Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

549 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
I went there when I was little which was 1999, and now my son will be going there ! Great to see some of the same staff there when I was little

Oakridge Elementary School 2

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
My first child attended this school and is now graduating high school. It was such an family oriented school. My second child now attends this school. Our school needs a lot of work. Our teachers are great. Our administration needs to look at our children, not as the number they will produce on the FCAT, but as a whole, well rounded child. And we need to boost parent involvement on every level. It's very sad to see what is happening to this school and our children!


Oakridge Elementary School 4

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergarten at Oakridge this year and she loves it. Her teacher has been great, the staff is very helpful and everyone seems to really care about the kids. Academilcally, it's not as challenging as I would like, but we supplement at home, and I'm sure the difficulty level will increase with the grades. Overall it's a great community school in a cute, safe area with caring staff and teachers.

Oakridge Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 01, 2008
- a community member
My Grandson moved from WV to live with his Dad so that he could attend Oakridge Elementary and begin his first year of school. My Grandson adapted so well and showed much improvement through the school year. I credit the school staff and especially his first grade teacher for making this transition so successfull. He is happy at Oakridge and has developed a positive attitude about learning. Thank you so much. We look forward to his 2nd year at Oakridge.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2007
- a parent
It's refreshing to see a school where the principal is so 'hands on' in every aspect, from directing traffic to playing Santa Claus. His involvement and concern for every child in the school, I believe, is what makes Oakridge such a fantastic school! Overall, the school is constantly thinking of creative ways to keep kids excited about learning - a good example would be their special presentation on Black History Month, where parents (and siblings) visited different rooms one evening and kids dressed as their favorite historical figure, from Martin Luther King and Nelson Mandella to Oprah Winfrey, Leontine Price and Spike Lee...and gave an informative presentation about their historical figure. This is just an example of how Oakridge gets their kids involved. Keep up the good work!


Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2006
- a parent
Oakridge is like a big home with a lot of people working together with the same goal:'keep kids interested in learning and caring about themselves and others'.It is well organized and brings comfort to everyone who walks thru there. You can feel it. Come and see.

Oakridge Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2006
- a parent
Both of my children went to this school since kindergarden until 5th grade. The school has improved so much in thoes years. I am very please with the school. The principal is very intersted in his students and I truly belives he cares.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
You cannot ask for a better school for your children. Starting from the principal on down, the atmosphere is caring, friendly, and it is a very well disciplined school. I am very happy that my daughters and I are part of the Oakrigde family.


Oakridge Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
Parents are expected to be involved here - They have lots of activities and I see the Prinicipal all over the place, who is great - He even helps in the mornings directing traffic sometimes.

Oakridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2005
- a parent
My son attended this school from Kindergarten through fifth grade. His teachers were knowledgable, caring, and inspiring. He felt like he was part of a large family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakridge Elementary School
1507 North 28th Avenue, Hollywood, FL  33020
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (754) 323-6700
Last modified Oakridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top