Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holiday Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 635 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Our school is Holiday Hill Elementary. Three generations of our family have attended there. My brother in law, my five children and now three grand-daughters are currently attending. The teachers are dedicated and work hard. Classes could be better if smaller but that is finances. The school is a good place "to bloom where you are planted". The current principal works hard and there is a lot of parental involvement. C. Palmer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

Holiday Hill used to be a good school. But over the past 4 years there has been 4 principals. The FCAT scores are going down and now it has gone from bad to worst with the new principal and vice principal. They consistently play the "race card" and favor one group over another. They allow bullying and refuse to step in. But they themselves bully the teachers and staff. Many good teachers and students are leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I am a parent of a third grader. I started my child here in kindergarten under a magnet placement. My colleagues children attended this school. But things do not always stay the same. This school is on a steady decline. Even with new leadership. You get a clear feeling the teachers are not on board with the new curriculum. My child comes home confused. Something radical needs to happen here. I thought I was sending my child to a place with a proven track record for success not failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

This use to be a good school. This year the school is terrible. For the ESE kids they are mis treated and not given a fair chance. The principle says she care but she really don't. No matter how much the parent is involved in the school they still mis treat the kids in the ESE wings. The principle don't tell the truth and so does the teachers. They don't want to see these kids succeed or be something. I will not recommed this school to anyone if it is dealing with ESE kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

beast school best i ever went to i spent 4 years there inside a neighborhood very very very beast


Posted April 27, 2010

Our school is great because it still allows for resources that are a very important part of a childs life. Art, Music, Media, and especially PE give the children an outlet during school and let them explore their creative side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love Holiday Hill Faculty/Staff because they share positiveness with our children and parents. They enjoy being at work daily and teaching and guiding our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Very family oriented school - everything is what's best for the students teachers are great - principal is involved with the students - great front office staff - can't say enough goodness about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Holiday Hill is a fantastic school where family values are very important. The teachers and staff are so excited and truly involved and interested helping the students achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

HolidaY Hill Elementary School has the best programs that I've ever seen or heard of!! The multi-cultral fairs that they have are awesome and they put so much work into them. The teachers and staff members are excellant and really take pride in their students. I am very proud to say that my grandchildren are students there! The multi-cultral fair that they're having this year is based on Africa and is sure to please everyone involved. Good luck and God Bless!


Posted September 17, 2008

I agree with the post 2/27/07, Holiday Hill is by all means a wonderful school if your child is able to keep the A+ rating going. My child is a good student however she is struggling in a particular subject. The support and advice is horrible. The attitude is very uncaring with no suggestions. I happen to not be able to afford a private tutor but I would like for my child to do well, so what is a parent to do?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

This school is an amazing school. I have had three children go to that school and they loved it so much they wish they would make a middle and high school for holiday hill. They teachers and staff is amazing. The new principal is amazing too. I love this school and so do my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

My son attended Holiday Hill Elementary K-4 and I thought I was upgrading him to send him to Arlington Country Day for fifth. Mid-year I re-enrolled him in Holiday Hill and am more pleased than ever!! The new Principal this year has made a world of difference with the Teachers, Students, and Parents, alike!! When children are eager to get to school and enjoy being challenged, there are truly some great leaders paving the way to excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

I think the reason for the turnover at Holiday Hill was the principal. We got a new one this year! I think the 2007-2008 academic year will be a fantastic one. I spoke to my daughters teacher and asked about the new principal and she said it was a Great change! I think this year will be awesome. Good Principal= Happy teachers=Happy students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Holiday Hill is one of the best schools in Jacksonville. I hand selected this school for my son and am very pleased. My son loves going to school each day. The teachers are great and interact with the parents daily. One of my close friends who has a daughter with a learning disability received tremendous support from her teachers as well as the staff. This was her first year at holiday hill after transfering from a priviate school. They worked with her on a daily basis and promoted her success. A++++++++++++ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I was a major fan of Holiday Hill for many years when my son was one of the top in his class however, now with my youngest child who needs extra help and is struggling, help is just not there. The teacher does not seem to care. They only seem to care about the children who can earn them their A each year. My husband and I have sought outside help at great expense to assure she succeeds, not every parent can afford this so my advice would be if your child is very bright.... come, and if they are not A-B students I would find another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

I have had children attending Holiday Hill for the past 5 years. The past 2 years I have seen tremendous turnover in teachers which alarms me. The teachers there are EXCELLENT, but what is happening is that they are not Staying. I think staff turnover the past 2 years have been 35%. This is not good for our children or the school. There is a reason for this and I think we as parents need to be concerned. Some who have left were 'model teachers' and had been at Holiday Hill for years. There are still Model Teachers there and I think that we need to do all we can to keep them there. My kids will be gone from the school soon, but I urge people to look at the statistics offered by The School Board yearly. This may answer alot of questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

Nice school with nice people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

Excellent Gifted Program. I wish my child could go to this 5 days a week. What a wonderful teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

Holiday Hill is a great school for reading but they need to focus more on math. Also, the parental involvement is terrible but mostly because the PTA board does not properly utilize their volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%65%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 Altama Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 720-1676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crossroads Arlington
Jacksonville, FL






Hendricks Day School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT