Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

617 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Grateful to: Student

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
everyone in somerset for putting up with all of these dumb teachers and these dumb rules.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Is ridiculous this is a school ;no is post doctoral program; the kids always be stressed for the extra amount of homework; the kids needs a life too.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Teachers honestly don't care about the students, they say it and they show it too. Terrible school. My teacher once told my class several times that we were going to fail the state test. I feel like the teachers don't help in reaching my full potential. I had better grades and teachers in regular public school. Think twice before coming here.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 1

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
I go to Somerset Silver Palms and my teachers have favoritism and they're very rude. My math teacher actually told my class several times that we were going to fail the state test. They charge you for everything (don't come to this school unless you make 100 grand or more).

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
Mrs. Axon-Hall is such a great teacher and she has so many degrees and such a great education and somerset degrades her to teaching an elective. Shes the best teacher I've ever had and she helped me strive to become a great student. I got very good grades in her class and I got a 5 on the state because of her.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
My teacher tried to get an innocent child suspended for looking at a picture found on a google search. Another incident is my old math teacher told my class that we were going to fail the state test several times in class.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
I spend so much time at home stressing and doing my homework. I don't even do sports, imagine what those poor athletes and what they go though. I spend at least 5 hours a day doing homework every day.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
The teachers actually discourage me to do anything. I feel like they're holding me back from my education and what I can really do. I feel like I can get better grades and succeed in life if i had better teachers.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
My math teacher told my class repetitive that we were going to fail the state test. The security guards make fun of students (once one of them called a student a faggot) and the principals don't care about anything but money.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
The school charges us for everything (unless you make over 100 grand a year don't come here) they make you pay for everything. The school adds unnecessary fees to things that public school covers.

Nearby schools

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
23255 Southwest 115th Avenue, Homestead, FL  33032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (305) 257-3737
Last modified Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top