Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gulfside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2012

My son has attended this school for nearly 3 years. And ALL 3 years he has suffered bullying,as so did my daughter in 5th grade year. I am VERY active in BOTH of my kids schooling,I make sure Im a presence there bacause of the bullying problems in that school. Yes,the teachers are VERY stressed,but after today I feel "some" might make excuses for the bullies there. Some kids (like my son) dont want to "tattle" or see some one punished out of fear. But if the bullying goes unreported~its not bullying when your child reports it the 20th time and has bruises. It's an "isolated incident". I have e-mailed my sons teacher on numerous ocassions,with no response back. But she cant utilize the same e-mail to notify me that all his work isnt being turned in,or of a problem in the class. Some teachers will slide on the dress code,I would'nt,which caused my daughter to be bullied. That incident was nearly 2 years ago when i brought it to administrations attention. Im still waiting for the promised call. My kids have reported OTHER children being bullied aswell. But if the parent isnt aware,the school WONT tell you. I virtual school my 7 grader,now maybe my 4th? Girls grades have improved ALOT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

My daughter has been a student at Gulfside for most of her school education. Her teachers have been top-notch and very caring. The Principal is very engaged with both the students and the kids. As a parent, his door is always open. Any issues are handled with promptness and kindness. The staff is also very friendly and professional. Thank you, Gulfside teachers, and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

My children have attended Gulfside since preschool and I have felt , as a parent, a welcomed part of the school community for over 6 years as my youngest continues to grow and prosper while having fun! It may not be the best school money can buy, but Im a realist who lives in Holiday Lake Estates.. I cant afford to send my kids to a private school or to send them across town. I chose to embrace the school and become involved to see how I could help make a difference! I have been involved by volunteering. We have felt how the school has grown and prospered under the current leadership! I know how diligent they worked to keep and maintain quality teachers and gain parent involvement! GSES leadership works very hard to focus on whats important for this community! As I read comments, I feel they are unfair. Halloween comment: it has been a holiday in schools for years, GSES didnt invent it, they just go along with it. Just keep your kids home that day. As for fcats, GSES tries to best prepare our kids, tests are required. Dropoff line: what school that has a great , no wait line? GSES strives for the best they can achieve with talent, empathy,TItle 1 funds for the good of the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Bad. I pulled my kids out. Please stop thinking the world revolves around the FCAT tests. It doesn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

There were a few nice teachers, but overall most are stressed out, run by the powers that be & controlled by the FCAT tests. The place is outdated & has TERRIBLE drop off/pick up policies for kids who are driven to school. I wiated in line for an HOUR or more every day to pick my kids up and even LONGER when it rained. Waste of my time. My kids got lice several times from other kids. Lots of hassle & expense. We were told all kids who were sent home with lice would be inspected before being allowed to return, but that never happened & the lice spread like wildfire. Lots of kids came to school very sick & that spreads quickly too. Lots of poor kids stuck in PLACE before & after school who are there for 12 hours a day - sick or not! Lots of trouble makers who are not diciplined or corrected too. We noticed bad treatment of Christian kids who wanted to ignore Halloween and mention Christ during Christmas & Easter but were told not to mention that & to call it Winter & Spring Break instead. Unfair rules about missing recess for OTHER kid's bad choices. Bad company DOES corrupt good character. My kids suffered lots of hurt feelins, tears & unfair treatment. Now I home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

My kindergarten boy was a sweet, innocent, nice, sensative kid until he attended this school. He was bullied and harassed relentlessly because he liked the color pink (he has 3 older sisters!). He was scarred for life from the mean kids who were never corrected. I've been home schooling him ever since. Now he's a wonderful 13 year old who is already taking college classes! He's a happy, healthy child. Too bad public school doesn't produce more like him! Behind every great kid is a great parent (or two!). Public school teachers should be able to plug their title in to finish that sentence as well, because not everyone can home school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

I myself went to this school growing up its wonderful. my kids make excellent grades and they go far beyond to help kids out. .when my kids started their they was behind in speech now they are up and beyond thanks to the help with prek and speech theropy ... GO GULFSIDE WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

We love the new writing program that the principal has gotten for the school. They have been working with USF to help teachers teach writing better and it shows. Thank you Mr. Clayton for all you do for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

This school is fabulous and the support given by the teachers and the principle is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

The school truly goes way above and beyond to try to reach out to parents. I've been on the SAC for two terms and I can say that the teachers and principal really care about making this school a place where kids can really get excited about learning. Their new writing program is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

This school goes way above and beyond to reach students. They have implemented many programs to help their many at risk kids become successful. The school makes numerous attempts to try to get parents involved.


Posted August 23, 2007

After reading the positive reviews...I was shocked! The school is outdated, over crowded the pod method is really behind the times. Parent's really don't get involved and are clueless about what is going on at the school. They have a C for the 3rd year in a row. Teacher turnover in very high! We are looking into new schools for our kids. They really need to wake up there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I like the school. It's clean and well kept. The teachers are very interactive. I went to talent show night and really enjoyed the participation. The music teacher was very enthusiastic and knew all the kids by name. I was very impressed. Teachers that enjoy teaching and interacting with their students. What a concept!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I have been a Gulfside parent for 4 years and my children and I love the family like atmosphere of the school. All my children have had wonderful educational experiences. The teachers and the administration are all very concerned about meeting child and parent needs and always make themselves available when I have had questions. The All Pro Dad's events this year were a great way to get Dad's involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2006

The teachers are very good and concerned about individual needs of children. The school has alot of handicapped kids who have to take the same FCAT test as others which effects school grade. There are alot of opportunties for parents to learn and be involved in the school which I like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

My family loves Gulfside. I feel that the teachers and principal are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure the kids feel special. The prinicpal makes phones the parents when the kids are caught doing something good in school. I always feel welcome when I come in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

Overall I am very pleased with the school. It would be nice if they were to update it some. I am concerned about our school score of a C. When my daughter first started the school it was rated an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

This school still utilizes the 'pod' method. Meaning there are big rooms with small partitions separating the classrooms. Very unorganized and very distracting and also very 1980. Also, the school was an A school just two years ago and now is a C.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

very overcrowed and not well organized classrooms, children are not getting along or working will together. Lots of clicks that do not play well with others. Was truly unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2005

Good academic program and good comunication with children
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 24%
Black 9%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%63%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. CHRIS S CLAYTON
Fax number
  • (727) 774-6091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2329 Anclote Boulevard
Holiday, FL 34691
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT