Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Justina Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

My wife and I moved here from out of state and were disappointed to find out we could not participate in the choice program midway through the semester. I reluctantly enrolled my 4 children into justina. The school struggles structurally from the get go. Took them a week to get my children's records because their fax machine was down. My youngest sons kindergarten teacher was inappropriate with the "advice" she gave us about our son in his daily folder. Come to find out, after complaining, that she was just a long term substitute and would not be coming back. Overall Justinas staff is trying very hard an my kids benefitted from all the extra funding and free turtoting and extended school hours! The main problem is the other parents of students at this school. Of 300 student's parents I'd say about 20% of them are actually involved and invested in their children. Justina has a great staff now in place with a great leader as their principal but they can't do it own their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Justina Road elementary school is awesome. I don't have a child that attends. But I do have two nephews that attend. I have been to the school several times to attend graduations. Just from being at the graduation I can see that the teachers are very concerned and involved with the students well-being and wanting them to succeed not only in school but in life. They are very much involved and also want parents and family members to be involved. They thrive for the best of the students. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to succeed and thrive for the best.


Posted September 25, 2009

This is the first year that my kids are at Justina Road Elem. From what I can see, the school administartion is very eager to help these students excel. They just need backing from the parents. Which is one of the reasons I joined the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I had my doubts about the school since it scored so low in the grading system last year. My son was placed in Justina on a mix up and honestly its the best thing that has happened to him. He is a bright boy and need the proper support to succeed. My child is an ESE student and he requires lots of attention and assistance. Every teacher I have ever spoken to know my son by name and that is a great thing in a school. The teachers are very personable. Justina was a horrible school in my view but now that my son is attending I realize that its a hard working school and their grade will reflect all of the hard work put into the children there. Go Jaguars!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

A great school. At first it wasn't good but later on through the years it turned great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

My child has been at this school for 3 years and I have seen major changes. This school is consistently improving. They have a hard working, dedicated staff who are child centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

We have seen NO evidence of the magnet program in this school. Even though we have had several parent/teacher and office visits, despite our requests, the principal has never been in contact with us. We are removing our child when the year is over. We came here for a magnet that didn't deliver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

This school has helped my child build her confidence and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

Justina is a wonderful school. The efforts the teachers and the staff make to educate these children is remarkable. After recently visiting a PTA meeting at Justina i was nothing short of amazed. It was a wonderful experience and i encourage more parents to take part in their childrens education. It can do nothing but improve their own childs experience and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

The 2002-2003 school year was the first year my son attended Justina. My son and I started the year off in a positive and excited manner, as usual. I encourage my son to love to learn and follow rules. My son has ADHD and Bipolar disorder, however he does not have a learning disability. Unfortunately, the teacher he was assigned to did not treat my son fairly. Whenever she had an issue with him she always recommended his medication be increased or enroll him in the ESE class. Through hard work, determination and cooperation with the teachers, counselors, and psychologists my son was reassigned to a new teacher and improved a great deal in his learning. My son was tested and he received an average to above average results in all his academics. What really astonished me was that he ranked as 7th grade in reading and comprehension. I really commend all the teachers at Justina. I will not let one apple spoil the bunch. Justina has my vote.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I have 2 children entering 2nd grade at Justina Rd. Elementary. At this level, I find reading to be a major focus and the children thrive on it. 4 out of the 5 teachers that my children have had thus far have been wonderful. One of my girls is in the ESE (Special Education) program. This program leaves much to be desired in my opinion. The principal claims she has much experience with ESE and claims to have been at one time in control of the ESE program. That being the case, you would think this program would be up to par. On the other hand, both of my girls are in the 'Can Do' program, which has done a world of good for them! These people are kind, loving, and understanding to the children and appear to really love working with and helping these kids. Keep up the great work! With improvement in the ESE program, it is my opinion that this school would be a much better place for learning. Sincerely, Justina Road Parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 80%
Hispanic 11%
White 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%65%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. VIOLET STOVALL
Fax number
  • (904) 745-4947

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3101 Justina Road
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 745-4909

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT