Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stirling Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 663 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Mrs. Uden is a Wonderful teacher!!! The PTA hours should be later in the day for more parents to be involved, (especially the ones apart of PTA who work during the day).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school is amazing by far. The staff is very nice. My don loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

I am a l-o-n-g-t-i-m-e parent at this school... where do I begin!?!? Administration has ALWAYS cared for families and students, not to mention his staff. There is a wonderful environment at this school and I love attending family functions created by PTA. I wish more parents would take the time to share these wonderful years at their child's school. All my children (4) have had great teachers and experiences at Stirling and they will have a lifetime of memorable stories to share for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I just found this site and I'm SO excited to share my kids' amazing school with everyone! My oldest daughter is in the 5th grade so this is our 6th year at Stirling Elementary. We have had nothing but OUTSTANDING teachers every year. My daughter scored at the highest level on the FCAT (state standardized test)... no doubt she's getting a great education. Both of my daughters have had teachers that are compassionate and caring while preparing them for the next grade level. I'm so lucky that this school is right around the corner. Sometimes the best things are in your backyard!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

This school is horrible. My daughter is in the first grade and the teacher she was put with in he beginning of the year taught P.E. the year before and did nothing but yell condensingly at the kids! I moved her to a fabulous teacher who actually wanted and enjoyed teaching. However the school being short handed with teachers felt it would be ok to make this teacher teach a class of 1st and 2nd graders. So they moved my daughter with no warning to yet another class! This teacher doesnt yell however I do not think that this is the career she wants. As she doesn't have the patience that is needed for 1st graders. The administration is also lacking as the principal is sick so is never there to make sure they are doing their job. I am taking my daughter out of this school at the end of this school year and never looking back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Stirling Elementary is voted, by all parents we know, for the best school because of the 'family' & safe atmosphere, the teachers qualification & care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

The Kindergarten program at Stirling Elementary is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I rate this school a 7 as it has dropped from a couple of years ago. Mr. Dobronz is a wonderful principle however he can't be in a million places at once. The safety of kids has dropped. The teachers are wonderful however there are a few that I feel talk at the students. Each teacher has their own quality of teaching
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

My granddaughter just finished kindergarten and she is so advanced in all her skills. She can read on a third grade level thanks to the 5th graders coming and teaching them how to read through the wonderful programs there. She also learned to play the violin and now they are cutting the misic program what a shame.


Posted April 11, 2007

I had just moved from China and knew literally, no English at all. This school was definitely the base of all my knowledge; it helped me understand and feel welcome in this state. Overall, this school gives students enough room to learn and shine in their own special way. I'm so glad I attended this school; I have many, MANY great memories of this school. :)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 16, 2006

My son has been attending this school since kindergarten. The teachers my son has had were very good and seemed like they genuinely cared about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

When I attended this school it was great. The teachers were wonderful. The school was clean. I have nothing but fond memories of it. And since then they have completly rebuilt it so I can't imagine how great it is now.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 21, 2006

I have 2 children in Stirling Elementary and we have had a wonderful experience there. The teachers we have had so far have been completely involved in letting how well our child is or is not doing in a particular area. They take great pride in putting the childrens education first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The ptsa is always encouraging different contests for the students. Such as essay writting, drawings & they are entered into contest & winners are judged at county level if selected. The ptsa encourages students to be involved & their opinion counts. Shows leadership in the youth. They have an excellent tutoring program & the school this year is a title 1 school which also helps parents learn ways to be active in your childs education & ways to help them achieve their dreams.The school environment is a wonderful family environment. The principle has an open door policy. The school is 250% their for you & your childs needs.The staff at Stirling elementary is very supportive & they give alot of support to every one needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

The quality of academic programs is not great. If the parents don't help their child, that child is bound to fail. The FCAT needs to be taken out of school. It's not worth the students taking the test when they're not being taught correctly to be prepare for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Mrs. Levy is an amazing teacher! She has taught my daughter to love reading for both knowledge and enjoyment. She truly cares about her students, and puts their education on the top of her priority list. She deserves to be recognized!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

Stirling Elementary is a top rated school with wonderful staff. My daughter has been there for her entire elementary education, and I have never had any complaints. They spend time, and really teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I think that this school overall is a good school. My son has really enjoyed going to this school and has liked majority of his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

My daughter has been at this school since kindergarten, and she is now in 5th grade. I have heard so many horror stories from friends about their children's school, but I have none. This has been the most wonderful experience, and the teachers have all been great. I give this school my highest recommendations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Have been very pleased with the concern of the teachers for the students. My children are receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 39%
White 32%
Black 22%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%53%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ALFRED DOBRONZ
Fax number
  • (754) 323-7640

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Stirling Road
Hollywood, FL 33021
Phone: (754) 323-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brauser Maimonides Academy
Fort Lauderdale, FL




The Quest Center
Hollywood, FL



Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT