Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,052 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William M. Raines High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
The faculty and staff push us to do our best. They always give us pep talks and they want to see us successful. Everyday the teachers tell us "good, better, best. Never let it rest. 'Til your good is better and your better is best."

William M. Raines High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers don't mistreat us students in any way or form. They treat us with respect. They love us all equally, there's no favoritism. No one disrespects anyone at this school.


William M. Raines High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
This school does not discriminate. No matter your race, gender, ethnicity. Everyone at this school is great. They're really nice helpful. All the teachers are fair to ALL of their students. I see that everyday.

William M. Raines High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
I was going through personal problems and talked to my teacher about iit She was so understanding and full of empathy. Now things are better with my personal problems.

William M. Raines High School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers are very helpful. They also acknowledge my intelligence. It's so nice to have teachers who notice you. They set great examples for us students, and the most of the teachers at my previous school didn't. 5 out of 5 stars! The best school I've been to yet!!


William M. Raines High School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a community member
raines is a good school and i can say because my birth names is sadie raines

William M. Raines High School 4

Posted February 27, 2011
- a student
this year i came into william m raines by force since i had no other school to go to. and yes i am a freshman. i was very unhappy about having to go here BUT this is indeed one of the best schools ive ever been to in my life. the tv may say one thing but they never speak about the good of William m raines. STUDENTS ARE VERY FRIENDLY TO ONE ANOTHER it isn't a "fit in' type of school i made many friends this year and i cheered for them also. coach Rhonda was great. the security is like the best ever and our principal mr Maxy is doing all he can to motivate us and push us in the right direction. william m raines is THE BEST EVER and i know this from experience nd its just abt drama free smh im sad i gotta leave :[

William M. Raines High School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a student
For everyone who has a problem with William Marion Raines Senior High School home of the MIghty Vikings Ichibon #1 never to settle for #2, well this is the 2010-2011 Head Drum Major Leonard Paul Jackson Jr; speaking, and all i have to say is that you would have to be a Viking to know what goes on @ 3663 Raines Ave, Jax Fl 32209. Raines is the Best School that i have ever attended in my life. Inspite all the shooting, and threats that has happened in the past, we are a New Raines, and are doing great things. we have come from being an F school, to a D and we will become a C.. Raines is nmoving in a very possitive way and for those who cant see that... well u may need to clean your lenses. What im saying is dont talk about us.. be apart of us, be apart of a legend, join the Viking Pride something that noman on this planet can take.. A Viking never dies we will live on to be the only ones out of the First African American High Schools in Duval County... I bleed Cardinal Red and Silver Gray.. It never Raines on a VIKING!!!!! Ichibon all day..


William M. Raines High School 5

Posted December 31, 2010
- a student
WILLIAM M. RAINES IS THE BEST SCHOOL TO ME I LOVE IT AND LOOKING FOWARD TO GRADUATING IN 2014 HOPE THEY DONT CLOSE IT DOWN

William M. Raines High School 4

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Raines is a good school inspite of what the media tries to portray. Teachers and staff members do their best prepare students for college. i would recommend Raines high to any parent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William M. Raines High School
3663 Raines Avenue, Jacksonville, FL  32209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (904) 924-3049
Last modified William M. Raines High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top