Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandalwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 2978 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2006

I do not recommend this high school, even though all high schools are going down hill. This school is unorganized. School is very old and needs to be torn down and remodeled.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2006

Sandalwood was a great school whenIi attended. Many extracurricular activities & programs offered. Some include work programs, and available dual enrollemnt for college credit.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2006

I am highly disappointed in Sandalwood. First of all, there are too many students to properly educate our children. Secondly, I have come to realize that all students are not treated the same. There are students who get punishment for things that other kids do not. During class there are numerous students walking around the halls without hall passes. Some are punished others are not. Don't get me wrong, this is not a race related bias. Personally, I believe that the security guards, who regulate the halls, allow some students to slide by without a pass for whatever reason and then other students are punished. There are wonderful teachers at Sandalwood and there are horrible ones just like anywhere else. I regret that it is the only neighborhood choice for my child. The principal is new so I hope that she can make positive changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I find that the teachers are willing to help students if the student is willing to meet them half way. However I have found following through on disipline is slow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

The academic programs are week. There are extracurricular activities and parents are not very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

Well the school promotes it's students to play sparts and sandalwood has on of the best sports teams in florida. I find that the administration is kind of wacky, with the rules they imlement, but the school overall is a decent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2005

I feel that sandalwood high school is a very apropriate school for my child to be atttending because I have met the teachers and they really are trying to help the students pass. Other schools teachers may have there degree but they dont really care weather the student passes or fails cause eather way they are still getting paid. Sandalwood in my opion has one of the best bands and choirs though you rairly hear from the choir now. The real problem with the school is the parents of the children who go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

A large urban school, ninth and tenth grades organized into communities. Offers exceptional education in a mainstreamed environment. Good honors program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2005

Very diverse therefore lots of opinions flying around. But other than that its ok
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

Too crowded, not enough teachers to work with students where needed. Hour lunch was great. Way for one on one tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

Great teachers. School needs work to motivate kids. Parents need to be more involved with kids. Alot of kids here have learning problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

Great teachers that work hard and are committed to the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

It's my experience that the administration of this school, including the guidance office, don't know what is going on. No one can give you a correct answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

I have had nothing but trouble with son at this overrated, overpopulated, undermonitored school. Too little staff, too little guidance, too little parent/teacher communication when issues are arising. I have really had to struggle, and my very bright boy is foundering because the public school system can't teach and guide our kids and won't go out of their way to communicate with parents when issues are coming up - until it's too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Large high school with plenty of extracurricular activities. Honor classes are well taught, but discipline and learning in regular ed is hit or miss.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2005

I'm a parent. My child attended Sandalwood for 6 months. I thank god I was able to get my child out of that school! After checking Sandalwood on the internet, I had a good picture of this school in my head. I was horrified when I brought my child for his 1st day & vowed to get him out of there. The internet information was so wrong. The kids are the ones who run that school. The teachers are not the brightest. There's 'no' homework. There have been many lockdowns & serious fights where security & teachers have been hurt. In January (2005)kids were running through the halls out of control. Students are allowed to leave school grounds during lunch. I am so glad my child is out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

most of the students are very intelligent students, the majority of the bad things doesnt reflect the good things of the minority. The school needs to toughen up its school security, and enforce more anti-violence policies if it has any at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 16, 2005

I have attended Sandalwood High as well as several siblings. The school is very crowded! The hallways are cluttered and the classrooms are very very small. The new addition to the Freshman Inst. is a good idea for students who are not up to state educational standards, though this singles them out so everyone knows they are not as well educated. Extracurricular activities are limited currently from the choices in the past years. The crime, violence and other behavior of the students is high due to the overcrowding and limited funds for classes such as: art, music, drama, computer, and other interest specific courses. This school has gone down hill and is still sinking, send your child elsewhere!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 20, 2004

Like many schools Sandalwood is overcrowded and was not looking forward to my kids attending it. However they have dealt pretty well with the constraints and they have some good leadership in house. The grounds and the bulding itself could use some work and are not the cleanest. They do offer a decent amount of extra curricular activities bu there are many students vying for spots. The average scores for SAT, FCAT and ACT are not very good but they do offer honors courses and advanced placement where the students do much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

I believe that the standardized testing is about the most insane thing I have ever done. We students spend the entire year studying for F-cat, having information crammed down our throats specifically for the purpose of passing a test. The school has made it so that the students don't care anymore about what it is they are not learning, but we simply try to retain information so we can pass F-cat at the end of the year. I personally am tired of memorizing information for a test, and learning nothing. Plenty of people at this school can barely read, and if they can, then it is at a pace that a first grader would read at. Teach us something! Don't just make us memorize to pass one test!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

719 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

675 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

702 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

796 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
33%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

721 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

607 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
54%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

646 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Black 28%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 73%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%65%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. VICTORIA SCHULTZ
Fax number
  • (904) 646-5126

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Lacrosse
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 John Prom Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32246
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 646-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Harvest Community School
Jacksonville, FL



American Institute
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT