Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

883 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arlington Middle School 3

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
Well, to begin with, this school is not preparing us to go anywhere in life. For example, second tile, teacher everywhere we go, etc. I do support the uniform for some reasons other than the fact that some kids do not have money to order/buy one. I support it because it prepares us for future jobs. Also, I dislike the fact that the some of the teachers work off a computer instead of helping the student and teaching them verbally and showing them how the job is done. I do not like that we have to walk everywhere around with a teacher because it gets US, as students, nowhere in life. It just makes the students thing that we need someone with us everywhere we go and that we cannot take care of ourselves. We are growing. I believe that a teacher walking around the elementary hallways with students would work. But for middle school? It's just outrageous! This is my third year going to Arlington Middle School and I have seen bullying here and there. The teachers/staff say that they are going to do something about bullying but I have not seen an improvement in all my years. Also, the teachers have no respect for the student. We may be students, but you have to give us the right the speak our mind and say what we need to say instead of giving us the wrong idea about a certain situation. I am not 3 years old. I believe my opinion is important and I'm pretty sure other students in this school think the same way as well. The thing that bothered me the most about this school would be the bathrooms. I have been through an emergency more than once that the teacher had not let me use the restroom. It is wrong for someone to hold you from your business. Anyways, other than all of these flaws that NEED to be corrected, I believe that I have actually learned something in this school. Thank you for all your commitment, staff, and keep up the good work. Go Vikings!

Arlington Middle School 4

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Well I live close and my 2'kids assist ams is been good for them and for me. Overall very good teachers and they care is team work ,and I'm Hispanic


Arlington Middle School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a community member
I don't like this school, this school has no soap in the bathroom, get in trouble if were not on second tile ( which is dumb) , we have cameras that watch our every move, the books have inappropriate writing in it, the lunch ladies are mean, you can't walk to class by yourself. , & kids spit and/or sneeze in the water fountain I'm embarrassed to go to this school.... Please don't send your child to go here and if your child goes here I recommend that you don't tell people what school you go to

Arlington Middle School 3

Posted November 05, 2013
- a community member
I think that this school is okay, sure some things need to change here and there, but besides that it's great. It's my second year here, and I'm used to walking around the building with adults everywhere you go. This can make me feel like it's a prison not a school. It doesn't prepare us for highschool. The uniform is not very helpful either, most kids don't even wear them. They don't let us express ourselves enough. Some teachers are very helpful and enthusiastic, but others are noncaring. The bathrooms need soap, and we walk on second tile everywhere. In lunch we have to sit with our class (no sitting with outside friends), and whisper. In elementary we got to sit wherever and talk freely. I think it's just a littoe to strict. Besides these things, I think Arlington Middle is okay. Three stars Arlington, kudos. GO VIKINGS!!!!

Arlington Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a community member
I dislike this school. the uniform dress code is really strict. you cant walk to you classes without a teacher, you can only use the bathroom when someone says, and no lockers. if your out of uniform, you get written up for a violation. this school isnt a strict as they are to the 6 graders. 7th and 8th graders are always out of uniform and they dont get in trouble. well if your a 6th grader and is out of uniform you get in bunches of trouble and gets written up.


Arlington Middle School 1

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
Lots of bullying at this school and nothing is ever done, if your child is quiet and latin watch out. Staff cares nothing about this.

Arlington Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a community member
Arlington middle school is the best middle school ever i ever went to and i graduated cause of Arlington middle.

Arlington Middle School 1

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
After a day and a half in a private school this year s it s become evident that my child got dumber for going to Arlington Middle. It s amazing how your kid gets a B average just for showing up. Never had homework or any type of challenging project, just had to be there so the school could get their money. Duval County spends who knows how much money on this web page that s for teachers and parents to communicate and none of the teachers use it! I take that back the only one that did was the music teacher. The best day was when I had to pick up my child for a dental appointment and it took the school over an hour to find him! And you will never guess where he was in his scheduled class. This school sucks and I want my tax money back.


Arlington Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
I think Arlington middle school is a great school my son goes their . he has a problem with a few kids but they have great teacher their if your kids go their they will be safe and have the right type of education they need . go Vikings

Arlington Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a student
I personally love this school, of course ive had a few problems with very little other kids at AMS but you can not find a school that there is not one problem. i give tis school ***** because its an excellent school the teachers assist me in all the areas i need help in and they even help me if im having problems outside of school. The school is clean,great principles,great security, and PHENOMENAL teachers!! GO VIKINGS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arlington Middle School
8141 Lone Star Road, Jacksonville, FL  32211
(904) 720-1680
Last modified Arlington Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arlington Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top