Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hollywood Central Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2008

My son is in 1st grade this year. It is his second year at Hollywood Central Elementary. I was very nervous sending him to public school, being a product of private school my entire life. But as a single mom, I didn't have many other choices. I can honestly say that I am very pleased with the school's teachers and administration. My son actually looks forward to going to school. I'd definitely recommend this 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

It is only the second day of school, but so far it has been a great experience. Everyone is so organize. I have high expectations for the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

This school has a great teachers and staff. The PTA is wonderful and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

A great open campus and a warm and friendly staff. As in most schools, the education is as good as your child's teacher. HCE has its share of fine teachers; you just have to seek them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

My daughter's first grade experience here was really great... she had an amazing teacher who was able to reach out to each child individually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

Excellent school, loving teachers, good administrative staff, my son is happy in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

Excellent school, good teachers, good administrative staff, my daugther is happy in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

The school is excelent, they provide everything for my son, he learned a lot, he reads very well, he has a lot of activities por every holiday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

Both my daughter and my son attend HCE. I am very happy with HCE overall care of my children both academically, mentally, emotionally, physically. HCE isn't just school, it's family. I can always speak with the teachers, principal or any one without a hassle. At HCE, the PTA is top notch with the fundraisers. They get the children motivated by having school mega parties. The teacher and administration involvement with the students are great. I enjoy volunteering whenever I get the chance. I most pleased and can't wait to have my youngest daughter to join the HCE Family next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

A wonderful nurturing school with teachers and staff that truly care about each and every child's welfare. I have a child in fifth grade and I feel he is receiving an excellent education. I also had three older children that attended Hollywood Central and the early education they received prepared them for success in later grades as they went on to advanced and honor classes in Middle and High School and now in college. Hollywood Central is a school of quality in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

The math curriculum needs to be improved. Other kids from other schools out west are doing more advanced math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

The school needs to have more creative teaching. The principal asks why is Virginia Shuman Montessori school accepting so many transfer students from Hollywood Central. Instead, the principal should be asking why are the parents taking their kids out of Hollywood Central. She needs to focus on making Hollywood Central a better school and parents will no longer take their kids to other schools. We want to send our kids to the neighborhood school but unfortunately, the education at Hollywood Central is not up to par with other good schools such as Virginia Shuman Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

Both my children have gone to Hollywood Central since they were 5yrs. My daughter is now in 5th grade and my son in 4th grade. I wish I can find a middle school for my daughter like this one. I have never had a problem with the school, the teachers are very nice, and the staff is great. My kids are very happy to go to Hollywood Central.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Hispanic 33%
Black 20%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DELICIA DECEMBERT
Fax number
  • (754) 323-6190

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Monroe Street
Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone: (754) 323-6150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Little Flower School
Hollywood, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT