Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Davis Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1050 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2014

This school is among the worst of any in duval county. Bullying is not taking serious. The teachers are COWARDS as well as the administration. The staff from the top to the bottom are only interested in collecting a check and not about the well being of the students. Couldn't get my child out of there faster enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

Its funny they have great teacher and great programs for all students. If you have any problems with students bullying or being mean you tell a teacher and the teacher will help write away. Well that's all I have to say about Jefferson Davis Middle School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

The faculty and staff in the Cambridge program at Jefferson Davis Middle school are wonderful! My son is currently in the 8th grade Cambridge program and we couldn't be happier with his experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

My daughter is currently enrolled in the Cambridge Program. She first started in the AVID program but during her 8th grade she was picked to enter into the Cambridge program. My daughter has learned so much in these programs. She is in advanced courses such as Geometry and Trigonmometry and shes only an 8 th grader..very impressive to us. She is also apart of the NJHS and she has excelled very well. Over the Jefferson Middle School has been a great experience for her..my husband and I were skeptical in her attending this neighborhood school since it had a bad reputation but the school is nothing that we heard. The teachers their are very kind, helpful and very supportive with the children. Overall a great experience for her and us...Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

My son is a student in the Cambridge program and we love the school! The teachers, principal and vice principals really care about the success of the students and go to great lengths to ensure they succeed. They also do a great job keeping parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My son is currently in the AVID/Cambridge program. I am very pleased with the great leadership in that program. I see a true caring for the kids from the coordinator and the teachers. They are all doing a wonderful job of preparing the students for high school, college, and life :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

We shared with the principal at one point, that Jefferson Davis Middle School was not our first choice for our son. I had heard rumors about how rough a school JDMS was. Our experience proves that one should not listen to such rumors and should get the facts straight for themselves. Once we attended the Open House we felt a little better. We just decided to make the best of what we thought was a mediocre school. We found out about all the available opportunities and our son was accepted into AVID and later the Cambridge Program where he's excelled! He was called by the magnet program for an opening. We researched it, talked to him about it, but by that time, we were all so excited and anticipatory about attending JDMS that we turned it down! When we attended Open House we're so pleased with our son s teachers. So far, his and our experience has been positive and we look forward to the rest of his time at JDMS! We know their jobs as educators are not easy because they are so much more than that and we thank you, again, for your career choices and dedication to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My son is currently an 8th grade student in the Cambridge Program. From the moment the program was introduced to him, I saw the positive attitude change and the shift in pride for his middle school. There was something to respect, not just about himself for being selected, but his neighborhood school now stood out in a positive way. He has been very pleased with his Cambridge teachers and their curriculum and so have I. He continues to keep an ever popular outlook about his future and I attribute a lot of that to the Jefferson Davis Middle School Cambridge Program!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

My son currently attends this school as a 6th grader, and i am currently looking to enroll him in another next year. The environment at this school is awful and my son constantly complains of bullying and feeling unsafe. He wants to attend another school. While my son attends all advance classes, i was shock to see how little the teacher cared. The school is poor about updating the grading portal and when asked about teaching plans and grades, they are act like you are questioning there ability to teach. I would not recommend this school to anyway. Then again, if you live in the zone, your choices are limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

The teachers seem to have minimal interest in the students. They never return phone calls, they ignore you when you walk into the building. If the children aren't doing well in their class, they seem to think it's not their problem. Many times I have come to pick my children up early for doctor's appointments and the like, and the staff simply allows the children to come with me, without even asking who I am, checking a list, or asking for ID. There are fights and bullying everyday. My children complain they don't feel safe, and the teachers don't care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

I was a student at jd for 3 years and i would not recommend that anyone attend this school. Not only is the staff very uncoaporative and not in the best intrest for the students but the students themselves do not have the best interest and i am from that area so i do blame the area its the faculty i blame.


Posted April 28, 2010

I attended this school as a kid and trully believe given the neighborhood that this school could use the money to buy new books, provide adequate air conditioning and cleaner hallways. I love the school staff. They really care for the children.


Posted February 22, 2010

Thiss year i dont like the structered movement! it made me change schools for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I used to go to JD from sixth to eighth grade,the teachers aren't so bad,but it really depends on whether or not the child stays out of the wrong crowd.I stayed with people that only wanted the best for me. When I went there Davis was the principal and he knew just how to keep us in line but still keep the environment pretty good. It's really just the head of grades principals, like the seventh grade head.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

we have wonderfull teacherz {most of them}
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2009

it is the the best school for chilldern and better if u have a african american child want to be a dotor or scientist this school has a 97 grade
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2009

this school is really great. yes there are fight but there are going to be fights at every school. the teachers are wonderful. they help us students in so many ways
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

my 2 children went here, this school is horrible, teacher communication is awful, fights almost everyday, there is no stability, they have to share their text books, don't have enough so my children can bring them home and study. its rediculous. they will not be there next year..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

my skool is the best and i make good grades with with the class i'm in so the duval county should give them a rise and their eletive class are a real lesson 4 me . But i wish for us to get out earlyer than 4:15 most likly 2 and go in at 6 in the moring like balwind middle/ high
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

i love jd cuz it is fun and i especially love ms andrews and mrs daniels cuz they teach me alot.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

341 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

357 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
White 21%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHILENE SINGLETON
Fax number
  • (904) 573-1066

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7050 Melvin Road
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-1060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Waverly Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT