Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sea Wind Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

I am a substitute teacher in both Martin and St Lucie counties and this is one of my favorite schools. The teachers and administration are excellent and the vast majority of the children are well-mannered, polite and respectful to each other and the staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2013

We moved to the area over the and my son started first grade. We are VERY HAPPY with the school so far. He did not enjoy kindergarten at his previous school and did not want to go. He loves school now and is happy when he goes and when he comes home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

My daughter has been at Seawind for three years now and I am amazed with this school. I could not have picked a better school myself for her. Staff is extremely friendly and always there to answer any questions you may have. The teachers really go above and beyond for their students. The principal is friendly and caring. I am more than pleased with Seawind Elementary and when the time comes for my son to enroll this will be the school for him as well! Amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I think this is a well run school with very dedicated and skilled teachers. I have seen administration change hands but it still seems to function seamlessly. If you are a parent who wants to have zero involvement than you will not benefit as much as those who are involved in the day to day of their students studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Seawind Elementary is a collection teachers and administrators and staff that are totally committed to providing the best educational foundation for their students that they can. They also strive for excellent outreach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

The staff at this school are known to go against the wishes of the students' parents when it comes to matters of responsibility. Terrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

All children at SeaWind are given the opportuinity to reach their highest capacity. All children and staff work together to make SeaWind the best school in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

SeaWind Elementary has amazing teachers. They are always willing to go above and beyond what is called for. Our volunteers are so dedicated and reliable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Great staff who put the children first. Good spirt. They stress believe, acheive and succeed. The principal has an excellent open door policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I love SeaWind Elementary because the teachers and staff care and love our children and are always looking to make it a better place to be. They go above and beyond what you can expect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I am a second grade teacher here at SeaWind and I love my students, my co-workers, my parents, and my administrators.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

SeaWind is our favorite because we care about our students and staff. Everyone is caring and involved. Our PTSA helps our students and our teachers with new programs and volunteer help. Our teachers and staff are the best! Our students and parents rock! We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

The music program is wonderful. Mrs. Willoughbee offers a top quality elementary school experience. The Science teacher, Mrs. Read offers wonderful after school programs too. I have two children at Seawind. Everyone seems friendly and our children are happpy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

My son has attended Kindergarten at Seawind this year. I cannot speak highly enough about his teacher, Ms. Kapalko. She really cares about her students, challenges them with their work and is creative and fun with their assignments. Overall, I have found the staff to always be helpful and available. We are moving away this summer and I am sad to leave this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I have 2 children at Sea Wind and I find the teachers are great. They definitely care about the students and their achievements. I am unhappy with the new principal, Mr. Green, and feel he lacks compasion and makes assumptions without truly hearing all the facts. Mrs. Marder, the Vice Principal on the other hand is kind, caring, understanding, listens and takes immediate action when needed. Wish she was the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

This school was fantastic for my child. They have changed principals and vice pricnciples in the last two years but it was fantastic all the way around. Great communication, teachers were excellent, after school activities were great. I loved the experience my daughter will take with her for the rest of her life. I loved its location, and I loved the ability to volunteer as much as you wanted and they cared about it. This school is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My daughter has been a Sea Wind for 3 years now and it has been a good experience but that will only happen if you participate and are responsible for your child's success. Much of the school year seems to be geared around learning the FCAT prep instead of actual learning, but I do not think that is the fault of the school. I think if you want your child to succeed at this school, you have to insist on conferences, understand that much is expected of young children and be ready and willing to pick up the slack at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

I am more than pleased with the staff at Sea Wind. All of the teachers and administrators are genuinely interested in helping each child succeed to the best of their ability!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2003

My son attended kindergarten this past year. I was skeptical at first. Mrs. Bryant challenged both Daniel and I with assignments and descriptive projects. He now takes on his homework positively and is looking toward being a gifted child next year. It has been hard work but well worth it and I thank Mrs. Bryant and the supportive SeaWind Elementary staff. My son cares for the office staff, music, PE, art, computer and media, and science staff. Thank you SeaWind. :0)


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 18%
Black 13%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%68%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AGER BIRGIT
Fax number
  • (772) 219-1631

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 Southeast Seabranch Boulevard
Hobe Sound, FL 33455
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1625

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT