Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

458 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summerville Advantage Academy
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 06, 2016
- a community member
I say thank you to my own children who had to endure a whole school year at this sham of a school.

Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted April 06, 2016
- a community member
First let me say that we just moved to South Florida from another state this school year. I knew as soon as I started reading about the area that I would need to lower my expectations of education, but I never expected something so poor. If you want a school that spends most class time and homework time teaching the test, promotes the screaming towards and berating of students by teachers, allows teachers to have loud verbal arguments with eachother in front of the children, creates a strong culture of obvious favoritism, sells junk food to your child in the classroom, etc... then this is the school for you. If you value education and a positive school environment then this school is not for you.


Summerville Advantage Academy 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Wow! This school was well beyond expectations! Our child really learned so much. We are honored and most proud. The POWER of a POSTMODERN EDUCATION!!! Breezy Leeza truly lives up to her name because she makes learning Kool, just like a breath of fresh air on a sunny subtropical afternoon.

Summerville Advantage Academy 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
Ms liza no tiene el mas minimo sentido comun no le importa en lo mas minimo escuchar a los padres y no le interesa para nada la seguridad de los ninos por ejemplo cuando llueve y no hay parqueo sierra el drive way que es donde unico no se llena de agua

Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
I am very disappointed with Summerville. They do not follow MDCPS standards of communication with parents. Their curriculum lacks rigor and purpose. It seems like everything is a secret and if you ask for a parent conference you might get one, maybe. The principal lacks personal communication skills and likes to boast that she likes to confront parents. She is very aggressive and lacks warmth of any type. Her poor leadership style has affected her staff and their teaching . The school went down to a C. She does not demonstrate pedagogy; children are blamed for all shortcomings. Parents are shut out , unless it has to do with acquiring money for events. The good teachers are either gone or need to keep their job and just stay quiet. The principals favorite frequently screams and humiliates the children. Theirs another who has poor class management and spends her day blowing a whistle. Even though you may send a child to school with the requested supplies they will be given to everyone else; then they'll penalize your child for not bringing a red pen.This facility is a true disaster. Classes are overcrowded and they don't deliver , lots of smoke and mirrors.


Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Are you headed their way? TURN AROUND!!!! The administration is poor. The principal Ms. Leza is not parent friendly. She would rather ignore you and doesn't allow parent participation. Her attempts to run a tight ship should include a dress code for herself. See through, sleeveless on a principal?!?!? Oh and don't forget the leopard skin stiletto shoes the women wear. Really? Can you protect my child if you had to run? I give her a little credit, most students seem to like her. The PTSO is lacking, leadership and know how. They need a course on how to run a parent board. Most of the teachers are pretty good. The discipline techniques are a bit too tough though. Children are not allowed to go to the restroom yet sent home if a child sneezes. If the answer another child's question, they are disciplined. I once had a concern and wanted to talk to someone of authority and was hung up on instead of given a phone number. So sad.

Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
I am seriously concerned about my kids attending this school and will pull them out immediately. The teachers at the school seem dedicated but there is a complete lack of morale at the school. The new administration (Breezy Liza is the new principal) is disgraceful and their attempts at running a tight ship borders on the ridiculous. Case in point, the police was called on a 3rd grade student with special needs because 'he couldn't be controlled' (no weapons of any kind were found in the child's possession; no threats were made). Children are never allowed to offer any explanation if a misbehavior arises; they are expected to 'be quiet' and comply with the orders given. My kids are complaining of not being allowed to talk in class (understandable), or breaks (?), or even in the cafeteria; seriously?! Apparently there are no bathroom passes after 2:00pm eventhough school is in session until 3:30pm! The new 5th grade teacher has taken to asking the kids to copy lines like 'I must not talk in class' for pages on end! After being a customer of this school since their opening I mourn for the wonderful school it once was. Our kids deserve better and so they are leaving.

Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted June 10, 2012
- a parent
MY KIDS ARE GOING TO START GOING TO THIS SCHOOL FOR THE 2012-2013 SCHOOL YEAR. I HOPE TO HAVE A GOOD EXPERIENCE WITH TEACHERS AND STAFF ALIKE. READ ALL THE REVIEWS; SOME GOOD, SOME BAD... HOPEFULLY THE NEXT REVIEW I WRITE FOR THIS SCHOOL WILL BE VERY POSITIVE.


Summerville Advantage Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
THIS SCHOOL IS A WASTE OF TIME! DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!! WHY DO I SAY THAT?!?! WELL I HAVE EXPERIENCE BECAUSE I WAS A STUDENT THERE! BUT I LEFT BECAUSE THAT WAS A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! THE TEACHERS THERE DO NOT MOTIVATE THE KIDS AT ALL! ADMINISTRATION IS HORRIBLE! THEY DON'T CARE AT ALL! IF A KID GOES MISSING I BET THEY WON'T EVEN CARE! I BEG OF ALL OF YOU PARENTS DON'T MAKE A MISTAKE! THEY ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY! MY PARENTS WASTED MORE THAN $300 ON THIS TERRIBLE SCHOOL!! DON'T I SAY THIS AGAIN DON'T MAKE A MISTAKE!!! Sincerely, a used to go to this school girl! who now goes to a better school aka Centennial Middle School which is turning to a high school...Centennial is a great and awesome school to go to! send your children to Centennial because its awesome there! now those are people who cares!!

Summerville Advantage Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
My daughter started Kindergarten 2011-2012, I am very pleased with the school staff, very reliable, very responsible, and in terms in communication great!! Ms. Ramirez and Ms. Fyffe are great teachers. They have an awesome reading program after school, and dance club. Keep it up Summerville!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summerville Advantage Academy
11575 Southwest 243 Street, Homestead, FL  33032
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (305) 253-2123
Last modified Summerville Advantage Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top