Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hilliard Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2009

this is a great school my two kids attend there and I couldntbe happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I think this school has been pretty good so far. My children have been here since 2007. We moved here from Jax north side and I have been through quit a bit already. We had put our son in our neighborhood school for k-1st. Very bad! he went down hill the whole time. (they told me I was over worried) We switched to a private school for his 2nd year and my daughters 1st pre-4 and that was great yet costly. We then switched to me homeschooling for his 3rd year and my daughters k. This was great seeing I had no job. It was fun, we could get classes done and still have 1/2 a day. They both excelled and he also past his test at the end of the year. We then moved here and they are doing great. Thank you HES. solid ground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I am very impressed with the communication between the parents and the teacher. The staff is very concerned about each students education. I feel that there are only a couple of areas for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Do not recommend this school at all. Have had several issues with the lack of proper discipline of bullies. My child was threatened with supspension as well as the other student that hit them. How is that fair? If one student does all the hitting why should both get in trouble?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I considered home schooling until we moved to this area and found out how great this school is. Our church partners with the school, assisting them with volunteer needs as well as financial needs. HES is a great school in a great community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Very good student to teacher ratio. My sons are testing very well nationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

The staff is very accommodating when it comes to meeting my child's educational needs. The principal shows outstanding leadership and expects the same from her staff. My child's teacher communicates weekly with newsletters! I am always informed of school events, allowing me time to schedule around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

Having had my child already enrolled in a previous preschool program, I found that the program at this school was awful. It lacked resources, funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Reading/literacy assistance is appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

I love the Hilliard Schools. I feel like my child is really safe there. The teachers and principals are really great.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 42%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic N/A 29%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kristi L Simpkins
Fax number
  • (904) 845-7427

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27568 Ohio St
Hilliard, FL 32046
Phone: (904) 845-4471

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT