Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Highland City, FL
Students enrolled: 420

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
I have been extremely pleased with this school & my daughter loves it. The security is as much as you could expect & well done. The way they get K's acclimated to the school is very well done. The principal is definitely a leader to the teachers and students. My daughter is in Kindergarten. There were more K students this year than expected so all the classes were too large and they had to make an extra class. My daughter was chosen to be pulled into the new class. The way they did it was great for the kids. I am glad they did it because smaller classes are better for the students to get the attention they need with the teacher. Both of the teachers that she has had have been great. They are more focused on each individual students learning needs. Example: a child may be ahead in some areas and behind in others, that child is taught to move forward where they are ahead even if the other students aren't ready for new materials. And they are helped to catch up where they are behind even if they are way behind. They are all learning on an individual basis. When I was in school - the class learned together & it didn't matter if you were ahead or behind in any area and I hated this.

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2012
- a community member
HCE is the best school ever! I have lots of friends here. Exellent teachers. I am in fifth grade at HCE, i have been going since kindergarten. And a really nice principal, too.It has a library too. Big selection of books. No one ever gets bullied here, and if you do, it gets taken care of Immediately. I love hce and i am sad to go to middle school soon. eh, its a part of growing up, so i gotta deal with it :(. If you are looking for a school for your child to go to, i recomennd hce.<3


Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
Love HCE! Small school with a big heart. My daughter will be going into her 4th year at this school and my son is entering Kindergarten. Proud to have my children attending.

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a community member
I have 3 grandchildren and many adopted grandchildren in HCE. I am a volunteer and can only say good things about the teachers, Miss Hall, Mr. Roberts and the staff at this school. This small town school with a big heart has got to be the best school ever. I only wish that my daughter had been able to attend it when she was younger. Kyle, Kasey, & Kammi Cribbs Nana

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a student
My nana used to work here. Her name was Mrs. Meinke. She retired, but she never stops talking about this school. I went there through all of elementary. I'm now in 7th grade. I realize now, that I couldn't have asked for a better school. Rachel Meinke

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2005
- a parent
My son has attended this school since kindergarten and he is now in fourth grade. I have nothing but praises for the school, the office faculty and the teachers. My son has enjoyed his years here tremendously. Highland City is a growing school, hopefully it won't get away from its small town effect.

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2005
- a parent
My son is now in middle school but my daughter still attends HCE. The qualtiy of HCE only improves over the years. Keep up the great work !


Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2004
- a parent
What a wonderful school my daughter attends. I could not ask for a better place or better people.

Highland City Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2004
- a parent
Highland City Elementary truly is Polk's 'best kept secret'. It is a small, family-friendly school, where teachers and administrators know students and family members by name. The school continues to perform well each year, and has the kind of leadership that expects the best from the teachers and students there. I have a daughter in 3rd, and a daughter in K. My kindergartener has a physical disability, and her teacher is fabulous and has truly been able to look past the disability and see the abilities of the child. We couldn't have asked for a better start to her schooling. My 3rd grader also benefits from the small class size and small school setting of HCE. I cannot say enough about the warm and welcoming atmosphere at HCE, and look forward to our youngest attending there as well in a few years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland City Elementary School
5355 Southeast 9th Street, Highland City, FL  33846
(863) 648-3540
Last modified Highland City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland City Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top