Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,242 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcarthur High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
It was suggested to my son less than 6 months into his freshman year of highschool that he give up and go to an alternative program because he was too far behind already.

Mcarthur High School 1

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent and I have had an awful experience at this school with first my oldest child and currently having a very negative experience with my youngest son there. They will force your child out of their school and into alternative programs that do not work as soon as they show any signs of falling behind. My youngest has been in summer school since day one of summer school and I have called three a times a week trying to actually get him placed in the class he needs to make up. It took over a month for him to even start the summer program because of the sheer incompetence of the staff. Someone should remove the A from the front of this school. They do not deserve it.


Mcarthur High School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a student
As a current student of McArthur, I have nothing but good things to say. The Debate Team within their first year achieved so much and programs/clubs like the Med Club and Spider which helps you with specific major(s) are available. 95% of the teachers are great and are involved with the student body just like guidance. The amazing thing about the teachers at McA is the fact they teach you morals and life lessons as well as the class. I feel like as an young adult whose not so quite ready to face the real world it is imperative for us to learn from those with experience and become a better person. McArthur is constantly trying to improve and have been successful in many aspects. I'm extremely proud to be graduating from McArthur.

Mcarthur High School 4

Posted August 21, 2010
- a student
I'm currently a junior at McA, class of 2012. This school is great and so far i've had a wonderful experience. Not all the teachers are the greatest, but you can switch to a better class easily with the help of our great guidance counselors. The administration is wonderful and very strict when they need to be. Of course, theres a portion of the student body that doesn't care about the school and can be very rude. However, if you just keep your head up you'll be fine. Joining a club, sport, or the band program will guarantee you friends that are kind and add to the great experience. Overall, the majority of McA's student body are hardworking friendly individuals, the teachers and administration are phenomenal. Hopefully with the addition of a new principal this year, he can make our school even better.

Mcarthur High School 1

Posted December 25, 2008
- a community member
I graduated form this school in 2005. The only thing McArthur has to offer is a renovated campus. Other than that the administration leaves alot to be desired. They are rude, and unhelpful. The teachers are terrible. They have no experience or in depth knowledge of what they are teaching. Send your child to a private school or one with a higher grade. Avoid at all costs.


Mcarthur High School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2008
- a student
I am a Junior at Mcarthur High class of 2010. I love this school the academics, sport and extracurricular activities are up to par. This school is unique because it is not like those other school were kids are depressed because they don't 'fit I',' at MCA you will honestly find the sweetest people you could meet. You don t need to be rich, gorgeous or a jock to be accepted. Most people like you for being real. You just have to be involved with the student life and not sit alone at lunch for absolutely no reason! After that comes sports. Varsity football it our biggest accomplishment so far we had only two loses so far of a few games. Teachers are very involved with students enjoying high school and making the best of our four years (esp. Ms. Clarke the most involved teacher I ever met.) overall A+. -V_Florival.

Mcarthur High School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a student
Im a senior here at MCA and I love this school. yes the administration is very loose but they are strict at times when needed. The teachers here really care about you and help you everyway they can. Ms.Mincy is the best computer class teacher. Mr.Hussain will educate you. and all the teachers are great. This school will mold your child and teach them the right morals that they need for the long road ahead. I love McArthur high school and i wish i wasnt leaving, but they've helped me with some much that Im really ready for my future, and i will never forget the friends and education i gained here. -Joseph Dessi Class of '09

Mcarthur High School 4

Posted July 14, 2008
- a student
This school is a great school. The administrators are very strict and most of the teachers are on task and are prepared to teach their students. It all depends on if your child knows who are the right people to be around and knows how to stay focused. overall i love this school.


Mcarthur High School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a student
The school is perfectly fine! It all depends on your child. If your child has a good personality and is not about gossip, the school is perfect for them.

Mcarthur High School
no rating

Posted March 28, 2008
- a community member
The school does need a new administration team (Principal and Asst. Principals)that follow policy and procedure and don't bend when the parents are screaming and yelling because they are not getting their way. The school offers a lot to those students who want to take advantage for example AP courses, sports, clubs activities, etc. Overall our school is good, no one has gotten killed or shot. The students overall do behave good, some have attitudes but hey which school does not have kids like that. Parent involvement could be better, even though the school can do more to encourage that. Noticed that parents who have kids with behavior problems are because parents have issues too. Students are sent away to live with other people, parents transfer their kids here from other schools because kids are misbehaving there reality check to some parents is your kid not the school who has problem.

Nearby schools

Mcarthur High School
6501 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, FL  33024
(754) 323-1200
Last modified Mcarthur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top