Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

546 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hollywood Central Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My son is in the fifth grade. We came to HCE just last year. Knowing that transitions can be difficult for children, he has come to be very happy here, and is motivated... I attribute this to the wonderful and inspiring teachers he has this year. Thank you fifth grade teachers!

Hollywood Central Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Just a quick note to say a heartfelt thank you for what has been an excellent year academically and socially for our son. The nurturing school environment has been exactly what he needed, dedicated and excellent teachers that I have encountered throughout the course of my son's education at Hollywood Central Elementary. Thanks for believing in our son and making him believe in his own abilities. I would like to express my sincere gratitude and many thanks towards the School, Teachers, office staff, support staff, thank to all the ones who have a big heart and a desire to make the world a better place one kid at a time. Thank you for all your selfless sacrifices. Thank you for taking good care of our child. My son attended Hollywood Central Elementary from kindergarten-5th grade. The biggest compliment a teacher can get is when a student goes home and says ‘Mom I had a great day at school’ Our child did that every day. There is nothing more satisfying for parents than to know that their child is being given the same amount of love and care as at home.


Hollywood Central Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
There is nothing more satisfying for parents than to know that their child is being given the same amount of love and care as at home. The biggest compliment a teacher can get is when a student goes home and says ‘Mom I had a great day at school’ Our child did that every day.

Hollywood Central Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is finishing his first year at this school and he is so happy here. This school pushes its students to their greatest abilities. I am very happy we chose this school , the teachers are dedicated and inspire kids to learn more. Parent involvement is off the chart. Couldn't be happier!

Hollywood Central Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
The school is great! They focus on helping young people develop an array of talents and knowledge. The school has programs to help promote and encourage the value of ongoing learning.


Hollywood Central Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Hollywood Central is an AWESOME school. It has a family oriented atmosphere that stems from administration, PTA, teachers, and families.

Hollywood Central Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
HCE is a great place to be!! My children have all attended the school. We were always happy with our childs teacher and the environment the school has. Its a very cozy, family oriented school. Its not like the new institutional buildings they build now - it reminds me of when I went to school :) The staff is always helpful and friendly. All my children have been happy there.

Hollywood Central Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
You can't judge a school by it's shiny new computers, desks, playgrounds or test scores. You need to judge it by the teachers, staff and how they treat your child. Keep in mind that test scores are based on a handful of students. One thing that has hurt HCE the past couple of years is the transition of students leaving and coming back to HCE. We are a transient school which means we get students who move to the area in the middle of the year and don't speak English as a first language. The standardized tests are given in English which makes it difficult for them. Don't overlook HCE when deciding on where your child should go.


Hollywood Central Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
HCE has a great staff that truly care about the students. It has a diverse student body. I feel that it is preparing my child for the real world.

Hollywood Central Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I never thought that I would send my children to a public school but I figured I would give our neighborhood school a try! Hollywood Central Elementary really surprised me with its wonderful sense of community and its fantastic teachers and staff. I am an involved parent and feel very at home and welcomed at HCE.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hollywood Central Elementary School
1700 Monroe Street, Hollywood, FL  33020
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (754) 323-6150
Last modified Hollywood Central Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top