Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hollywood Hills High School

Public | 9-12 | 1920 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

My husband graduated from HHHS and now our child is a freshman. So far the experience has been very positive - academically, athletically and in school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

This school just keeps getting worse and worse. The teacher's are unable to academically challenge their students, but I guess that doesn't really matter when none of them want to learn. In addition to the mediocre teaching and atrocious behavior of the students, Hills dropped to a "D" rated school which means that the all the attending students received a letter allowing them to transfer to a different school in the area, and that's just what most of them did... so now all the students who wanted to learn transferred to a different school. Honestly, good for them; they dont deserve to be in an academically inadequate environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Before attending Hollywood Hills, I had spent 10 years in a private school. Now, I'm not entirely sure what other public schools are like, bear with me. I feel as though freshman year didn't offer as many options for me as I would've liked. I could have easily been in AP English with the seniors, but I was instead put into an honors class where the teacher appeared to view my ability as an annoyance. In my Integrated Science Honors class, I was practically teaching the other students. In Computer Engineering, we sat in a classroom that didn't have computers. We should have had them. My only saving grace was Creative Writing. The teacher was the best I've ever had, and I cannot recommend her class highly enough. She really made my year, and got me involved in all of the after-school activities Hills has to offer. Sadly,many of the students at Hills behave in an atrocious manner. They seem to know little and have no interest in learning anything. There are some decent students, however. AP classes and Creative Writing seem to contain better quality people. Because of the ACE academy, my sophomore year will contain some great classes, I can say that much. Physics, Pre-AP English, ect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2011

i am disappointed in this school i thought it was better. a couple of students have been arrested for stealing from other kids and destroying school property. some of the teachers are nuts make accusations they cannot back up. you go to the school to get things resolved and they say lets just move past this. very unhappy. my child is failing major in one of her classes and cannot get anyone to call me back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

I loved hills to death and yes your going to have those teachers that you hate and people that have bad attitudes but that's high school . That doesn't make the school bad though . I loved it there and all the teachers , students , and coaches show respect and it's like one big family . If i could go back , I would .
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2010

The school is a joke teachers cant do their job because they are all afraid of the principal.Most of the teachers are worried about losing their jobs.they are often distracted from teaching. In English they don't teach proper spelling or grammar i could go on about every subject but i doubt that my oppinion will change our school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

I love the kids, teachers and coaches. They truly care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It was a great place to work and the teachers were there to serve the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

Hills was a great place to teach. I made many wonderful friends there. Most important were my students who worked hard and learned not just academic lessons, but life lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teachers, school spirit and great sports teams.Many of the student were successful in their field and our teachers were more like college professors. We were so well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The school's diversity allows so many different people to come together in a positive environment
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2009

As an English teacher, coach, and Athletic Director I give the Spartans the highest rating in academics and school spirit of any school I have taught at. 'Once a Spartan, always a Spartan.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 4, 2007

I love and miss this school so much Mr. Lang I love you and thank you so much for you outstanding steaching in my freshman year Sincerely, Samantha Sutherland
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2006

This is a great school. The staff and students in this school are respectful, not troublemakers. There is a huge difference in the way teachers interact w/my son, it makes him want to pay attention and do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

Good school with great teachers. Many AP courses offered and a wide selection of activities. I'm a Hills alumnus. Graduated from college in 3 yrs. and am now doing very well at a top-tier law school in Washington D.C. I whole-heartedly recommend Hollywood Hills High for serious, college-bound students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2004

Professional staff/high teacher expectation/good student support system.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

571 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

400 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 29%
White 32% 42%
Black 24% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 40%53%61%
Master's degree 54%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Harold"chip" Osborn
Fax number
  • (754) 323-1180

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Stirling Rd
Hollywood, FL 33021
Phone: (754) 323-1050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woods Haven Academy
Hollywood, FL




Westlake School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


The Quest Center
Hollywood, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT