Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 792 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

I don't like this school, this school has no soap in the bathroom, get in trouble if were not on second tile ( which is dumb) , we have cameras that watch our every move, the books have inappropriate writing in it, the lunch ladies are mean, you can't walk to class by yourself. , & kids spit and/or sneeze in the water fountain I'm embarrassed to go to this school.... Please don't send your child to go here and if your child goes here I recommend that you don't tell people what school you go to


Posted November 5, 2013

I think that this school is okay, sure some things need to change here and there, but besides that it's great. It's my second year here, and I'm used to walking around the building with adults everywhere you go. This can make me feel like it's a prison not a school. It doesn't prepare us for highschool. The uniform is not very helpful either, most kids don't even wear them. They don't let us express ourselves enough. Some teachers are very helpful and enthusiastic, but others are noncaring. The bathrooms need soap, and we walk on second tile everywhere. In lunch we have to sit with our class (no sitting with outside friends), and whisper. In elementary we got to sit wherever and talk freely. I think it's just a littoe to strict. Besides these things, I think Arlington Middle is okay. Three stars Arlington, kudos. GO VIKINGS!!!!


Posted October 17, 2012

I dislike this school. the uniform dress code is really strict. you cant walk to you classes without a teacher, you can only use the bathroom when someone says, and no lockers. if your out of uniform, you get written up for a violation. this school isnt a strict as they are to the 6 graders. 7th and 8th graders are always out of uniform and they dont get in trouble. well if your a 6th grader and is out of uniform you get in bunches of trouble and gets written up.


Posted March 5, 2012

Lots of bullying at this school and nothing is ever done, if your child is quiet and latin watch out. Staff cares nothing about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Arlington middle school is the best middle school ever i ever went to and i graduated cause of Arlington middle.


Posted August 16, 2011

After a day and a half in a private school this year s it s become evident that my child got dumber for going to Arlington Middle. It s amazing how your kid gets a B average just for showing up. Never had homework or any type of challenging project, just had to be there so the school could get their money. Duval County spends who knows how much money on this web page that s for teachers and parents to communicate and none of the teachers use it! I take that back the only one that did was the music teacher. The best day was when I had to pick up my child for a dental appointment and it took the school over an hour to find him! And you will never guess where he was in his scheduled class. This school sucks and I want my tax money back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I think Arlington middle school is a great school my son goes their . he has a problem with a few kids but they have great teacher their if your kids go their they will be safe and have the right type of education they need . go Vikings
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I personally love this school, of course ive had a few problems with very little other kids at AMS but you can not find a school that there is not one problem. i give tis school ***** because its an excellent school the teachers assist me in all the areas i need help in and they even help me if im having problems outside of school. The school is clean,great principles,great security, and PHENOMENAL teachers!! GO VIKINGS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2009

Horrible administration and procedures. These people are here for the job not the students!!! Mom of 3~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

i would not recomend this school its horrible but great activitys not very fun niether
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

it is a very good school since dr. lisella came around.the grade has gone up.its a good school.try it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

My daughter is in 6th grade at this school. Even though I have lived in the surrounding neighborhood for years, I was very apprehensive about her starting middle school at Arlington Middle. However, we were pleasantly surprised! The new school is absolutely beautiful, and is kept very clean. The kids are escorted to every class by the previous class teacher, so they are never alone in the hallway; I am not sure that this is necessary, but it works. My daughter says that she feels safe walking to and from school, and that she has not witnessed any fighting etc. She is in advanced classes, loves her teachers and does not have tons of homework. The new principal thinks that this school will soon be an 'A' school....surprisingly, so do I !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

this school is okaay but the teachers think that they are our parents sometimes and we dont like it, but thats either here or there its a good school i just think teachers should be nicer and stop bossin us around because there not out parents there here to teach us not punish us and the teachers shouldent over load the kids on work either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

I have had no problems with this school to date. I know the resource officer at the school and he told me not to worry when my daughter started there due to the bad rep the school has had in the past. My daughter loves it and has begged me to let her go there next year since I had contemplated taking her out. Also, the teachers have been great and easily accesible and even offered to assist my daughter with help she needed before and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Good school, nice new facilitys, and the rules have taken fighting low and the grades of my children have improved since the nice facility was built. Over all great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

My son attends this school and overall, I'm impressed with his teachers. Majority go far and beyond to assist him, such as after school tutoring and open communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I truly agree with the previous comment...the school discipline guidelines is ridiculous...my daughter was punished for another students mis-behavior and I am continplating seriously to remove her from this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

My granddaughter attends Arlington Middle and I am extremely impressed with their new facility, the state of the art technology dept., the full range of extracurricular sports, and the overall caring nature of most of the faculty and staff. I am also impressed with the genuine concern they show about any special needs or issues that my granddaughter has. The teachers offer before and/or after school tutoring for any student needing extra help. Her teachers were very accessible for conferences and were totally honest about what my grandchild needed help with. I have read the other comments and I must say - that if those are true - the school has certainly changed a great deal since then. I highly recommend Arlington Middle School for any child moving into that area of Jacksonville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Arlington Middle School is building new facilities behind the old school. Other than that there is nothing else good I can say about this school. We have had numerous problems with bullying, our son's bike getting stolen from a fenced area (the bike chain-lock was cut) and just general lack of interest for learning by the majority of students who go to this school. I understand the teacher's and staff's hands are pretty much tied with disciplining the problem student's but we refuse to send our son back for another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

I have just moved to the area and I have two older children in this school. The school is very run down and their seems to be alot of fights and the staff don't seem to do much about the fighting in their school. My child had gone and approached the security officer at the school and told them of a problem she was having their and he overlooked the situtation as did the asst. principle and principle. The school is very nasty and dirty looking. My children have told me that the bathrooms wher dirty also. If I was moving to this area and my child would have to attend this school I really would reconsider my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
White 28% 42%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%65%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Linda Lisella
Fax number
  • (904) 720-1702

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8141 Lone Star Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32211
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 720-1680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

CBE Learning Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Amikids Jacksonville
Jacksonville, FL



Eagle Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT