school. Everyone works for the benefit of the students, and they are the priority. Teacher collaborate for the improvement even of students that were with you in prior years. There is a lot of afterschool enrichment clubs and tutoring for the children that really need it. Security is EXCELLENT! They go beyond that call of duty. I feel teachers also do more that is expected, and that is why our students are so successful in our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2013

My daughter is finally going to middle school after being there for 6 years and its sad to say but thank God. I remember at the beginning when the school opened the administration was always visible but for the past two years I barely saw them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

My daughter is in K-Garden and shes is doing very or extremely good the teachers excellent everything the worry about student my daughter have learned a lot in her first year at school is the best school were you can have you children and knowing that they are learning not doing others stuff is a wonderful school and im happy that she would be there for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

West Hialeah Gardens Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers are wonderful and the office staff is friendly and helpful. My kids love going to school everyday. The school has a very close knit community feel to it which I personally love. There are many school activities for the students. The parental involvement is amazing. The principal is always at every school function that I have been to. My kids are doing amazing and I believe it is because of the teachers and staff at the school. A++++ school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

The principal at this school along with the office staff is not very friendsly or helpful, the administration is rarely seen. This school is a disaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

The principal at this school along with the office staff is not very friendsly or helpful. I asked to speak to the administration and I was told they were all at lunch. I came back one hour later and they were still at lunch. As a parent the only person I have had a positive experience with is Ms. Madelin Castillo I believe she is part of the administrative team. Very friendly, professional, and helped me with an issue with my son. She was very willing to help my son in his class. Maybe they need to stop having 1 hour lunches at that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

I have had my children at HGES and they were horrible. My children were transferred to WHG and its the best thing that has happened to my family. I have 3 kids one in 1st, 2nd and 3rd. The teachers are wonderful and Mrs. Gonzalez & Mr. Y. are excellent they are both down to earth and very dedicated to there students. Also, the office staff is very wonderful to deal with and make you feel very welcoming. Thank God for such a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

West Hialeah Gardens Elementary is a beautiful school with a wonderful dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

my son has learn so much, in english and spanish, the teachers are great i'm very happy with the academy level of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

I am a security part-time at west hialeah gardens elem. and everyone at the school calls me 'Top Notch' because i do whats necessary and i exceed expectation from what administrators tell me. The school is a great school and the teachers are very caring to the students, its a great environment to learn in!!! =]


Posted September 19, 2008

My son started 1st grade this year at Westland Hialeah Gardens Elementary and he loves it. I love it as well, the teachers are great, the principal is great and the security for the students is excellent. I really hope that the school system never changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

Ms. Gonzalez is a great principal she endured a lot of complaints this year but she overcame that. The school was awarded an 'A' school being it's first year. The teachers and staff are great and very helpful. The school is one of the better choice her in the Hialeah Gardens area. My children came from a nearby school a couple of blocks away and I was not statisfied at all. The hardwork and dedication that everyone puts into there work is outstanding. I'm proud to say that my children come to this school and that they will continue to have a great education in the coming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

i have my daugher in that school and she so happy there and me too its a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

have 2 students in this school. Since my comment is limited to words. I will cut to the chase. The teachers are not in control of the students. They do not communicate well with the parents. The administration is rarely seen. The school is still unprepared and the kid s grades are the ones suffering for it. It seems that if you know the teacher of another staff member your kid will great grades w/o a problem. If not you are left to fight to ensure that they are getting the right grades. They have a long way to go. I plan to take my kids out next year. Even if I have to commute further. No school signs on the street yet no cross guards, disorganized parent pick up. Security is a joke. I expected more, but I am very disappointed and my kids will not suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

The administration and curriculum is good. Teachers are very knowledgeable and caring towards students. However, the location of the school is very poor. The school is located in a commercial area. Very little parking or no parking is available for the parents to pick up and drop off the children. Surrounding traffic is very congested with business trucks making it unsafe for the children to be picked up and dropped off. School buses sometimes stop in the middle of the street to drop off the children because it is very hard to get in and out of the parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

218 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHARON M GONZALEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 818-4001

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11990 Northwest 92nd Avenue
Hialeah, FL 33018
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 818-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Magic Kids Learning Center II
Hialeah Gardens, FL





Primary Learning Center B
Hialeah Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT