Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Mateo Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 751 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

This school is horrible, my son had the worst kindergarden ever. I will never go back. If your family don't have enough money your marked. Our schools have totally lost why they are here. Its for the KIDS...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

I have had my child at this school since grade K. The first couple of years, the school was awesome and we loved it. Then we lost our Principal and got a new one (Vice Principal promoted). Since then, our FCAT scores have dropped and now our school grade has dropped. All we hear now is the FCAT scores changed. New Berlin and Sheffield remained "A" schools! The school has lost many teachers in the past two years as well....good teachers. They cannot take the Principal anymore, which was a huge loss for this school. The teacher moral is so low that it makes it hard to teach these kids. I love the teachers though. They are all wonderful and love what they are doing. If I wasn't on my last year there, I would have pulled my child out. Yes....I would pull my child out of a "magnet" school. That tells you how bad it has gotten the last 2 yrs. There are many students that have been pulled from this school by parents after applying just to get in as "magnet" status. Not to mention, what I found out through public records what this Principal makes per year ($80,000.00) and the school is going downhill.......sad.....truly sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

I think San Mateo Elementary is a great school as I went there, my children went there and now my grand daughter is going there. I do wish the school could get the funds to add more classes so there is not so many students in a class.


Posted May 29, 2009

Hi! I love this school. I have 3 children that attend this school. My oldest son will be in the 5th grade this upcoming school year 2009-2010 and he has been here since Kindergarten. My other son will be in the 3rd grade this upcoming school year and my daughter will be in the 2nd grade. I have truly enjoyed each teacher who has been a part of their excellence at this school which includes: Mrs. Parker, Mrs. Davis, Mrs. Lay(J)/Mckinney, Mrs. G/Cox,Mrs. Shaw/Smith, Mrs. Mac(Bowman), and also Mrs. Christmas who has definitely been a great support system for me and my daughter who was struggling when she first began 1st grade but she has went from a 'B' in reading all the way to an 'I' and I know that if it was not for her caring and support she would not be where she is. THANKS ALL OF YOU!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

All three of my sons have attended San Mteo. My youngest leaves the fifth grade this year. We have had some wonderful years here. I'll miss everyone. The principal and teachers have been great. The front office staff are very helpful. Thank You for some wonderful years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

San Mateo is outstanding and great school! Thank You to the faculty and staff who help make it that way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I love this school. It is great, my daughter just graduated from the 1st grade (Ms. Shaw/Ms. Smiths class). She has excelled beyond my imagination. She is well above the reading level required to move onto the 2nd grade and she is also a Math Superstar. Kudos go out to the teachers of San Mateo and the principal for taking such super care and also for doing what they do best, TEACH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

San Mateo is a great school. My son is in Grade 1 (Ms Shaw/Ms. Smith) and has progressed so well under their leadership. He loves to go to school everyday, reads above grade level and is a Maths superstar. My daughter is in K (Ms Parker's class) and I'm amazed at how well she reads. She's a work in progres in Maths but I'm sure Ms. Shaw and Ms. Smith will take care of that next year. I will also like to commend Ms. Kemp, the school principal, who does her best to work with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

We have been very pleased with teachers in grades K-3 and hope to continue a good education for our children through 5th. Parent involvement is good and PTA does an exceptional job. Support staff is always helpful. I would like to see the grounds, especially in front of the school, better taken care of cosmetically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

My daughter is finishing up kindergarten this year. I am very happy with San Mateo. I am amazed at how well she can read. I think she has had a great teacher (Mrs. Parker) who's main concern is the children's education. Also they have programs and activities which keep the students interested. San Mateo has alot of parental involvement. My daughter loves to go to school and come home and show me what she has learned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I am a parent at San Mateo Elementary School. To expand our parent involvement we now have an AllProDads program for fathers and their children. San Mateo provides a safe and nurturing learning environment for our children. My children have been their for 4 years and I have been extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My daughter is now entering 2nd grade here at San Mateo Elem. I think she has had a wonderful experience at this school. The teachers really care about the students education and well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

San Mateo is a wonderful school.My girls have gone there for the last 3 years and they love it.Yes it is a small school but they are growing.They have a wonderful gifted program and are also there to help when there is a child with a learning disability.Even if we move out of San Mateo district I will still keep my chidren enrollled there
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Black 31%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Baisden Road
Jacksonville, FL 32218
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 696-8750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Little Country School
Jacksonville, FL





Love for Learning Academy
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT