Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Attucks Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 746 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Attucks Middle School s mission is to provide a quality education to all students, in a safe and secure environment, while providing unique educational opportunities in the study of communication and broadcast arts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2013

The technology and opportunities at this school through the magnet program are wonderful! My husband went to Attucks and we chose Attucks for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My school is Attucks Middle, one of the best Magnet school Broward County has. My children enjoy being at school and the report card shows how well the teachers invest in my children education. Teachers and staff at Attucks do care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

Attucks Middle is located next to the railroad trucks... it is not the famous expensive neighborhood but it is the hard working family community. Attucks Middle proved high educational achievement by its Eagles - and proud to be a part of Attucks Middle family, thanks to strong educational foundation built in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This is an awesome school!. The students are great, so are the staff and the many wonderful parents who truly support this great learning institution. Way to go Attucks!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

Attucks Middle is a great middle school. It is a safe and wonderful place for teaching and learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2013

Except for my high level classes, this school's behavior is out of control. The teachers for the high school and advanced classes and the classes themselves are wonderful. However, once out of these classes, it is a dangerous school. Despite what other kids and parents have said, I have been there for 3 years. Attucks is dangerous (except in certain classes.) Stay away. It was not this bad last two years but has gotten seriously worse. Besides that, I believe I have recieved a good education here.


Posted May 9, 2013

This year in 2013, we have a new principal, Mr. Evans. He's still getting the layout of the land, but is certainly making advancements in and around the school. He is putting forth his best efforts to keep Attucks middle school safe and secure and comfortable learning environment for all of the students. This is my last year at the school and I'm proud to say that I have enjoyed being a eagle. Just like every other middle school in the county, though, you're going to get out what you put in to your education. The advanced teachers and high school teachers in the school are well educated and have positive attitudes about the school every day when you walk in. They thrive to incorporate the available technology resources that we have into their lesson plans and curriculums, which is an added bonus that you won't find any where else in the county on a middle school level. The last and most important thing I have to say about the school is how great the administrators are. They form bonds with the children during the three year looping cycle and couldn't have a better organized school system. Don't miss out on the opportunity to send your child to this phenomenal school! -MKAZ


Posted December 31, 2012

This my last year at Attucks and it's the best school! I am in a Honor Class(Math) and Advanced Placement classes and am enrolled in 3 High School Classes. There is a new principal, Mr. Evans, he is okay. At first, I thought he was slow, and they made a mistake of letting go of Ms. Hall (former principal) but he is still trying to get the routine of being principal. Administration is great with helping them. They do hallway sweeps and have a great security staff. There are many extracurricular activities, which include, National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) , First Priority, Math Club (Mathletes), Attucks Broadcasting Club (ABC), Sports (Track/Soccer/ Basketball), Cheerleading, Dance Club/Team, FFEA (Florida Future Educators of America), Student Council/Government. And, of course, a rigorous curriculum, making schoolwork challenging. I'm sad to leave this school but i'm proud to say I'm an EAGLE!!!


Posted September 23, 2012

At this school year, we trust Attucks Middle school teachers and staff to give the best gifts to our children the gift of teaching this community, of helping them grow and succeed; the gift of inspiring a love of learning. And in my opinion, the best gift a teacher can give, is the gift of enthusiasm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

Last week I went to Open House at this school. My daughter is in the 8th grade and has advanced placement classes and is gifted. I immediately pulled her out of the school despite the fact she loved her new teachers. In fact, I thought they were excellent, as well. However, having met the new principal, I shudder to think this person is in charge of a school. A strange and slow man who seemed to know nothing about the school two other of children attended with a wonderful principal named Ms. Hall. However, there is something extremely distressing about this Mr. Evans who seems to be unaware of so many things and, personally, not too smart. One assistant, Mrs. Tate, who I trusted from before, tried to explain away Evans' newness to no avail. Personally, Mrs. Tate should be the principal. Something is wrong in this school with this principal. Some of the long-term teachers remain, but would not say anything about the principal. I know and trust these teachers, but they seem unhappy this new principal is there. Good-bye Attucks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

