Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

706 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Mateo Elementary School 2

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
In the past 5 years, 3 different principal's and different staff. Think there's bullying from kids and STAFF. No staff should tell a student they have a headache from looking at a student! Alot of snobby people.

San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
It's a great school. We've enjoyed our time here and so have our kids. Great staff and Principal!


San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
I have two great grandchildren at San Mateo. Six years and I feel it's a great school. The children love all the teachers and staff. we feel free to get any help or questions answered. They really care about our kids and their education.

San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter first and fifth grader love it here. Teachers are wonderful here very hands on and very hands on.

San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is great. Best teachers in Jacksonville. A great school for young children to grow and learn.


San Mateo Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible, my son had the worst kindergarden ever. I will never go back. If your family don't have enough money your marked. Our schools have totally lost why they are here. Its for the KIDS...

San Mateo Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
I have had my child at this school since grade K. The first couple of years, the school was awesome and we loved it. Then we lost our Principal and got a new one (Vice Principal promoted). Since then, our FCAT scores have dropped and now our school grade has dropped. All we hear now is the FCAT scores changed. New Berlin and Sheffield remained "A" schools! The school has lost many teachers in the past two years as well....good teachers. They cannot take the Principal anymore, which was a huge loss for this school. The teacher moral is so low that it makes it hard to teach these kids. I love the teachers though. They are all wonderful and love what they are doing. If I wasn't on my last year there, I would have pulled my child out. Yes....I would pull my child out of a "magnet" school. That tells you how bad it has gotten the last 2 yrs. There are many students that have been pulled from this school by parents after applying just to get in as "magnet" status. Not to mention, what I found out through public records what this Principal makes per year ($80,000.00) and the school is going downhill.......sad.....truly sad.

San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2010
- a community member
I think San Mateo Elementary is a great school as I went there, my children went there and now my grand daughter is going there. I do wish the school could get the funds to add more classes so there is not so many students in a class.


San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Hi! I love this school. I have 3 children that attend this school. My oldest son will be in the 5th grade this upcoming school year 2009-2010 and he has been here since Kindergarten. My other son will be in the 3rd grade this upcoming school year and my daughter will be in the 2nd grade. I have truly enjoyed each teacher who has been a part of their excellence at this school which includes: Mrs. Parker, Mrs. Davis, Mrs. Lay(J)/Mckinney, Mrs. G/Cox,Mrs. Shaw/Smith, Mrs. Mac(Bowman), and also Mrs. Christmas who has definitely been a great support system for me and my daughter who was struggling when she first began 1st grade but she has went from a 'B' in reading all the way to an 'I' and I know that if it was not for her caring and support she would not be where she is. THANKS ALL OF YOU!

San Mateo Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
All three of my sons have attended San Mteo. My youngest leaves the fifth grade this year. We have had some wonderful years here. I'll miss everyone. The principal and teachers have been great. The front office staff are very helpful. Thank You for some wonderful years.

Nearby schools

San Mateo Elementary School
600 Baisden Road, Jacksonville, FL  32218
(904) 696-8750
Last modified San Mateo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top