Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indialantic Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 756 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

I was very diligent researching the schools in this area because historically Florida schools have a bad reputation. I toured all of our options, and although Indialantic is LARGE, I have felt a wonderful sense of community and individual accountability since my son started. We have been very pleased with his teachers, the principal, staff, and other children and parents. I am glad that we moved to Indialantic and zone to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

They have a real problem with bullies. Some teachers are great, others not so much. We're moving our kids to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

My school is a wonderful place for kids to grow.However, I would like to know how the shool's stuff( teachers and other workers are supervised).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

I am from Wisconsin and this school, the whole Florida school system is HORRIBLE!!! My daughter was in first grade in Wisconsin learing Geometry and Fractions. She was learing 2nd and 3rd grade material! She entered second grade at Indialantic and was being taught KINDERGARTEN school work!!! They would not advance her in anyway.... I have pulled her out and am now homeschooling her until we can move back to Wisconsin so that she can get a much better EDUCATION!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Best elementary ever. Truly caring environment :) Great teachers and faculty! Loving how quickly and effectively my children are learning at Indialantic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

This is the absolute worst school, I wouldn't send my dog to this school! They need some heavy duty discipline for this school, they need to add detention, too many bullies, the kids are out of control at this school with disrespect and bullying, Nothing but problems with this school, they need more male teachers, they are the best ones at this school! They need a new guidance counselor as well, someone who knows what they are doing and how to handle the good and the bad children! The women teachers yell at the kids all day, everyone is inconvenienced with you when you have a problem. No playground this year, they want parents to bring in everything, its a money pit, and not worth it! Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

The school has gotten progressively worse over the past 4 years. They have taken out the pre-algebra course so that this years 6 graders will be less prepared for middle school than in the past. It seems as though the school has no concern for or program for smart kids that are college bound.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I have not been impressed with the school this year. My child's teacher appears inconvenienced when we speak to her and doesn't appear to truly be there for the kids. The writing seems behind other schools. I hope that next year will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I went to Indialantic Elementary School For a full 7 years, same as my older sister. Through the years i transfered to other schools off and on, but my mother thought that this was the best school for me, considering their athletic department is wonderul and the teachers are either our favorites or our least. Thats how it always works. Luckily,. they all have patience to put up with young kids, they dont 'yell' or 'hit' their very goood about their patience. I had a kindergarden teacher who is no longer there that was, and is still my favorite over all the years. Even to this day as im heading off to the 8th grade. I miss this school very much. And im lucky its across the street from my school now, i still get to see my wonderful teachers now and then.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2007

I have two children at Indialantic. I am very pleased with this school, and find it to be a wholesome, positive environment. The teachers encourage the children, and I see a push for the 'love of reading'. Very good environment. Several teachers and the PE staff are beloved by the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

My daughter has attended Indialantic Elementary for five years. There is an excellent music teacher here. She is currently in fifth and doing the best yet. She has another excellent teacher. The coaches are great also. I fault the School Board for all the FCAT pressure. This is a quality school with much parent involvement, after school sports programs, music programs and community involvement. I would like to see more global activities to round them out, but they can't do everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I have been very disappointed in this school over the last 3 years. I have two kids here who are advanced for their age. Neither has been significantly challenged. Further, I've had significant problems with one of the teachers violating district policy which was not handled very well. The school may have been good in the past, but it's reputation and performance is declining.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

The teachers and administration are all willing to provide necessary steps/programs that the individual student may need, in addition to the prescribed curriculum. My family and I have been embraced by the school and they have shown me every courtesy one can hope for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

Wonderful school for my children. Teachers have many years of experience and do everything they can to know the families and give much extra help to help the children. Wonderful spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We are happy with the way IES operates and treats its students and parents. There seems to be a lot of school pride here! My daughter is very happy with her class and teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2003

It's a good school, but I have another child who says that goes to the Jr. High School across the street, and he says that the teachers give him a lot more respect there than they ever did at IES.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 85%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 North Palm Avenue
Indialantic, FL 32903
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 723-2811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Rfm Christian Academy
Melbourne, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT