Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hilliard Middle-Senior High School

Public | 6-12 | 787 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2012

We have recently moved into the district, and were very pleased with the faculty and their collective approach towards academics. We have seen positive results in both of our children's grades as a result. Hats off to these folks for their dedication and time spent with our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

We have moved around allot, this school is the reason I want to put down roots in this one light little town. We have never experienced so much individual attention. My son went from not wanting to do his school and homework, to bringing home and actually doing his homework. I just love the guidance counselor Mrs. Erin Land; she has made our experience with this school so wonderful. My son is now on the football team and that is the drive behind his change and we could not have accomplished that without so much reinforcement from the staff. I can hardly put into words how much I appreciate the staff at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

I am please with the staff and the support from the teachers and the office personal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Hilliard Middle-Senior High School is the best! My children attended many schools as we moved around with the Navy. I love HMSHS because of the individual attention each student gets. This is a small school and everyone knows everyone, love it! They have a Principal this year, Mr. Tilly, and he runs this school with great pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I will be graduating Hilliard Middle-Senior High School in May 2009 and i can personally say that it has been the best six years of my life. Hilliard High offers a self of family with small class sizes. I admit that the school does seem to teach directly about the FCAT but we learn much more than about the FCAT. We learn self responsibility and the staff care for the students. While attending Hilliard High I have participated in the Dual Enrollment Program and when I graduate i will have twelve credit hours left to do for my A.A. degree.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

I attended Hilliard High School and felt that the education I had received was good but didn't properly equip me for my future ambitions. Today, my children attend HMSHS. The faculty today, is far from acceptable. It appears that the only thing that is on their minds has to do with teaching directly for the FCAT and nothing else. Other than that the faculty is only available to collect a paycheck. Their apprears to be no discipline, order or ownership responsibility by the faculty or students. The teacher do not require the students be respectful which causes enables the students who want to learn. There are no TRUE honors classes offered here and no talent scouts for any of the sports programs. The students are not encouraged to excel to their full potential and or beyond. If I could aford to move them to a better school. I would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I attended Hilliard from kindergarten through eighth grade. I absolutely loved and enjoyed my time spent there. I always considered myself fairly smart and never received less than an 'A' in a class. However, upon moving to a college preparatory school in Jacksonville, I realized that Hilliard had not fully prepared me like it should have. I feel I would have had a harder time in college if I had stayed in Hilliard. Also, there is not a strong push for students to attend 4 year universities from the staff. While I think that the small classes were beneficial in the lower grades, the middle and high school need quite a bit of work to make them comparable to the more advanced schools in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2008

I am a student at Hmshs.And i must say.This school has some problems.The teachers are great but most of the students here are jerks.They never listen becasue the teacher dont really care what they do as long as they arent messing with them.There are to many bullys and only a few good friends there.The lunches are Terricifc and the campus is clean.But we do need to make a few changes-student
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

This place is the best especialy the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2007

This school doesn't do what it's suppose to do. It doesn't teach us children what we should be learning because of all the interuptions by bad students the teachers need to crack down on the bad children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

I was a student at Hilliard and I miss it. Hilliard is a cool school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2007

When it comes to the FCAT Test need extra tuitoring in classrooms. Need to expained this school larger for the students learning. Just a suggestion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

All of 3 of my children have attended HMSH and I have been very pleased with the teachers and staff. For a small town school, Hilliard tries to offer diversity in programs. My children have been involved in both sports and band. My daughter is currently in Color Guard and we are very impressed with the new band director. I like that as a parent we can be as involved in their schooling or extra-curricular activities as we choose to be. There is not another school that I would rather my children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
60%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 91%
Black 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Flashes Ave
Hilliard, FL 32046
Phone: (904) 845-2171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Tiger Success Center
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT