Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Hollywood, FL
Students enrolled: 899
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


McNicol Middle School 2

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
Be sure that if you enter your child in this school,that you have time to be fully involved in your child's education because you will be spending much of your time correcting the nonsense that is being taught.From Homework assignments on Great Americans covering people that are not American such as Nelson Mandela to propaganda like petitions that teachers have children collect signatures during school hours on Gun Control,with promise that the President will see their signatures.If they get enough kids to sign.Eighth graders are treated as small children by forcing teachers to walk kids to and from lunch as well as silent lunch. Not to mention the schools policy to punish all children for some that are caught conversing during their silent lunches. They take away Field days and events as their punishment. The few events(dances) that they have, are during class time.Students are forced to pay to attend,which knocks the reward for a well behaved child out,if the parent cannot afford to pay $5or $6more for their child to get out of class for about 40minutes.This school has some serious issues to address if they want to get kids to have some school spirit and interested in excelling.
1 person found this helpful

McNicol Middle School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
I love this school. It's totally great. I've had so much fun here this year. It's unbelievable


McNicol Middle School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My experience with Mcnicol was just great. The teachers involvement and professionalism was remarkable. My son attended all 3 years of the Magnet program and we were not disappointed. The Principal, Mr. Hamm, the beat. Do not hesitate to send your children at this school. Just remember you have to do your part as a parent, because success starts at home.

McNicol Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a community member
McNicol is the best school I've ever attended the staff is polite and the teachers are awesome

McNicol Middle School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended McNicol Middle School for three years and graduated at the top of her class last year. It is an excellent school. The administration and teachers were extremely supportive and caring. The staff was always available to resolve any problems that my daughter encountered. We wish McNicol continued success.


McNicol Middle School 1

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

McNicol Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

McNicol Middle School 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


McNicol Middle School 4

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
My daughter goes to this school. Its a great school. She is in the language magnet program, and she is almost fluent in japanese.

McNicol Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
I feel that McNicol Middle School is an excellent school but lacks resources

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McNicol Middle School
1602 S 27th Ave, Hollywood, FL  33020
(754) 323-3400
Last modified McNicol Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McNicol Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top