Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Davis Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1050 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2009

this school is realy great since the new principal has came i am doing realy great
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

I think the school is getting better but I wish there was more after school clubs not just team up, which is more after school babysitting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

It is not a terrible school. It has Improved a lot since the New Principal had set up the 0 tolerance standard. Fights rarely ever occur,and i'm actually doing much better at this school than my last In Clay County,and i'm in all advanced.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

There are few good hard working teachers, the principle pushes the teachers to do well. Other than that i really don;t care for this school, most of the teachers don't care about the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

My 7th grader goes to this school, he is in all advanced classes and has an 8th grade math class. I can tell you that they treat him just like they treat the student that misbehave. My son has never had less than a 4 on his FCAT ever, so its not because of the school that he does well, its his parents. The personel never returns phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

i was a student here at jefferson davis and i can tell you that you would not want to send your kid over there. the teachers dont care they pay little attention to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I totally agree with all the previous comments. This school has gone down so much. My child is currently in the 6th grade and I have had more problems with her teachers this year than any other. Most of these teachers are not focused on teaching our kids. For the most part the best teachers at the school are Ms. Ellis and Ms. Wilson. Kudos to them, wish everyone else cared about our kids learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

This School shows a poor ethic standard and as a Education liason I feel this school should be evaluated on a 90 day term until the standards are reached.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The only good thing about this school is the assistant principal he really tries hard to help the students turn around. I hope he is able to reach more students before the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

i was a student here, this is the worst school I ever attendented. they ignored us students, they would give us assignments but would not teach us about them first. they were clearly not concerned about out future at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

The only good thing about this school is the principal. He is strong and pushes the teachers to do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I understand the school has alot of special needs kids,but they don't have their own classes.Instead they put a special teacher in the class to try to teach them while the regular teacher is trying to teach kids on level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I would like to thank Ms. Ellis for all her help. For staying after school for tutoring. I feel that she cares for her kids. I know if she was not there that my child would not have made it. I would like to thank my sons other teacher for calling and keeping me informed. Thank you... I feel that the teachers are doing the best for our kids. And as a parent we need to keep intouch with what our kids are doing.thank you again Melinda Wallace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

this school is definately not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This school has not been concerned about my child at all. The teachers are always out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Teachers average 3-5 days to return a phone call. Concern for their students seem to be minimal. Patience among staff is low and uncooperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

357 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
White 21%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHILENE SINGLETON
Fax number
  • (904) 573-1066

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7050 Melvin Road
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-1060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Waverly Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT