Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Charter School at Waterstone

Charter | PK-8 | 908 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

Check out this school on Facebook. You will be able to see for yourself how amazing this school is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Terrible school only about how to make them selves look good but unless you have been in the school no one knows how terrible it is. Administration is the worse and the principal is only about her self. As far as parents not being involved as the one said I am on the board of the PTA and I can still say this school is not up to standards and always looking for a handout. You know the school has a bug problem when your son says he is the bug killer this week. So sad a lot if potential but need to remove most of the administration. I feel this school will be a B school in no time just as it scored last year lucky for then they get a one yr grace period. No communication with parents as u can not walk past the desk and the only was to talk to teachers is by email when they do respond. Not able to do lunch with your child so sad the keep the parents out but want the money from us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

As a 5th year teacher in this school, I am appalled by how inaccurate some of these reviews are. Yes, traffic is pretty terrible, but this can happen in any school. Does any other school provide FREE sibling care so that parents of children with more the one dismissal do not have to return multiple times for pick up nor pay for aftercare? Let's be a little more appreciative of these teachers who stay and watch your child after school hours as a courtesy to you. As far as the "bug" situation in the bathroom, please note that all the bathrooms are directly next to two doors leading to the outside world, where bugs roam free, as they should. If these little critters happen to sneak into the building, there's really not much we can do. Also, it is Homestead. We can all agree that there are bugs everywhere! Just to clarify something that might be a little confusing, as with any other public school, unfortunately teachers are not provided with all the materials necessary for a functioning classroom, unless paid for out of pocket. One of the things I love most about working in this school is the constant communication and cooperation between me and my parents. It's a blessing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2014

I agree with the parent that commented on February 2nd. The only parents that come to this site are the ones that are complaining about silly things like pickup and dropoff. There are a lot of kids and the parking lot is small - get over it. Get there early like the rest of us and everything flows nicely and kids get in on time. These are the parents that are not part of the PTA, dont chaperone field trips, dont want to be a part of their childs education. When their child acts up in class yes, the teachers are quick to reprimand which is good, but since the parent is not really parenting, they want to get upset. My kid is 6, has been there since Kindergarten, and passes along the messages. Their teachers right notices in their agendas but of course if you dont look in it, you'd never know. He gets in trouble for talking yes and he should! Get over being a lazy parent. If you can't spell Sub-Standard (its not sub stander) or 'disappoint' when it should be disappointed, then maybe you should get a tutor with your child and help them, dont just complain about teachers that deal with kids who do nothing but play video games and watch tv when they get home. Yes it has its flaws
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Really disappoint how kids from 2 nd grade get their lunch so late when I call the first time to complain about this situation they said "don't worry we will provide a snack for the kids before lunch I went to the open house to find out that the school is not providing the snacks the school is asking the parents to donate the snacks well what about the parents that they can't donate snacks or what about parents just succeed to don't donate anything just give their kids what they need so what gonna happend with the other kids ??? Well I guess this school really don't care about this situation they just care about what it's better for then not for the kids.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I cannot tell much about the school since this is the first year my child is going. But I am concerned about the dropping off and picking up students procedures. It is very dangerous for all. I hope they find a way to fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I have heard only the best things about this school and my two little girls are on the waiting list and can't wait to attend hopefully next years strongly recommend water stone charter school. 5****
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I want to say that the school is ok but the traffic is terrible gets. You guys need to improve in the traffic flowing faster.Also you guys need to work quickly in resolving in building the port because all the children not just mine pass a lot of hot weather waiting for us the parents to arrive to the front just to get them.And the other thing you need to work at is getting Mrs. Lopez back in the front office. was very upset when I went to the office and I did not see Mrs. Lopez. I have to say she is a wonderful person very caring always helps everybody. She has always been very polite never rude my oldest daughter a former student loves her and my two daughters love her so much they want to call her tia. I really hope that I get to see Mrs Lopez in the office again she is missed greatly there.We love Mrs. Lopez very much and hope you take into consideration the parents reviews thank you very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

I hated this school! In fact, we took an early transfer to withdraw our children. Both of my kids lost an entire year of education and regressed tremendously in academics and behaviors. My daughter's confidence level went down the toilet. She became stressed, depressed and felt dumb with the belittling from the staff. Teachers do not work with parents or kids at all! They are rude, rude, RUDE! Class sizes are outrageous (at 40!) and use of staff time is wasted as I've found them sitting doing NOTHING as the co-teacher instructs. Absolutely no logic to how anything runs or is organized. By far the most stressful year of my life. I do not recommend any aspect of this disfunctional school. The A needs to be removed promptly from the front of the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

too strict,greedy school,always asking for paents to buy something,parents basically buy all of teachers products like they dont get any funding,all the teachers are young,straight out of college and dont know how to deal with kids so any little thing a child does is wrote up and suspensions until they make you withdraw your kid,indoor suspensions for lateness caused by the school horrile traffic situations when the kid could be in class,too much rules,too strict,military runned,very stressful for parents,they dont serve breakfast even though your child qualifies for free and reduced lunch program.happy to have left that school.good reputation though,clean,small,A school,minimal sports
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

Run like a corporation. They have so many positions for a school that only goes to 5th grade. Positions Registar, Administration assistance, ,Principal , Assist. Principal for K-2, Principal and Assist Principal for 3-5, Dean, and Before and After Care Director. and you still have to make an appointment to speak to them. Good luck in trying to drop off your child in front of the school instead of the parking lot or and street corner. if you are in the drop off lane and by the time u make it to the front of school and its past 830am your child is late. You try to explain the line was long to the office or the principal, the reply you will get is YOUR LATE. The funny thing was that the next day the principal was outside directing traffic but u still late if you n your child are stuck in the drop off line waiting to get into the school. It seems I was not the only 1 complaining about the traffic issue. It ridiculous both pick up and drop off. The only parent involvement the schools seems to care most about is when raising money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

Has the worst front office staff in the world. Pure attitude all day everyday. They also have no patience of special needs kids. They would rather suspend a child repeatedly forcing a parent to withdraw. They care more about the grade the school receives then the children that attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Waterstone is a good academic charter school with great math and science courses. My granddaughter loves Waterstone.


Posted May 8, 2013

I'm a parent of a 5th grader. My child has been attending since Kinder. Year by year things change but to better things. My child is more happy coming home. The curriculum is fantastic. The fundraising and actives they have can't compare to what other copy schools do. My daughter is enthusiastic about going to school learning. To those parents that point fingers about everything , I wonder if you hold your children accountable for the things they do, learn & speak. A reminder that children are from what they learn at home. Start being proactive and learn parenting tips from all those good parents & stop pointing fingers. Staff is great , very friendly & enthusiastic every morning & that's what my daughter has learn for five straight year. She's an honor roll student with a great attitude not socially challenge. I'm an evolve parents thru out the year & I don't sit behind a computer and type away things that are out of an anger action or out spite. Do things that change the world & get evolve maybe that will make all those angry parents. Make a difference so your child is a child that can make the difference in the future. Stop being angry & grow a brain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I use to like this school, but now to speak to the Principal or the Assistant principasl they make you fill out a paper and they call you with an appoinment, seat and wait!!! Before they would take you in an listen to your concerns. The quality of service has gone down the drain!! You call to speak to the registrar about attendance or email her she never returns the calls or answer the emailsl. I left her a paper that was sent to me about my child's unexcused absences and never heard from her. I went to the teacher and the teacher sent me to the office and the front desk lady was very nice and told me to leave the registrar a note and that she would get back to me and I am still waiting!!! I don't know what is going on but Waterstone is the same Waterstone of years back. What happen? This year is not that great :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

This School Is amazing!! Office staff and teachers are spectacular. Now the only dislike that I have is that the registrar is rude and not willing to answer simple, nicely asked questions. This person should not be dealing with parents who are only concerned for their children. The parking is ridiculous but manageable. Yes they do ask for money all the time, but I in particular look at it as investing in your child's education and experience at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

Academically good; however we will see after this year's test scores. After becoming k-5, the school increased classes and hired more teachers; however most of these teachers are fresh out of college with little experience. Not enough money for quality teachers? Also, the am drop off and pm pick up situation is a BIG MESS. The school kept changing the pick-up location and times constantly for the first month or so of school. Parents just didn t know how and when the kids were dismissed. Very chaotic, especially for siblings. PE facilities are almost none existing. No indoor gym and the kids have to play in a rough asphalt court in the in the south Florida heat. . Not only a terrible situation but also very dangerous. Injuries, dehydration, heat exhaustion you name it. Don t get me wrong, academics are important, but there is too much emphasis on school work, and kids need more than academics to be well-rounded. Children also need sports and other activities; otherwise they become overwhelmed with work and apathetic. The school s infrastructure speaks for itself. Plenty of pace for classes but not for sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

The school is one of the best in the area I must say but the office personnel needs to treat parents with more respect. Also they go overboard with what a child might say it is ridiculous I have seen suspensions an detentions for the stupidest reasons, they are too strict on certain aspects. Be aware they ask for donations all the time and fees like 25.00 lab fee for a 9 yr old student that's ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I just received an automated phone call from the school, supporting the local politicians and to vote. This is what the school uses their time and money for.???? this school needs to focus on education and becareful with how it is spending money and put it back into education not supporting local politicians.The school thanked them already, when they approved the highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

I moved to homestead 4 years ago and I agree with the parent who wrote that the parents are not treated appropriately. I have witnessed this myself several times in the past and recently. In addition to this there are constant fund raisers and this year the school has asks for a $25.00 activity and lab fee that is required per child. I have 3 children. I thought the District/State provides funding for charter schools. Finally, this school has very minimal activities
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 29%
Black 11% 23%
White 10% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%58%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

855 Waterstone Way
Homestead, FL 33033
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 248-6206

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT