Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Private
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
Discovery is a well balanced school focusing on whole child development. I can't speak highly enough about the teachers. They are so dedicated to the kids and the Montessori method.

Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
I had two children attend Discovery Montessori School and they are now thriving in middle school. Both have received top honors in mathe and science. Both are independent, engaged learners. I am often complimented on their behavior in class and how they interact with all the students in their class not just one group or another. Discovery successfully completed a rigourous accreditation process with the Florida Council of Independent Schools and the American Montessori Society in 2012. They committ resources to professional development for their teachers. It was a great value given the price for other FCIS schools. Would highly recommend it.
1 person found this helpful


Discovery Montessori School 3

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
We came to Discovery very optimistic based on reputation that it is "the best". We have been disappointed with the communication and the school's inability to address or even validate our concerns. We are moderately satisfied overall and our child is learning, but not for this kind of money. I do not feel like the teachers or administration actually care about our child. The head of school has good talking points and goes through the motions but at the end of the day, it feels empty.

Discovery Montessori School 3

Posted January 01, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at this school for over three years, and, frankly speaking, this school is over-rated and over-priced. If your child is mediocre or a little bit better than average, he will do fine there. If your child is advanced, it might not be a good place for him. Parent involvement at this school is practically about giving money and donating service.

Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
Discovery is a delightful school. Grounded in Montessori principles, it has provided my 2 children with an outstanding foundation for the future. The school nurtures the growth of the whole child by providing open, natural and beautiful environments for the children to explore and learn. The student population is ethnically diverse with many bilingual families this which enriches the educational experience. Discovery also offers many learning experiences outside the classroom. The Edible Schoolyard provides for many wonderful lessons about science and sustainability. The children are able to seed, grow, care and prepare food from the garden. A truly amazing experience!


Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has gone here since she was 2. This school is amazing in establishing a great foundation for any kid.

Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted July 23, 2011
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff really care about the children. My children have been going here for three years and we wouldn't dream of sending them anywhere else. The other parents are great too. It's a wonderful community for learning and friendship. We love this school.

Discovery Montessori School 2

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
The school just lost 3 valuable and very experienced teachers. Last year they lost 2 in their lower elementary class. Their current staff is lacking a great deal of child psychology which is a key item when dealing with Montessori children. Make sure to add a couple of thousand dollars more to your budget if you plan to attend the school, there are a lot of fun raisers and it feels like is all about the money, money, money.


Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted March 27, 2011
- a parent
Discovery Montessori School offers the best education in Jacksonville! A Montessori education addresses the whole child, fostering independence and a love of learning, leadership, and a child's understanding of their interconnectedness to the rest of the world. While DMS embraces all of the core Montessori values, the school is also on the forefront of technology and a 21st century vision of education. This is our sixth year at Discovery, and I cannot imagine having my child enrolled anywhere else!

Discovery Montessori School 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a parent
Discovery Montessori School combines a rigorous academic program with caring teachers and involved parents while staying true to traditional Montessori teaching methods. The Montessori method educates children not only in traditonal academics, but also teaches them to be self directed, lifelong learners. Over the last 6 years I have watched my children blosssom under the tutelage of the wonderful teachers and staff at Discovery. The small student/teacher ratio in the elementary programs allow for individualized curriculums. And, since the children have the same teachers for 2 -3 years, the teachers get to know the students and their families VERY well. The school community is very welcoming and has become the proverbial "village" that is helping me raise my children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Montessori School
102 15th Street South, Jacksonville Beach, FL  32250
(904) 247-4577
Last modified Discovery Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Discovery Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top