Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Anna Maria Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 265 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

We love AME! It really is like a big family. When recent budget cuts in the district threatened to impact the school, the PTO and staff joined together to brainstorm solutions and try to raise extra funds. We love that our child continues to have specials every week (art, music, media center, technology) and look forward to the monthly children's plays and PTO dinners. AME is one of the main reasons we stay in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is a great school the staff and teachers are wonderful. My daughter loved it!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My child has only just begun his AME career but we are so excited!! Everyone has been so nice and helpful. We highly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

Visit this school and you will be sold first thing! The teachers are so wonderful and caring about the whole child. The teachers are leaders and always do what's best for their students and for the team. It is pretty incredible that you can look out the east side windows and see the bay and sailboats coasting by. Then walk two blocks to the west and you are walking on the white sandy beaches of the Gulf. The PTO is always adding more to the playground, technology and overall student educational extracurricular extras. This is a very very community involved school and will welcome your child with wide open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

ame is a great school!! i have been going there since kindergarten! i am in fifth grade


Posted October 3, 2009

It is a great school, great staff, with a view of the sunshine skyway bridge
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

It's like one big family. The parent involvement at the school is way beyoud what could be expected. The new parents coming in love the feeling and jump on board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Anna Maria Elementary is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

This isn't just a school..... It's a huge part of our community...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

It's a great little school where the entire staff cares about the school and the kids that go there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Our school is our little slice of paradise, a private school in a public school fashion.. We love it and are so blessed to be part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Our little school by the bay is a special place, indeed. The school encourages parental involvement on every level. It is not unusual to see parents assisting in classrooms, having lunch with their children and operating the 'school store.' The teachers and administrators are deeply concerned about the children and their academic success as well as their happiness and well being. Our school feels like a family. We are all there to love and support each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

We love AME because it has the best parent involvement and the staff is unbeatable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

AME has the best teachers, staff, students, and of course parents you could imagine! Add on beautiful bayside school grounds and wonderful community involvement, and you have the best little school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

AMI Elementary is a little school by the bay, but with the biggest heart you could imagine. We are so lucky to have this school here, the teachers are amazing, if you ever need to come into school you are made to feel oh so welcome and Mr Levengood is the best Principal..! I love Anna Maria Elementary school and I have years left to be a parent! This school rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Anna Maria Elementary is a fantastic school in every way! My children love going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Sweetest little school by the bay because the parents and the community care so much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

As a new parent to AME, my son is in Kindergarten. I could not be happier about Anna Maria Elementary!! Love it, Love it! Teachers and Staff are amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

What makes Anna Maria Elementary the best school is the close-knit community and wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The teach staff and facilities are wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 38%54%61%
Master's degree 57%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 Gulf Drive
Holmes Beach, FL 34217
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 708-5525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Edison Academics
Bradenton, FL


Blue Heart School
Bradenton, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT