Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

International School Of Broward

Charter | 6-12 | 294 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

From the moment we toured ISB last year for this school year we felt that this was an excellent choice for our son. It is a small school with an admirable teacher /student ratio where all the students are able to learn in a family friendly yet solid environment. The administration is always available and responsive to both parent and students needs. The students are young upstanding citizens. We are very pleased with the education and milieu our son is receiving at ISB.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

The school is very small but family oriented. If you want to do your best, you can become very successful. If you don't, you won't make it here just like any other place. School is what you are going to make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school is far from encouraging of any students outside of the french track and is known to be disorganized and unhelpful to parents and others outside of the school.


Posted June 19, 2013

The school has been growing and coming a long way. The international studies program has also gained a lot of notoriety and there are many more families interested in this program. The building is not the best, but the programs are strong and getting better each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

ISB is my second family. Unfortunately, not everyhting is perfect, the building are not that great but the teachers and the way of learning is the best you could ever have. The French Track is a important opportunity for us in america and we are lucky to be a part of it.


Posted April 9, 2013

The school is small in size which means students will adore it or dislike it. There is a lot of attention given to each child as they are not a number but rather an important member of the school. Those who are negative tend to leave quickly, while positive contributing students tend to stay (and that is the goal). Strong curriculum. Staff who cares. It's not the outside of the school that defines an institution. It's the beauty and beliefs in the inside. Are there dozens of nice looking schools around the city? Sure! Even ones that claim they "offer" a lot more. But when you're really in the middle of it, you'll see the inside is lacking and the programs are not good. At ISB, what you see is what you get. Remember, charter schools are a CHOICE. If you're happy, stay. If you're not, kindly go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Great School and Great Staff. Small setting, lots of academic growth. Dual French-US Track and Advanced Placement college level classes. No broward school can offer that! My kids like to know they are real people not a number like in Broward. Looks maybe deceiving but inside it is as sound as a rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

Much improved in the last year. If you previously left, you might want to stop by to see the positive changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

The ISB is such a neat school. Even though it is small inside, the people in it are what make it truly gold. We have so many wonderful events, field trips, guest speakers, challenging work, and solid teachers. I am very proud to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2011

I would like to clarify my last review about the school. After talking with my mom and sister they made me realize that the school is not entirely bad: there is room for improvement. I hope they listen when we say some teachers are not good, and we are not learning in some of the classes because the students are not being disciplined well. The atmosphere is good. It is not violent and the small population makes it a family place.The majority obviously comes from good families that are trying to find a good environment as well as challenging academic programs. The latter is lacking at ISB. They need to do better. They need to be non-discriminatory. As my point of view I could be wrong they are treating the French track better than the English track. It is wrong and I don't like it. We are all students trying to learn and no one should be treated better. We are all equal. Some, not all, of the teachers need to stop yelling and respect us students.


Posted September 22, 2011

So all the kids just talk all day long... While the 2% (The one's who want to go to college, or A.K.A. the elite group) wants to learn. They can't because of all the screaming and the teacher teaching really slow. Also I would recommend for you to look at the reviews. Pretty suspicious that I'm a student posting all day and that all these "PARENTS" talk about how good this school up. I believe that they just wrote this all to making you to buy it, don't. One student made a review that doesn't review well like a student. All he said was that the kids (really...) don't do dirty stuff here. If I got a camera and decided to record every students opinion about this school, I will make it all censored so the school doesn't catch it. I bet that their trying to catch me later on who was responsible on this review. They gave students suspensions because they had an opinion about this school (so sad that they couldn't catch me). PARENTS: PLease make sure you read all of this. This is from me going inside the school for a few weeks and I'm begging my parents to transfer me to another school (I'm so sorry that I can't tell you which one cause they'll find out who I am) There are better s


Posted June 29, 2011

My Daughter attended this school for 8th grade. The kids look respectful and as if they come from good families but as far as Teachers It seems they are only interested in kids passing the FCAT more than they are in the student actually learning something. No child left behind is really hurting our kids sucess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

ISB is a school. It is an opportunity. It is family. It is constant motivation and encouragement. ISB IS HOME.


Posted May 6, 2011

At ISB it all about students learning! Students who came in with bad attitudes and unwillingness to learn quickly change their attitudes and make a commitment to learn or they leave the school. Administrators are not afraid to make though decisions and changes to improve students learning regardless of how unpopular they may be. There s still room for improvements but they are on the right tract. The SACS Quality Assurance Report posted on the school website sums it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My two daughters go to this school. IT is terrible. Children are not educated to today's standards. barley any tests or homework. Teachers do not send back work. Every student is a B student. school is being ran as a business rather than an educational teaching insitute
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I like the diversity in International School of Broward. The small class size and the interaction between the teacher and the students are great. The atmosphere is fun and lively and the extracurricular activity is good for our young people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I go to i.s.b. and it is a great school.You learn things that you neve would imagine;new languages,great history,good friends,and best of all the chance to get a chance in life.This school is the main reason i live in broward-county and i am in my 8th grade year and will remain there until the 12th grade.And parents do not worry about you children finding dates or girlfriends or boyfriends because children at the school are good and positive and not dirty and unclean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

This school has a great foundation. Although the student body started out small, it has now trippled in size. It is still very small compared to many other public/charter schools. There are some electives, and a few extra curricular activities. The biggest issue with this school is the discipline problems. Children have come from many differnt schools and environments, and the school does not yet have a handle on dealing with disruptive children. Actually the parents need to take more action in raising their children properly at home so that they don't become a distraction to other children who actually want to learn in school. Once the discipline issues gets under control, the school will have a lot of positive things to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
45%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
64%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 53%
White 27%
Hispanic 15%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 47%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Female 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 46%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 33%53%61%
Master's degree 67%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 North 75th Avenue
Hollywood, FL 33024
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 987-2026

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beacon Hill School
Hollywood, FL




Divine Academy
Hollywood, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT