Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,293 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
111 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 123 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Keys Gate Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
There is not a character education component at this school within the student program. Too much emphasis on testing and its results and not on developing the attributes of character among the student population.

Keys Gate Charter School 2

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
This school is unorganized and some of the administrative staff uncaring about the needs of the parents and students. I had to pull my child out of this school.


Keys Gate Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
I recently changed my son to kgcs and i honestly can't say it enough how happy my son and me are here! He is in the gifted program and he loves it and keeps busy. When he talks to me he seems encouraged and exited about activities in the classroom! Most important of all he is actually learning!!! The staff is very helpfull, school administrators are easy to be reached, he tried out two of the many sports the offer, he had fun, learned the sport and actually made friends!!! My Daughter will be assisting this new year in kindergarten and I am looking foward to this new school year! If you have the time, like you should for your children you will find that they really do care about them at this school!

Keys Gate Charter School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. Administrator, teachers and other staff are very responsible and responsive. Help is available to all students that need it and for those that don't need it there is advance programs. So many opportunities for development in academics, arts and academics.

Keys Gate Charter School 4

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Keys Gate has a great advanced Cambridge program for middle school. Parents are very involved. Office staff is very professional, caring and attentive. They have lots of resources most of the other local charter schools do not have you can tell where the money goes in making this school better.


Keys Gate Charter School 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
So far so good children second year at this school. Most teachers are good, counelors have been helpful. The opportunities and well as rules are there, those who choose not to follow or take advantage of what is in place will not benefit, therefore should attend Gateway instead. Lunch could improve. Keep up the good work Knights, let's turn the B school back to an A!

Keys Gate Charter School 2

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Terribly organized, hard work goes unrecognized, teachers don't care and show favoritism to athletes. Too much book work instead of actual teaching, students don't learn a thing!!!

Keys Gate Charter School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Never come across such a terrible school organization. It is 6/18 and my High School graduate is yet to get his diploma. An email from Ms. Baez stated my son could pick it up today but when I went to pick it up they said they are giving them out in groups as people provide their information so now till next week. My son joined the Marines and deadline for his diploma was two weeks ago. Now my 8th grader got his report card today but while trying to enroll him in Miami Dade Online Academy they say Keys Gate has my son as no grades or attendance for 3rd and 4th quarter. DO NOT send your kids to this school! It is a mess. The principal has no people skills or compassion. Guidance Counselor Ms. Singh is amazing plus several great teachers but unfortunately they don't run the school.


Keys Gate Charter School 1

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Denies students educational opportunities. FREE enrollment in summer courses at MDC for college credit - DENIED. At no cost to school or parents - DENIED. We had to repeatedly prompt them to call the college (yes, they denied it before they even understood it) and they still have difficulty understanding the process despite the clear explanations of the director at MDC. Who denies students educational opportunities? These folks. You are welcome to email me about it and other issues we have faced here. We scored them a 1 star because you can't score them 0 stars. They have a lot of areas they can improve upon - I hope they take the opportunity to better themselves.

Keys Gate Charter School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school! Bullying is condoned "life isn't fair. In life we don't have to like everyone we meet or work with or go to school with." This comment was made by the Vice Principal! My daughter was admitted into Miami Childrens and diagnosed with depression at 8 years old by bulling being done at this school and no compensation was received. None of the children responsible reprimanded, suspended, or expelled. My child a straight A gifted student no longer wants to go to school. Keys Gate is just a name and pretty school. The teachers dont communicate, no homework is checked, no class work is sent home as proof work is being done in class. Will be pulling my daughter out ASAP!

Nearby schools

Keys Gate Charter School
2000 Southeast 28th Avenue, Homestead, FL  33035
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 123 reviews. (305) 230-5630
Last modified Keys Gate Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top