Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Homosassa Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2013

I am a former student of homosassa and now my son attends there. I live in lecanto and had him out of zoned just to go here. many of the teachers are the same as they were when i attended. ms. hicks is a loving and talented teacher who goes out of her way to help every student and the school is blessed to have her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It is aschool that wins many awards with excellent teachers and students that apply themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

We love this school it has helped my daughter out a lot thanks for all the hard work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Homosassa Elementary School has a wonderful staff dedicated to the children of the community.


Posted January 23, 2009

We love Homosassa Elementary! Lecanto Elementary let my daughter fall through the cracks and she ended up failing as a result. At Homosassa Elementary she gets the one on one attention she needs and now she is an honor roll student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Its an excellent school, even though it is not in a terrific neighborhood.The teachers and staff are great and there is alot of parent involvement.My child has learned so much in the short time she has been going there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

Wouldn't send my children anywhere else. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2006

What a wonderful close-knit enviroment. My kids are getting a solid education in a warm, friendly setting
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

When my daughter transferred to Homosassa Elementary this year I was worried because I didn't know much about the school. This website helped put my mind at ease. I am very pleased with the school. My daughter loves it. The transition was very easy for her because everyone was so nice (teaching staff and students.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

All three of my daughters attend this outstanding school. Mrs. Chamblin and Mrs. Hart are excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Both my children attended this school, now my grandson. Excellent school. I only wish they had a middle and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 90%
Hispanic 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%58%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. CHRISTOPHER BOSSE
Fax number
  • (352) 249-2131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10935 West Yulee Drive
Homosassa, FL 34448
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 628-2953

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crest School
Lecanto, FL




West Coast Christian School
Crystal River, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT