Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph Stilwell Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2014
- a teacher
This has been a great year at Stilwell! The entire administrative staff is dedicated to supporting the academic climate. They are always out in the hallways and in classrooms, making sure that students and teachers have what they need to be successful. There is no better school on the westside. With structured movement, dedicated teachers and staff and a majority of our parents who care, you need to see Stilwell again with new eyes! Come by and ask our principal, Mr. Bloom, for a peek. You'll be pleasantly surprised.

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 1

Posted April 12, 2014
- a community member
Bullying is downright rampant at this school. Someone I know was bullied all the time here and no one has any sense to do a thing about it.


Joseph Stilwell Middle School 1

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
No to impressed with this school. They do nothng to solve their problem with fights. very text book procedures. No one going above to care or solve any problems. I wish nothing more than to get my son out of that school.

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 4

Posted August 29, 2012
- a teacher
New leadership...new school. Thank you for sending a real principal who cares about the safety and success of teachers and students!

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 4

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Keep something in mind; out of the hundreds and hundreds of students to attend this school each year, there are only a small handful of comments. The people who come online to post comments about school such as Stillwell are ones who feel they have a bone to pick, or a need. In many larger cities, some inner city schools receive hundreds of negative comments per year. Stillwell is an average school. Troublemakers will find trouble, bullies will bully, and the week and timid will still be picked on. This is a recurring theme in all American public schools, not just this one. The racial ratio is nearly even at Stillwell, and there have been very few serious incidents over the years. There really isn't a better public middle school on the West side of Jacksonville. If you still fear for your child's safety, home school them, put them in private school, or move. That pretty much summarizes your options.i


Joseph Stilwell Middle School 4

Posted July 18, 2012
- a community member
Well I was a student from Stilwell I am now goin to highschool but Stilwell is not a bad school we have some bad students like every other school in duval county stilwell does not have drug activity and there is no bullies at our school almost everyone get along with each other but like every other school there our fights but only a few fights but if your child can stay focus and out of drama then they can go to do this school or any other school

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a community member
Poorly manged School in dire need of attention. Onging apathy towards parents, teachers, and children. Needs better leadership and organization.

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a teacher
I'm a substitute teacher and I've had the displeasure of working at Stilwell several times. I'm not sure where to begin. The administration is a joke. They refuse to back up their regular staff, let alone temporary staff members like myself. The students are retched little monsters. Their in-class behavior is atrocious. The lesson plans left for me were a joke. Watch a video, listen to a CD player read your history textbook to you, sit there and do nothing while an assistant tells about his glory days. I've had harder assignments in my elementary school classes. Before you put your child in Stilwell, take a good look around to see if you can find a better school.


Joseph Stilwell Middle School 1

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
I would give this school a -1. This is one of the worst middleschools in Duval county. The children are out of control, violence is rampant and drug activity takes place. If you aren't with the bullies, you are a target to be bullied. Many talks with the on campus police and the admistrative staff and yet nothing really changes. It's a shame that parents who actually parent have to subject their kids to this kind of abuse. I would suggest you really take a hard look at this school and the type of kids you see running around out of control before you assume your child is safe here or even getting an education. It's pretty aparent this school has issues just by the fact they have a hired police officer on stand by. Parents pay attention to your kids. Facebook is where these kids start a lot of the violence that carries over into the school yard. Teach your kids to speak up for eachother when it comes to bullies. Many of these kids see things and never say a word because the parents don't ask and they are afraid. Get involved and encourage your child to be their own person.

Joseph Stilwell Middle School 3

Posted February 21, 2012
- a community member
I am a student at stilwell and i have to say that while it is'nt a terrable school if you are a priss and dont have friends here it will probably be a rougher experience.There is alot of drama but it if you stay out of it and dont have a big mouth it will be alot easier on you.I love Stilwell and will say that we are inproving.Our new principal is NOT the best but were hoping to get rid of her soon.Your experience with the teachers depends on what teachers you get.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph Stilwell Middle School
7840 Burma Road, Jacksonville, FL  32221
(904) 693-7523
Last modified Joseph Stilwell Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joseph Stilwell Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top