Poor communication, lack of genuine interest in education for some instructors. 2011. some teachers have left the school with out any notice to the parents. It is very difficult to contact the instructors. School use a phone mail to communicate any event. When following about grades, you MUST register online to see by yourself your child progress. Grades every day, and parents and report is unclear The report doesn't show an accurate information. When you ask to your child why is the reason of a low or missed grade they say...the teacher has no posted my grades yet..Teachers do not provide feedback to the student about their progress, kids need to be responsible by themselves to check online if they are missing or to see what grades they have earned. It's very uncertain how well my child will progress or learn in the school. It seems the teacher just are busy putting grades -too busy teaching- the kids..Instructor send letters to the parents to "inform" about their rules in classroom or about their "background/experience" and education -partners in education- but when you try to reach them by e-mail, letters or by phone, rarely are available for you! I am very concerned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

My granddaughter is currently attending and loves this school. She has high school advanced placement classes for high school credit and, despite all the homework, has a great social life here. They put a fantastic principal in this school last year along with two great assistants and, it seems, even the teachers who were here with the previous principal are now happy. The long-time teachers are the best and the newest ones appear very good.


Posted May 10, 2011

Attucks is a great school! im a 6th grader this year and the moment i saw attucks i knew it was the right school for me. All the kids there are nice to me and support me in trouble times. The teachers help me with my homework and my problems and the spirit days there let you express your true colors! if your looking for a school choose attucks cause you will have the time of your life. GO EAGLES!!!!


Posted September 24, 2010

Hi!!!My name is Jack and my daughter study at Attucks Middle at 7 Grade yesterday my dughter was cried and she doesn't want come to school on her 2nd class I am try to contact the school by pnone but the number cann't reach I am so worried about her please anyone can help me and I am out of towm rightnow my phone number 954-6297829
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I was worried about my son going to Attucks until I found out that mrs shaw was the princible there..mrs shaw used to be the counseler at Bair middle and always looked after her students 3 of which happened to be mine..I know that she cares a great deal about each and every one of her students, and anyone one who has anything bad to say about Attucks obviously has not had their child attend this great school!! I'm just sad to say that my son is going to high school next year cause I would love for him to stay in Attucks for the remaining 4 years of high school..so mrs shaw if your reading this I would love if you went to work at hills for the next 4years...love ya always and keep up the great work!!!love the ortiz family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

wow , attucks middle school s so fun (: , i love it and its principal .
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

oh my got attucks, attucks, attucks! best ever middle school. dont listen to the people who say attucks is a bad school because principal shaw is the BEST principal! i went to the open house yesterday and they have a great magnet program; it lets you cycle through all of the 3 magnets,(journalism, tv broadcast, and graphic computer design)for 9 weeks each and for the last of the 4 9 week stretches you get to pick which magnet you want to go back to a 2nd time. they have great sports, basket ball, flag football, soccer, and swimming, the teachers are very fun but set on learning, and for homework(6th grade)you take home a laptop and basically make up a slideshow and show it in front of the class. go to attucks i got to experience it at the open house!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

My kids were assigned to Attucks Middle but I moved them out. Most of the teachers were wonderful. The current (2008/9) principal is not. Many of the great teachers left and only a few of them remain. Something isn't right here anymore and I suspect it's the principal. Stay away until it's safe. Great magnet program, though. They even have high school math and foreign language classes. Still, stay away until this principal leaves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

the best school ever my child attends here
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

225 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

287 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
87%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 47%
Hispanic 32%
White 16%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 138%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%53%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ERROL EVANS
Fax number
  • (754) 323-3085

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 North 22nd Avenue
Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone: (754) 323-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Olsen Middle School
Dania Beach, FL


Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL




Sungate Academy
Hollywood, FL


Little Flower School
Hollywood, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT