Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nativity Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hollywood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2014

OK but no robotics club or 20th century stuff.Library needs new books. Needs clean bathrooms!!!!!!! Broken and dirty stuff found in bathrooms and all over.


Posted April 7, 2014

I been looking a lot of schools for my son and definitly Nativity is the Best shool in Hollywood Florida!!!!!!!


Posted March 9, 2014

Attending Nativity from pre k-3 through grade 8 was a blessing. Not only did it help me get way ahead academically, but it also nourished my desire to play sports. Being a Catholic school, it taught Christian values, though it was never overbearing. The administration always encouraged practicing kindness, respect, and having a good Christian attitude.


Posted January 23, 2014

We chose school based on ads of excellence and for faith based education. Our experience reflected neither. Huge classes (38 not unusual). Punitive measures used by teachers. Favoritism rife. Campus: poorly maintained, often dirty, floods easily. Bathrooms often dirty and smelly. Poor post-jamboree cleanup with fly and maggot infestation around dumpsters as happened after 2011 jamboree. Education average to so-so. Emphasis on winning competitions; results used to tout school's excellence . Technology primitive and lacking. No facilities for gifted or struggling kids. Science taught sporadically. Kids check about half of their own classwork, and all math homework. Teachers miss a lot of errors when they check work. Faculty very mediocre overall, with literally 1 or 2 exceptions. Inbred staff, most of whom have been there too long. Office clerks and teacher's aides become full teachers in a short period of time. Need for new blood . Leadership and administration are not progressive and not receptive to parental concerns or anything other than maintaining the status quo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

Fantastic. Great teachers and the parents so involved!. Well rounded and fun!! So happy there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

My family has had a very positive experience at Nativity. In our two years there we have noticed constant updating and renovations to the buildings and grounds. Not only that, we know our children are receiving an excellent education. The teachers are truly remarkable: patient, nurturing, and committed to meeting the children's needs. Discipline is firm yet gentle. The curriculum is very well-rounded, with many ways to learn, and also many enriching lessons and programs that are unique to this school. Most of all we value the spiritual education they receive here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Excited for another school year! So glad to finally have a covered area for gym/athletics (no actual gymnasium at school). Hope the lunch room experience will be a better one...the children are harped on a bit to much to "be quiet"...I can understand wanting them to behave but to have to spend a brief 25-30 minutes of free time at lunch being at times yelled at over a microphone to be quiet is a bit much I think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My child attended this school for 2 years and we were very happy with the principal, the campus and the technology. However, class sizes seem to have exploded in the last couple of years (36 kids!). The library is completely outdated. There is no art program. There is an unhealthy focus on competition, grades, gifted students, and favoritism to those families who give the biggest donations. The school requires participation in an online reading and math program, in addition to heavy homework loads. When we relocated, we discovered that our child had not been studying science because the teacher was behind in everything else she was supposed to be teaching them. If your child is a natural high achiever, they will excel here. If they need any attention, it won't always be positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

A wonderful place to have your children learn academically and grow as a person and spiratually
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Both my children have attended Nativity, it is a great school whre students learn, are respected and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Nativity is a top school however my children have 36 to 37 kids in there classes. The cirriculum in my experience is not not progressive it is only tried and true programs that will be used. Most teachers are good but they seem to be over worked with the large classes. This year they introduced a new more agressive displinary program which we are awaiting the details. This was part of teh new information sent out for this school year. This school could soar to new hieghts if they were more progressive and the introduction of leaders/teachers that have something new to offer. Smaller classes would be great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Nativity is a wonderful school!!!! My daughter has been a student here for 10 years and I am glad that she and I both had the opportunity to experience the 'Nativity School difference'!!! Nativity not only teaches academics but 'Morals'.; something that this world lacks. I would highly recommend Nativity for any parent that wants a solid academic base for their child as well as a dispclined athmosphere. I cannot say enough about what an awesome experience Nativity has been for my child. If there were more schools like Nativity maybe our children would be better prepared for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

This is a great school. However here are the things everyone should know...the classes my children are in have more like 36 kids per class. The teachers are stretched and use punitive measures to manage teh class. Hugh push on the religious component verses academics. Staff ranges from exceptional to glorified admins that have evolved into teachers, teachers aids, office staff etc. Very home grown local without a global perspective. School is not progressive in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

Nativity is a great school that allows children to develop their natural abilities, and challenges them to broaden their minds. The children are taught not just the abc's and 123's but respect for themselves, and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Nativity is a school you want your child to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Johnson Street
Hollywood, FL 33021
Phone: (954) 987-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Patty Cake School
Hollywood, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT