Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Pablo Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 585 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

San Pablo is a wonderful place to raise children. The teachers are passionate and students are happy. Other commentors have stated that the principal enforced a no recess policy, when in fact that ruling came from the superintendent himself. I would highly reccomnend thus school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 16, 2014

As a parent with a child in 1st grade, and new to the area, we were excited to start the year at San Pablo. While the teachers are excellent, the office staff is often times rude and condescending. My son has had some recent health issues, and required to be taken out of school early on a FEW occasions. I take into account the time of day when scheduling his doctors visits and make the appointment as late in the day as possible. All of his appointments have been during his resources hour and not interfering with instruction time. I dread each encounter with the office staff who can usually be seen shoveling snacks in their mouths that accompany their rude remarks about the time of day. We are sad to say this will be our only year at San Pablo. There are plenty of schools just down the street that offer excellent teaching without the side of sarcasm. Ive heard this school used to be wonderful, and I am sad that we have missed the old spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

This used to be a wonderful school, now I would advise parents considering San Pablo to steer clear. Last year major policy changes occurred with no notice to parents or the PTA. The teachers are still wonderful but the environment is very tense and it's not a happy place. San Pablo is supposed to be a Health and Fitness magnet school but when students returned this fall recess had been completely removed from the curriculum. They did add some back but it is ONLY 2x a week for KINDERGARTEN, 1x a week for 1-3rd grade and 4-5th grade has NO SCHEDULED RECESS AT ALL. The entire focus of this school has changed to testing, test scores, and test taking skills. Kids are anxious, teachers seem stressed and it feels more like a prison than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I agree with the reviewer who is disappointed with the new NO fitness rule. A few years ago I would have given this school 5+ stars. My 3 children attended San Pablo from k through 5th grade. They excelled physically and academically. Recently the new principal has implemented a No recess rule with the opportunity for parents to PAY for fitness programs AFTER school. This defeats the purpose of San Pablo being a PUBLIC health and fitness magnet. It also raises the question of which students they are targeting. I'd be surprised if the children from the poor neighborhood nearby are able to participate in the after school programs. Asking children to concentrate all day without unstructured play is unrealistic and unreasonable. It has been proven over and over again that physical activity promotes cognitive development and ability. San Pablo is setting many kids up for failure. This is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Awesome school!!! The teachers and whole staff really helped me and my daughter turn around what started out as a disastrous year at another school completely around. Cannot say enough good things. Thank you San Pablo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT THIS YEAR. My children have been attending SPE since K. They just started 3rd and 4th grade. So, needless to say, this is our 5th year here. WE LOVE the school and teachers. However, I'm very dissatisfied with a major change this year. No recess for 2nd-5th grade. This is a huge concern for me. This is a Health and Fitness magnet school. Not only does recess give the children a social outlet, it gives their growing body time to exert energy. All of the sports programs are offered AFTER school and parents are responsible for paying for these programs. With the exception of running club 1x per week. . I realize they added PE twice per week. However, I feel they are going to notice A LOT of behavior problems when the kids cannot get outside for at least 30 minutes per day to exercise. I feel this will be more noticeable in the Fall when the time changes and most kids get home after dark and cannot go outside at all. I really hope this decision is revisited with the well being of the children in mind as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

San Pablo is a health and fitness magnet. My daughter has attended Kindergarten through 3rd grade here. We love San Pablo! The teachers are excited to be there and it shows. They have wonderful playground equipment, a fitness trail, a garden, and they are constantly looking to add new sports during and after school. I love that they are building bright minds as well as helping my child with an active and healthy lifestyle. My daughter can be a bookworm but due to San Pablo introducing different sports she found that she loves tennis. Love, love, love San Pablo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This year, I will have 2 kids at this school. I have been very pleased with SPE. The fact that it has been an A school made it a great choice when my first one was entering kindergarten. My kids love to be outdoors and the magnet programs allow for that. I'm looking forward to another great year with SPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I love San Pablo elem. As a parent I feel like I am always welcome at the school. The teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

I have a rising third grader and rising Kindegarteners this year entering San Pablo. I love the small school setting and the fact that everyone knows each other. The health and fitness magnet has truly been a healthy atmosphere. The kids have learned healthy foods to eat, learned new physical activities, and also work on the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

San Pablo Elementary is NE Florida's only Health and Fitness Magnet School. This means that the whole child (physical and academic) is developed - we have been an "A" school for 14 years in a row!! Along with our academic excellence, before and after school fitness programs such as tennis, Zumba, gymnastics, dance, running, etc. are offered. And Healthy Life Choices are incorporated into all regular academic classes. If this wasn't enough, the faculty and staff work to promote kindness and the family feeling at the school is unsurpassed!! There is lots of opportunity for parent involvement and the environment is warm and inviting. I can not say enough about San Pablo - The Energy of the Beaches!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I held my breath for MONTHS hoping my son would get into San Pablo Magnet Elementary!! Now, my Kindergartener completed his first year and is looking forward to first grade. This is his third school in three years and it is the BEST!!!!! I could not be any happier with the faculty and staff. I am very impressed with how approachable the principal is and how helpful the front office staff is. The teachers are dedicated and encourage you to come to the class and the parents are very involved which makes an incredible learning environment. My son loves all the Magnet Programs and I feel very lucky to be able to have my son at this school. I highly recommend this "A" school to every parent I speak to!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

San Pablo Elementary provides a warm and welcoming learning environment that strives for academic excellence while promoting the importance of health and fitness. My son has enjoyed the variety of before and after school magnet activities as well as the in school programs that promote the whole child (academics, fitness and health). Academic excellence is achieved at this school as it has been an "A" schools for 14 years straight. Parents are welcome to participate in the school and classrooms. The principal, teachers and staff are approachable and friendly. My family has been very pleased with our experience at San Pablo Elementary and would highly recommend this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My Kindergartener and 3rd grader are just completing their first year at San Pablo. We have been to three other schools in the past four years and this school is by far the best ever!! The teachers and principal are so caring and approachable. i feel comfortable to show up in either classroom at anytime. The teachers are always very informative and keep the parents up to date with school work and activities at all time. I couldn't be happier at this school. I have recommended this school to many people!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

My daughter is currently enrolled in Kindergarten at San Pablo. About a month ago, she was inappropriately touch in the bathroom by a male classmate. The principal's reaction was to tell me that he was "trying to be her friend." When I told her I wanted to two children in separate classes, she was hesitant to comply. I had to call the Duval County School Board to get any kind of response out of her. Do your homework before sending your child to this school. Not all of the teachers "have the time" to really watch your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

San Pablo really cares about all of their students and truly takes pride in their success. It's a health and fitness magnet public school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My son is currently a Kindergartner at San Pablo and I am very pleased with his progress. The teachers, principal and staff are very accessible and friendly. The school has a laid-back feel to it which I like and high parent involvement. I attended this school as a child so I had high hopes that we made the right choice. So far so good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My daughter is a kindergartener at San Pablo this year and has come a long way. You can tell the teachers are happy to be there and create a positive experience. The principle, Mrs. Graham, is also very involved with the school. We are looking forward to more years at San Pablo and are very happy to have gotten into this magnet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

This is a WONDERFUL school my son went from K-5 and now is excelling at Fletcher Middle and I think San Pablo Elementary for the great foundation they gave him...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

I absolutely love this school. I went here and now my son goes here. The staff is just wonderful and they care alot about their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 11%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 63%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%65%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 18th Avenue North
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 247-5947

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Noble School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Beaches Episcopal School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Montessori Tides School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


Beaches Chapel School
Neptune Beach, FL


Saint Paul's Catholic School
Jacksonville Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT