Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Immokalee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1381 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Immokalee High School has improved its school grade and image through its mission of PRIDE which consists of: Perseverance, Respect, Involvement, Discipline and Enthusiasm. It would assist us greatly if our media center technology was upgraded for student & teacher use as well as the increase in testing meaning other computers may be slowed down. Moreover, the use of student-owned and school technology will assist our students with staying competitive with District schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Immokalee high school is a great school! I have four kids,two which have already graduated and have gone on to graduate from FSU! The other two plan to follow in their siblings footsteps. The administration, teachers, and aides have all been a tremendous help to us as parents. I feel that every parent should be involved with their child's education in any or all levels. We can't just drop them off and expect perfection after 13 years. I Love that our school is united in many things and we really do become one when tragedy strucks, we have had our share of that unfortunatel, but we have come out stronger! So yes Immokalee high school is a home to many students and staff because they are there for 8 hours, plus how ever many more for clubs, sports, and extra help for the students! Thank you for your time! And as we say here in IHS, Every day is a great day to be an Indian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Immokalee High School is a great school. There is a lot of diversity in the school and we all get along. We are small town but your hearts are big. We work hard to being the best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2013

This school is better because the students and teachers are a giant family. Everyone is treated with respect and have as much fun as a regular family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2013

I love my school. We have the best football team in collier county in my opinon. Sometimes I have problems with the teachers but I still love them. They always have my back. I respect that. I am an Immokalee Indian and i'm proud to say it. I LOVE MY SCHOOL !! GO IMMOKALEE INDIANS !!! :))))))))
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2013

This school is amazing. I am going to attend this school until my senior year. I been in this city for a while i attended every immokalee school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2013

My school is so awsome because they have so many clubs to join. And also have a migrant center to help us pick up our grades and stay i schhol.They also help us get into collages
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2013

IHS is a great school! Students, for the most part, are respectful and want to learn. Faculty and staff are dedicated professionals that put the needs of the students first. In a migrant farm-worker community with 99%+ of students at or below the poverty line, this school is a beacon of hope to students and their families. The high school is a hub of community involvement and support. Students connect with the truism that their education is a key to a better life!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2013

Immokalee High School is a great school because of the people. Students, teachers, administration , even the non-instructional support staff are warm and friendly. Most of the students are fun loving, creative and polite when encountered one-on-one. There are not many high high schools where students will open the door for strangers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2013

I love Immokalee High School because the teachers and staff are very helpful. They care about my children's education and are always willing to help. The safety and education is very important to me. Thank you for being an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

School was a friendly place for both parents and students. Now it is a very cold environment that has only one goal. FCAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

Immokalee High School has some of the best teachers around but the administration is terrible. They do not follow thru with promised academic plans for the students. Nor do they offer classes to students that will benefit them. Students can and will get lost here if the parent does not stay very involved with them and demand things from the administration. My child two years left here and I seriously doubt that I will let my younger child attend IHS unless some major changes are made in the administration area there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

At this point, 2 daughters have already graduated and the 3rd is due this year. In our case, there have been stumbling blocks over the years that have been corrected with parent involvement. The staff is friendly and helpful when a parent comes in. They will take the time to explain what is best for your child. Administration is strong and has a good view of the future of our kids. Each one of my kids had a different area of involvement and it was a good experience for them. Thank you staff at IHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

this has been a great school for my nephew. moved here from mi and the school made the transition even more smooth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

Well although my child has had past promblems the teachers and counslers have helped her get back on track they know that in this point of their lifes they need a person they can count on and I think if it wasen't for them my daughter would now be a drop out. Also the school is very multi-racial. She has tried many other schools and their have been clique promblems and well in Immokalee you sort of just get to know everyone and that becomes your second home without being judged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

As a graduate from IHS, I believe that the teachers don't get enough credit for what they do. It's up to the students to learn, the teachers are there. I had some excellent teachers and my four years were the best. I think it is a wonderful school that everybody else views negative because of what they hear and because of our community. If you ever get a chance spend one day at IHS and you will never forget it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

379 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

372 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

351 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

271 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

377 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 72%
Black 23%
White 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 210%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 80%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%50%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:10 am
School end time
  • 2:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ken Fairbanks
Fax number
  • (239) 377-1801

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Immokalee Dr
Immokalee, FL 34142
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 377-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT