Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 716 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2010

I currently attend SMS and things are different. We take books home and depending on who your teacher is then you wiil get assigned homework. I'm in 7th grade and have been at Southside since 6th.they have new administation and Mr.Emery (former 8th grade administation) is now vice principal :0 There have been less fights and we are wayy better than last year!!! This school is not 5 stars yet but getting there AKXL RIAS
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

My child atteneded Southside and I will forever regret it!!!! Now that he is in high school he is failing. Why?? Southside does nothing to instill any kind of study habits in the kids. Why?? Because they don't have homework because they have to keep the books at school. I can count on both hands the number of nights in 3 years that my son had homework!!! Absolutely ridiculous!!!!!! The teachers spend more time reporting kids for the stupidest things instead of dealing with them and moving on to teach class. The spanish teacher spent more time showing movies or throwing chairs in class than actually teaching class!! An absolute F school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I attended Southside Middle School for 6-8th Grade. Most Teachers are Great there are the handfull that act like the kids. The Administration at this school are Great they put a stop to things. Always willing to help! The only bad thing was in 8th Grade they say that they were preparing you for High school but the truth was that now im failing classes because the teachers that i had were treating you like 4th graders (Letting us keep our books in class ect. ). Otherwise GREAT School!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

I have several children who have attended this school and it has progressively gone down hill. Some students make life a living hell for others yet nothing gets done by administration. They seem more concerned about preserving the schools reputation than they do about the students who are victims of the violence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2008

To much vilolence and the school administrators are not well affecting the students rule breaking not alot is done..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have not been impressed at all with this school. I have not received answers to questions I asked over 2 months ago and I feel that my child and I are being ignored. My child made good grades last year at another school but I feel this year is going to be a struggle and it certainly isn't because he isn't intelligent. The Magnet schools have proven (in my experience) to be FAR superior in terms of parent/teacher involvement and attention given to the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

To many changes in personnel since 2006. This causes the school's climate to be unstable and not be a productive learning community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 15, 2008

The turnover rate in faculty and staff during the current administration's time at Southside is astronomical. From the head custodian, to the principal's secretary (4 of them), to numerous teachers, guidance counselors, and other staff members, Southside Middle School has lost valuable assets to, what once was, a wonderful place to teach. There are a great deal of folks who 'bled black & gold' for years, who have opted to move on by early retirement, transfering, or changing careers due to the demolition of the now forgotten, Knight culture.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 14, 2008

I have been going to this school now for about 2 years me personal I don't think this is a very safe school and also I think that they can do more to make it safe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

Faculty turnover rate is insane. No discipline. Administration focuses on only what will improve FCAT scores, not students intellectual development and becoming responsible high schoolers. Also, limited resources for new teachers and some classrooms. Really there is just too much to mention. Administration assigns administrative duties to regular teachers. Too much hear-say, no open communication between principal and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 26, 2007

this school is great. My child has kearned alot since she has been there, and she loves it. Teachers are friendly and nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

awsome is all i can say my cild loves it there. and im happy as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I went to southside for 2 1/2 years and I think its one of the best schools in Jacksonville. southside teachers and staff put the all students before themselves and try their best to help them in anything they can. I really believe that school and the academic levels are fair in everyway. the administrators are thoughtful and if I could go back I would... I really miss southside and I think it is a good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2007

I as a student here at southside middle that all teacher do not treat students equally as they should be. Ihave been attending this school for 2 years also there is 2 much violence used at this school(October25.07)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2007

Since my son has been at this school, all I hear from my son is how this teacher scares the kids into respeacting him but the kids dont. he has targeted my son & a friend of his and I went and had a conference with that teacher and principal. and no problems have occured since that. He has gone from standard to advanced and grades have come up, but no homework or books brought home. I went through alot of red tape to get him to this school thats out of the district. This school needs help or close it. Get more qualified 'teachers'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I am a 6th Grade Student at Southside Middle School, And this is my 6th week. My Teachers are very friendly, Kind, And understanding. If I do not get something, They are more than happy to help. Vice principle howard and Principle Hasty are also Very kind. And My Coach, Doesnt just have us learn the sport - He Tells us how it evolved Etc. You Can tell that the teachers there are there to teach - Not just to get a paycheck. Overall, I think this school is a Excellent school. Knights rule!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2006

This school is great! The teachers are friendly. Overall good experiance.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 27, 2005

Southside Middle School I think is a joke, my son went to school there and didnt really learn anything. The teachers are trying to get through the day with any trouble from the kids. I think the kids run that school, not the adults. I got involved as much as I could, it was like hitting my head on a brick way sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

this school is cool i love it here i feel as though i am part of a little community
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2004

My daughter and I moved here from Ohio and I feel that the staff here at this school made her feel right at home and they have helped her in so many ways to acheive her goals to improve her grades. I feel good knowing that my daughter is going to such a remarkable school so that she can learn with pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

259 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

252 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

313 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
25%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 36%
White 29%
Hispanic 22%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%65%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ZEINA KHANACHET
Fax number
  • (904) 739-5244

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2948 Knights Lane East
Jacksonville, FL 32216
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 739-5238

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broach School South
Jacksonville, FL




Keystone Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Keystone Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Hendricks Day School
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT