Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcarthur High School

Public | 9-12 | 2210 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

As a current student of McArthur, I have nothing but good things to say. The Debate Team within their first year achieved so much and programs/clubs like the Med Club and Spider which helps you with specific major(s) are available. 95% of the teachers are great and are involved with the student body just like guidance. The amazing thing about the teachers at McA is the fact they teach you morals and life lessons as well as the class. I feel like as an young adult whose not so quite ready to face the real world it is imperative for us to learn from those with experience and become a better person. McArthur is constantly trying to improve and have been successful in many aspects. I'm extremely proud to be graduating from McArthur.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2010

I'm currently a junior at McA, class of 2012. This school is great and so far i've had a wonderful experience. Not all the teachers are the greatest, but you can switch to a better class easily with the help of our great guidance counselors. The administration is wonderful and very strict when they need to be. Of course, theres a portion of the student body that doesn't care about the school and can be very rude. However, if you just keep your head up you'll be fine. Joining a club, sport, or the band program will guarantee you friends that are kind and add to the great experience. Overall, the majority of McA's student body are hardworking friendly individuals, the teachers and administration are phenomenal. Hopefully with the addition of a new principal this year, he can make our school even better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2008

I graduated form this school in 2005. The only thing McArthur has to offer is a renovated campus. Other than that the administration leaves alot to be desired. They are rude, and unhelpful. The teachers are terrible. They have no experience or in depth knowledge of what they are teaching. Send your child to a private school or one with a higher grade. Avoid at all costs.


Posted November 1, 2008

I am a Junior at Mcarthur High class of 2010. I love this school the academics, sport and extracurricular activities are up to par. This school is unique because it is not like those other school were kids are depressed because they don't 'fit I',' at MCA you will honestly find the sweetest people you could meet. You don t need to be rich, gorgeous or a jock to be accepted. Most people like you for being real. You just have to be involved with the student life and not sit alone at lunch for absolutely no reason! After that comes sports. Varsity football it our biggest accomplishment so far we had only two loses so far of a few games. Teachers are very involved with students enjoying high school and making the best of our four years (esp. Ms. Clarke the most involved teacher I ever met.) overall A+. -V_Florival.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

Im a senior here at MCA and I love this school. yes the administration is very loose but they are strict at times when needed. The teachers here really care about you and help you everyway they can. Ms.Mincy is the best computer class teacher. Mr.Hussain will educate you. and all the teachers are great. This school will mold your child and teach them the right morals that they need for the long road ahead. I love McArthur high school and i wish i wasnt leaving, but they've helped me with some much that Im really ready for my future, and i will never forget the friends and education i gained here. -Joseph Dessi Class of '09
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2008

This school is a great school. The administrators are very strict and most of the teachers are on task and are prepared to teach their students. It all depends on if your child knows who are the right people to be around and knows how to stay focused. overall i love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

The school is perfectly fine! It all depends on your child. If your child has a good personality and is not about gossip, the school is perfect for them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

The school does need a new administration team (Principal and Asst. Principals)that follow policy and procedure and don't bend when the parents are screaming and yelling because they are not getting their way. The school offers a lot to those students who want to take advantage for example AP courses, sports, clubs activities, etc. Overall our school is good, no one has gotten killed or shot. The students overall do behave good, some have attitudes but hey which school does not have kids like that. Parent involvement could be better, even though the school can do more to encourage that. Noticed that parents who have kids with behavior problems are because parents have issues too. Students are sent away to live with other people, parents transfer their kids here from other schools because kids are misbehaving there reality check to some parents is your kid not the school who has problem.


Posted February 29, 2008

McArthur, although it may have it's problems, is a very good school. We have 3 students going to international and 3 going to state science fair This year we won 2nd place in the We The People competition.We have tons of clubs, like 20, and 18 ap classes! McA is not the bad school its made out to be. attending the international science fair, we also have 3 students attending the state science fair. Thip
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

great school just not recognized.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

My son started his s 9th grade yr there in between awaiting the charter school waiting klist from 8 yrs of catholic school....I was hiorrified as to the lack of dress code,discipline and lack of teacher competancy teacher the kids...Stay away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

McArthut High is one of the worst schools in Broward county. The principal and counselor seem to have it stuck in their heads that if remodel the school and put gates up thats going to improve the school reputation. As for the teachers there bore the students to death. I'm a graduating senior(class of '07) and I can think of only 4 teachers who really enjoy teaching and helping students: Mr. Marco(the best American Government teacher in the world), Ms.Tucker( one of the most unique).
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

Good school... Good students... Best school in nieghborhood
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2006

I graduated from this school in 2001. Not the best school. If your kids attend here, I recommend that you help them to learn more by going elsewhere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2005

This school lacks many qualities that a school needs to suceed, They do not have the materials and are very tight on the funds that kids need for their extra-curricular activities. The parent-teacher contact is very poor and the don't do enough to keep parents informed of what is going on with their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

I graduated from McArthur High School last year and can tell you from personal experience the inside scoop. First, I want to say that I was not really a straight 'A' student, but had mostly B's or C's. I didnt have the drive to do something with my life, but friends and staff especially conviced me there's no better way to start than graduating... McArthur is real. All the different groups of people blend well, and most students get along great aside from their diffences. If there is a problem (like all schools have, some just cover them up better) it is quickly solved, and administration is always there to help, listen, and take care of the students. They really are good about keeping kids in class, and solving problems with the ones that are on the '8 year plan'(taking a long time to graduate). If you think that your child has potential for a lot of school spirit, and likes to be involved, this school is definitly the one to send them to. The principal is actively involved with and supportive of the students and their activities. I feel that parent involvement should be more. If it wasnt for the staff at McArthur High School encouraging me, I dont think I would have stayed in school or graduated. The principal, staff, teachers, and several students encouraged me to stay and try hard to reach a goal, and I did it, along with the rest of the class of 2002. I recommend taking some time in the Army JROTC program, that was am amazing, if not biggest conribution to all of my accomplishments as well.


Posted June 15, 2003

This school is very troubled. People always getting robbed and there is a lot of violence at that school. I enrolled my child at that school and took her out that same week, after seen what's going on. Take my advice this school is bad.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

527 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

510 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

512 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

467 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

550 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

736 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
Black 27%
White 16%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 181%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 27%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. TODD LAPACE
Fax number
  • (754) 323-1330

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6501 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, FL 33024
Phone: (754) 323-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sharon School Of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT