Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Brook Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 869 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

my 7yo son was bullied by boy 2time his age on the bus he was force to kiss another boy he was also beaten up by this bully when we complane the school cover it up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

Im new to the school but not to the area... before i actually registered my daughter i did some research and of all i check around this school was close to our address plus it was within our boundaries so we had no choice... it had good reviews back then so we decided to go ahead... its my daughters first year and ahea in kindergarten.. as the parent that said that this school is a cant do this plus yelling at the kids al the time like they are in some kind of military school... Ohh Heck no... i cant complaint about the teachee whixh is excellent.. Mrs. Muller "Savage" very outstanding great over the top kindergarten teacher..but office staff are very rude plus they need more staff to monitor hallways during morning drop off and pick up... because of the long lines and NO ONE is paying atention who pick up whom in the afternoon... I wish there were more parent involved to make it better..also i have complaint twice already because theres a certain kid that keeps harassing and bullying my kid... And i just had enough so im changing my kid from this school to hopefully a better one vuz it s im not the only parent concerd and angry about some issues aNoOne cares... Good Luck...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

HORRIBLE !!! This is my little ones first year and so far this school has been somewhat of a nightmare. Everything is YOU CANT , YOU CANT YOU CANT. You cant walk your child to class, they only allow you to open the door for them and let them run like wild in the halls. You can't park to walk to pick up your child from the front , you have to wait about an hour in a pointless wrap around line that wastes alot of gas.. The teachers are nice I will say. The administration staff on the other hand are VERYY MEAN AND RUDE!!! and very uncompassionate towards parents, they yell at the kids like it's military school. There also isn't enough staff to monitor them in the halls or at breakfast. Picking up your kid is also nerveracking. No one pays attention to the 1st graders or Kinder. to see who picks up who. EASILY someone can snatch your child with out the teacher or staff noticing. It's a mess.It used to be such a great school 15 years ago. Such a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

The last time this school had a review was in 2009... Orangebrook elementry is a parent's NIGHTMARE! ....I take pride in giving credit where its due. But this school deserves none. I wouldn't give it a single star if it were an option. Since school started, My child was bullyied by his teacher, where it resulted in transferring out of the class,(which is not an easy process), No principal involvement, administration is in a daze, they dont know if they are coming or going, there is a lack of control in class disruption, you have to wait 48hrs for a teacher to reply to your concerns there is no follow ups, I just dont understand..My children were role model students in there prior school, now they lack ambition, hate going to school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2011

My child has been attending OBE it has been a great experience for our family. Most teachers are great! Must say however that there is need for improvement in area of academics and classroom curriculum especially for high achievers. The aftercare director/counselors are very aggressive with little or no patience whatsoever for younger children and helping them with homework. Beware! Belittling of any child should absolutely not be tolerated especially from aftercare workers! Mandatory requirement of child-care instruction sessions should be implemented by the school to ensure proper care and respect towards every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I really thing that the teacher and the administration are very professional, the teacher will keep you inform of anything that is wrong about the child and that is very importantant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My daughter attended this school last year. The only good thing about this school is the Academics (which is the ONLY reason I gave it 2 stars). The school doesn't follow their discipline matrix and my daughter had to tolerate classroom disruption for almost an entire school year. Also, children aren't allowed to be children at lunch. They have a drill sergeant who blows a whistle and makes the students clap 3 times to tone it down or else risk being punished. It is terrible. The teacher's however are so nice, but what a shame they don't receive sufficient support from the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are the best 1 even gave me her cell phone......... talk about being involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This is an awesome school. I love my daughters teacher, and most importantly, so does she. Thank you to Ms. Lakowski!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

This school is not good at all. It may look good on the outside, but there is nothing good about it. There is no extra curricular activities, and hardly any field trips. The teachers are uncaring, and the learning is text-book only, because the principal won't allow otherwise. To pick up your children, you have to go through the entrance which is full of turns and very gasoline consuming. The principal lacks leadership, and the students dispise going to lunch because they can't even socialize there. All in all this school is horrible, and I wouldn't reccomend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Great school. I moved my kid from a private school and we are so happy with Orange Brook. Teachers are great, everybody is very helpful and they are there for your kid. The school is brand new and clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

I am absolutly disgusted with this school, as a parent.They have absolutley no consideration for parents. This used to be a better school a couple of years ago. My children have been attending for years & I can't wait till my last one is out! I hope I get get em' transfered. The new building is very nice. But, it is all outward appearance. It would be a good idea for them to have aftercare p/u in the back of the building instead of us having to do 'The Walk' around the construction to get our children. It is very inconveinent for parents, students & teachers. The teachers used to be alot more loving to the students. That's why I first brought my children here. Now they seem irritated & not as caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

This is an awesome school. The teachers and staff are out to do the what's best for the kids and the kids are their main focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

School just started and my son had entered kindergarten. I thought at first it would be a disaster, but Orange Brook is such a good school. We went throught the first day with flying colors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Overall, we are very pleased with Orange Brook this year. Our daughter's first grade experience was a wonderful. I would like to suggest a parent contact sheet (voluntary ofcourse) for students and their families to keep in contact with each other outside of school hours. I was only disapointed with the amount of parent involvement there was at the school this year. It was very difficult to get a hold of parents or to get them to attend school functions after school. As for the teacher quality, we couldn't have been happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

My child has attended Orangebrook Elementary since Pre-K and has been very happy. We have had wonderful teachers who not only teach well but also motivate the children to want to learn. My son is in Kindergarten this year and has learned many skills which are essential in his educational growth. Mrs. Vaz has taught him to read, and he has also learned various mathematical skills. The mere fact that he is learning is important but more important to me is that he wants to continue learning more. He truly enjoys mastering new skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

Orange Brook has thus far been a great school for my daughter they have raised their grade from a C school to a B school good for you Orange Brook you all worked hard and it shows.... AndI I hope next years goal we'll make an A .


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 23%
Hispanic 31% 29%
White 16% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Zaida Prendes
Fax number
  • (754) 323-6790

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

715 S 46th Ave
Hollywood, FL 33021
Phone: (754) 323-6750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Casablanca Academy
Hollywood, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT