Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,040 students|Duval
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Beauclerc Elementary School 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been bullied since the beginning of the school year. Nothing has been done for her. I've pushed and fought and have gotten no where. I'm told it will be handled by the code of conduct.. obviously they don't have one of those. The techers push her away instead of helping her by telling her to "suck it up". She is EIGHT And scared. They do not commicate any of the daily issues my child deals with, my child tells me. It's a teachers job to protect and comfort my child when I can not. (I'm aware they have many children) I'm VERY disappointed with this school and how they handle things. If we are zoned for this school next year, I WILL drive my kids some where else.

Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in the Dual Language program at Beauclerc and I am very happy with it. Currently she is in 2nd grade and has been at this school since Kindergarten. I have no intentions of moving her to another school.


Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
My son is entering his third year at Beauclerc and we love it. In fact we moved to be closer to the school after his first year. He's in the optional Dual-Language program so he's learning to read and write in Spanish in addition to English. He's making amazing progress and is always happy to go to school. Many days it's hard to tear him away from the Extended Day program.

Beauclerc Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
i can't wait to get mt daughter out of this school and into a charter school!

Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
I am so glad that I decided to put my child in the dual language program at Beauclerc last year. By the end of kindergarten she was already reading and writing on grade level in Spanish! The dual language teachers are so caring, passionate and devoted to their students. I love that the dual language program creates its own smaller community within the school! Also, the new art teacher this year is amazing!!


Beauclerc Elementary School 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed in this school, my child was in the dual language program this year and had an over all horrible experience the first half of the school year, his teacher thought it was appropriate to rip up papers that the children did not do correctly. We teach our children better manners and not to bully other children what happens when teachers bully our children?? My child had a severe lack of confidence, crying a lot and an overall lack of interest (depressed if you will) . I had no idea what was going on until I hear that the teacher was basically humiliating children in front of there classmates. Needless to say I pulled my child from that class when I found out the teaching style of this individual and my child soared through the rest of the year and I'm happy to say has his self confidence back as well as a new outlook on school!! If you read this and you know how you are you should be ashamed of yourself, if you don't like your job step a side and let other teachers that want to teach our children have a chance...

Beauclerc Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
I thought this was a great school...I was wrong. I am not too sure the faculty cares for the students. What I have seen thus far is inconsistancy of the expectation from the student, lack of genuine care for the progress of the student, and overall lack of self discipline from the teachers. Is it right for a teacher to say shut-up to a child under any circumstances? What about to the extent of taping a childs feet to the floor with duck-tape because he is hyper-active...what about taking the children outside and having recess once a day for an energy release so that the children may concentrate better. Since when does a teacher decide to have recess inside the classroom everyday because it's too hot for the "teachers" to go outside? mmh...I wonder to whose benifit it is to stay inside all the time. Would I recommend this school? "NO"

Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
This school has been great to both my daughter and my son. Not only do the teachers become very involved, but the assistants make a huge difference as well. Hartless/Gibbons/Peck will forever be someone my daughter looks up to. The things that parents try to teach their children at home sometimes get blown off, well because we are the parents :), have been taught here at this school and it means the world to a lot of parents. Thank you everyone on staff because everyday you make a difference in a lot of lives. Kudos to all of you.


Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
My son is going into 1st grade. He started his school experience with a great teacher ( Queen Hicks ) He wants to take her with him every year. I hope his 1st grade teacher is as great as his Kindergarten teacher. We will miss Queen Hicks!!!

Beauclerc Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2009
- a parent
My son is finishing his last year at Beauclerc. He started with a wonderful kindergarten experience (Queen Hicks) and ended with a wonderful 5th grade experience (Mr Gibbons & Mrs Whitelaw). 1st grade was rough due to the teacher which messed up his 2nd year too. He rebounded when he got Mrs. Costiloe in the 3rd grade. Overall, Beauclerc is a great school. I HIGHLY recommend the teachers I have mentioned!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beauclerc Elementary School
4555 Craven Road West, Jacksonville, FL  32257
(904) 739-5226
Last modified Beauclerc Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Beauclerc Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top