Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Hollywood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 698 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I'm a parent of three kids. My two oldest already left WHE & moved on to other schools but I still have my lil one there. He's in 2nd grade. He like's his teacher & is happy with the school. It's a great school & I can't complain but the staff & Asst. Principle & Principle are really cool people & take into consideration any concerns we (as parents) may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

The current leaders at this school are incapable and ineffective. It is my opinion that the principal was demoted from being a middle school administrator to an elementary school leader (a few years ago) due to numerous complaints, grievances, and marginal productivity at the middle school she managed. The assistant principal is almost as useless as his supervisor because he follows her every word without question. West Hollywood is spiraling downwards due to the administrator's poor decision making skills and the blatant favoritism she encourages among the school's staff. She hires her friends and promotes employees, who she has close relationships with, to positions they are not qualified for. Students' test scores are decreasing drastically, and the turnover rate for the teachers is out of control because of frustration and low moral. Furthermore, the PTA members have been dropping off like flies due to the current leader's disorganization and lack of communication skills. I am not surprised by the current drop in letter grade attained by the school, and actually the grade given wasn't truly earned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

West Hollywood Elementary was one of several elementary schools in Broward County that benefitted from Florida's 2013 One-Letter-Grade-Drop-Protection Act. This new law, enforced by the former FL Education Commissioner, is a safety net plan that prevents schools in the state from falling more than one letter grade at a time in a year. West Hollywood was given a "C" grade under this provision. If this law had not been put into place, the school would have earned either a "D" or an "F" grade for the 2013 school year. This school was given to the current principal as an "A" school in 2009, and now its performance level has dropped to a modified/adjusted "C" grade. Please check the FL Department of Education's web site for validity and clarification, and research the principal's name on any search engine to fine a news article containing interesting things that occurred at the last school she presided over (the report implies ineptitude, incompetence, pettiness, and favoritism).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I have two or my kids attendant there at west Hollywood I rate the school as an A school. Yes they want let u walk your child to there class that is making your child/children's to be independent as they grow up that they can go to class without they parents walking them to class that they can walk with their friends. And I rate them an A(100%) on the security that they have there no one can't just come there and walk into the school without showing ID (no ID no child/children's) release to no parent. So I think whom ever rate the school to a C is not telling the truth. So they need to rerate the school again and tell the truth. I have my 8yr old daughter there sense she was in K now I have my 6yr old son there also he been there from K. Everyday both of my kids come home and tell me how they learn something new today in class. The teacher in this school are amazing keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

My son is now in 1st grade and has gone to this school since K. I absolutely love this school and so does my son! His teacher is amazing and treats all her students equally. I may not be able to walk him to class or to the cafeteria but I know he is in good hands! They have a lot of field trips which are very cheap but educational. I wouldn't want my son to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I personally give this School A great Rating, I went to this school and now my oldest child is attending K with the same teacher I had (Mrs.Berger). *Aronoff*
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I go to this school myself,I have been coming to this school from PK-5th grade. If you ask me this school has great teachers and a great principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

West Hollywood has more positives than negatives; however, I feel the children's educated is being rushed through, and all of the SSS standards are not being efficiently taught because of the FCAT. Teachers are not given enough time during the year to effectively teach material and give the children a good foundation. It's impossible for the teachers to cover necessary skills before March, so students are failing not because they are not competent, but because they were not taught the subject matter. The school year might as well end in March being that students are tested on a whole year's worth of curriculum and then have their future determined. Honestly, the rest of the year doesn't count even if they do well. The FCAT determines their destiny.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2006

I have 2 children at W. Hollywood and i love the school. I am always informed of my children's progress and any problems that need to be resolved. The new principal has put an emphasis on making this an 'a' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is my 2nd year as a WHE parent and the teachers so far are wonderful! Very kid centric school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

My son is in the fifth grade now and has been attending this school since 1st grade and I have never had any type of problem with teachers or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

Poor judgement,wrong attitude from staff the main office. Teacher with nasty attitude towards the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

My daughter is in the first grade and she has a wonderful teacher. The staff is caring and the principal tries really hard. This is her first year and she is doing excellent with her teachers' support.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
Black 31%
White 11%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 223%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AIMEE ZEKOFSKY
Fax number
  • (754) 323-7890

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6301 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, FL 33024
Phone: (754) 323-7850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Patty Cake School
Hollywood, FL






Darul-Uloom Learning Center
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT