Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Homestead, FL
Students enrolled: 632

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
In Spanish now, La escuela es muy buena. pero el personal es un poco anti profesional. Les hace falta tener mas contacto con los padres, en especial el grupo de After School...Son muy groseras. Gracias, espero q les sirva de ayyda.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Best Charter in town! Love the rules! Love the disipline and the way how the staff support all kind of krasy parents, lol... My kids and my housband love everything in there too. Nice activities and nice advanced classes.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
WORST SCHOOL EVER ! Not recommended for high school. No scholorships and the electives suck. Don't come here for high school. The rules are super ridiculous, as in you get in trouble for everything. Teachers expect respect from students when they disrespect them themselves. Few teachers are great. Most of the staff is rude, don't know what their doing, and they lie a lot. I'm very disappointed in Somerset. They were so great when they started a few years ago and now things are going down hill.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 5

Posted September 09, 2012
- a parent
My husband and I are very happy with the school. My kids are happier! Parking in the morning is good as well in the afternoon better than other schools. They update their website very often which I love that. Teachers are very caring and organize. After school care my kids like it a lot! I don't understand the bad comments that parents made of the school before. The school is very secure. Something I believe they should have is a gym or an auditorium. I see the school getting better every year.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 4

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
My child is new at this school. The people leading the school are amazing. The Principal is so caring and so Is the new young counselor, Mrs. Zuckerman. My daughter was upset the first day and the counselor calmed her down and made her feel so Much better. I'm so happy I found a school that cares.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
Great school amazing teachers... Read previous reviews and disagree parents complain about a change in administration and new rules... All the rules are for the better... We need to teach children take account for their actions and the new policies do that. Having to get off the car to sign a student in because they are tardy happens in every school, and I promise the first time it happened was the last... My son made sure to set his alarm earlier to avoid the embarrassment.. Job well done.. So glad to see positive change

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 1

Posted February 16, 2012
- a parent
I am disappointed with this school they changed the administration and not much improvement. I call the school and people never seem to have any information and cant communicate with you in english. They have a lot of ridiculous rules and dont worry about the most important thing which is education. The middle and high schools students dont have motivation. All they do is ask for money for everything. And speaking to an administrator is like asking to speak to the president of the United States. Think twice about removing your student from a public school to this they dont have the Gifted program.This school leaves a lot to be desired. The Elementary is amazing runs smoothly great administrator and amazing teachers.

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 3

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
This is the 4th year of my daughter in this school. the first two years were great!! Everything started to go down the last two years: crowded classrooms, screaming teachers, of course behavioral problems as a consequence and very poor communication with the teachers. Now this year with the new elementary school building and the EXTREME DISORGANIZATION, especially during drop off, is bordering the absurd. Everyday I have to literally exercise my patience with staff who don't reinforce their own rules, parents who are very rude and at the end I don't know if its even worthy...honestly the school is not such a great school for my daughter or me to bear this stress every morning. The new building has MAJOR parking issues, they don't accommodate the parents and students who are ultimately the reason why the school is functioning. Please, look for a better solution in regards to the above mentioned problem, otherwise you'll see the enrollment numbers dropping dramatically...there are other very good and better planned schools around the area.


Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 1

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
I used to be very satisfied with this school until recently. My son who was recently diagnosed with ADHD has been attending this school for two years. In the last six months he has had numerous incidents and I have asked the school to work with him and I (since they are certified teachers). I have been told to put him on medication, and everything. I was also told by the principal (whom I have NEVER met) that maybe he is having outbursts because I work too much and don't spend enough time with him. I was super ticked off because my husband is disabled and I have to work long hours to support my family. I cannot wait to transfer him to another school because they are a bunch of two faced liars. There is one assistant principal (female) that is amazing....the rest of the staff needs to retrain!!!1

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
This school tries hard to work with the children and the parents. They offer a good program and they have an excellent principal and teachers. Its a bit crowded but all the Homestead area charters are crowded and all have long waiting list. This one is so close to the base and lots of military children that get moved around the nation. I think the school get an A in effort.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Somerset Academy (Silver Palms)
23255 Southwest 115th Avenue, Homestead, FL  33032
(305) 257-3737
Last modified Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Somerset Academy (Silver Palms) Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top