Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Little Flower Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hollywood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

it is nice and nice teachers and then children are in a good places and they are safe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

My children have been students at Little Flower Catholic School for the past three years, and we couldn't be happier with the education they are receiving. The teachers are top-notch and really care about every one of their students. Little Flower is not just a great school, it is a community. The parents and even grandparents volunteer in the church and at the various school fundraising events. Little Flower's tuition is one of the least expensive tuition rates that I have seen for any Catholic or private school in the area. Our once "small" school has grown to over 290 students from Pre-K though 8th Grade. It is wonderful to have so many new students at Little Flower, but some of the class sizes are too large. Although Little Flower does not like to brag or boast about their achievements, their test scores are higher in certain grades than other Catholic schools in South Florida. They also offer many extra-curricular activities like band, choir, art club, "The Leopard Print" newspaper, service club, athletics, etc. I highly recommend Little Flower Catholic School and am proud to be a Little Flower parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

Little Flower is a nice small catholic school. A little old fashioned with flair of Europe. Kids are well educated and teachers have excellent credentials. LF is an excellent choice alternative to public education.


Posted February 7, 2011

Overall Little Flower is an excellent choice for our daughter. Teacher in first grade is excellent, strict yet fair. Good extra curriculum (vocabulary enrichment, music, sports, computer, Spanish Spanish could be much stronger! Even free tutoring for challenging kids). Parents are involved, nice and educate their kids! We have been welcome right away. The school is small and family orientated. Kids are trained to have manners and to think of others. At Little Flower you re not just a name on a piece of paper. People know you and care for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

this school is not the best choise because the teachers are not good. one teacher was suspended for saying the grades of one student out loud, and there is a new english teacher that is not very good. yes the parents and teachers are very close but the education which is very important is not good!


Posted February 11, 2010

Disapointed by the lack of concern for the kids, once a teacher decides that they need to be correct. Our childern are suffering because of a lack of attention directly associated with bitterness from one teacher. We are a like a lot of other parents that feel bound by the school because its the only safe alternate in this area. I'm sure some teachers agree that the school could use a different direction in the aproach of school harmony.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Although doubtful about a small school, and the resources it can offer, Little Flower Sschool has turned out to be a better option than any other public, and charter schools in the area. Another catholic school, Nativity, boasts of how great they are in comparison to Little Flower, however, from personal experience, they have bery little to offer as far as flexibility to help students attend the school, and their lack of a humble spirit only promotes rilvary which should not exists among Christians. Little flower's director, so far has been most humbled, never uttered an ill comment about Nativity, and is involved as best possible in helping students and parents alike. Kudos for the great family environment in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Little Flower School was the best thing that ever happened to my son. It is small, but he got individual attention and it was a real boost to his self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Little Flower is a big 'little' school with involved parents and teachers. My children have been there for 3 years and I am very pleased with their academic and extra-curricular programs. The children are getting an excellent faith based education and I also compare their curriculum with my friends in the neighboring schools and find LF lacks for nothing and tends to exceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

This is a very very small school. There are very few students in each grade. That can be good but its mostly bad. This school is below average. On the other hand Parents are extremely involved.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 5, 2006

My overall first impression was doubtful - as it turned out I was correct. With less than three weeks into the school year the teacher claimed to know when a student is not capable of substaning a passing grade, although all indications of work performance was average at worst. The school principal's short sightness let to my de-enrollment of my child from the school. The child's self-confidence was virtually destroyed and now is processing his abilities at the new school - 'Nativity Catholic School'. For a small size school, Little Flower's administration needs re-tooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

My children have been attending Little Flower Catholic School for a long while and I feel that my children are getting a good education in a great/safe environment. The school is small which is good and bad. Everyone knows my kids and the kids know it! They always act respectful while there. I feel that if they could have a few more team sports/clubs it would benefit the children greatly because not every child fits into the limited activities they offer. I know my kids are well cared for and feel like they belong to a community of a great staff and great families. Parents are extremely involved as they are required to volunteer a certain amount of hours per year. It helps to build that sense of community and lets the kids know they are important and that we care about their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

This school is a very good small parish school. This school goes from Pre-K to 8th grade. At this time there is one class per grade (so if you don't like the teacher you're out of luck). However, the majority of the teachers are dedicated to the students and very good teachers. The school offers music, art, cheerleading, baseball and other activities. Every year there is a talent show, a fashion show and different theme dinners at the school such as 'Italian night'. The parents are highly involved because all families must do a certain amount of volunteer hours in the school (which I think is fantastic). It gets the parents involved and they get to know the other students and teachers. The office administrator knows all the kids' names and is helpful and cheerful. The kids go to mass once a month and for celebrations. Overall, a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1843 Pierce Street
Hollywood, FL 33020
Phone: (954) 922-1217

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Little Flower School
Hollywood, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT