Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Caroline Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 668 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I went to FCMS 6-8 and I have to say I love that school out of high school and elementary middle truly was the best I mean fort is a great school I like how the school is controlled and not kaotic... .


Posted August 19, 2012

WHAT EVAH.....This was and still is a good school! Teachers and students sre amazing! How many students can you find that say they don't like Fort Caroline Middle Scool...... I'll wait


Posted July 3, 2012

Fort Caroline really needs to promote its IB program better if they want to attract better students. Take a look at their web site - it barely mentions the IB program! I believe it has great potential with this new program, if they'd only push it more. Take a look at how Julia Landon completely turned itself around after becoming a college prep magnet. It can be done. The difference is promoting the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

As a parent of three children who have traveled through the halls of Ft. Caroline, I see tremendous improvement in the climatee, atmosphere, and instruction at the Ft. since becomming an IB magnet school. The referral rate reported to the PTA/SAC has dropped in half since the new Principal came on board and the uniforms keep unauthorized people out. Every day the climate seems to improve and my youngest daughter comes home frequently speaking with great enthusiam about the exciting, challenging lessons she is doing in her classes. I think Ft. Caroline is moving up and I am happy to see the improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

my son attened this school for 2 years and the teachers are lazy when you call them you have to leave a message but they never ever return your calls thank god he will be going to a different school and my other son will not have to attened this school if you can get them out of there a very concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I have been going to this school for 2 years now. I started out the first year when it turned into an IB school. I seriously do not like this school. If someone gets bullied you can never count on most of the teachers to stop it. There are a select few of teachers that actually care about our education and not just about there salary.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2010

I hate that my child is in this school all they do is fight in this school and the children have no resepct for others or themself the school is not safe you can go inside and walk all over the school without any one saying a thing to you sad.


Posted February 26, 2010

Fort Caroline Middle School provides students with a safe learning environment, and the school has thrived in showing it. At Fort Caroline, teachers encourage students to work and succeed at their goals. For the three years I went to the school I watched the school continue to improve. My last year attending Fort Caroline, it turned into an International Baccalaureate School, and the school has continued to succeed throughout the years. I loved the learning experience there, and this has prepared me for Paxon SAS. Thank you to all the wonderful and supporting teachers and staff members. -Avery G.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2009

I have 2 children that attend Ft Caroline Middle School, and I am DESPERATE to get them out of there. There is nothing but fighting, both at the school and at the bus stops. The teachers, save a select few are more interested in the gossip about each other and the kids, than the future of these kids. They force kids to wear uniforms, however do nothing when students destroy other students clothing by pushing them down, or putting gum on their seats. Both of my children are failing since arriving at the school, which we have never had a problem with, and this is a great concern. I think that all the teachers need to be removed from this school as well as the principals, and that we need to have new persons teaching the children, or they need to shut this school down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

Fort caroline is the best!!!!!as long as you mind your buisness and not one of those type of people that talk about others behind there backs you will love it.This is my second year there and the teachers are really nice and so is the principal
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

great enviorment for teens mi son begged me to go back da
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

This school is a huge disappointment to the community it serves. Fort Caroline lacks the ability to offer its students a safe environment and ethical, competent leaders. The Principle, Assistant Principles and Teachers are more concerned about their own agendas than improving the quality of education and environment for the youths attending this poor excuse for a school. If you are a parent that cares about your child's academic success do not enroll them at Fort Caroline Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

Ft.careoline is a great school which i would recomend to all parents with good careing teqchers or in other words the perfect school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

We move to Jacksonville, Fl from North, 6 months ago. So far i havent had good experience with the schools here in Jacskonville. My daughter went to Ft Caroline last year for about two months, the girls there was so cruel to her. The teachers stand around and gossip all day about other teachers and students. There are way too many fights for a school to have. The students who wish to fight should be expelled and not allowed to come back to the school. I think the discpline policy should be stricker to gare the students from fighting. We never expierence an educational building , to be a war zone. I have a daughter attenting there now and is moving just to get her in a less Hostile School so she can focus on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

This school isn't that bad. I like the my son's teachers but it is so dirty. They need better janitors because this school has to be the dirtiest but if they were cleaner it would be my number 1 choice for other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I attend FCM this is my third year here and beign here is the greatest thing because the teacher are loving carin and are all about your education and not all schools are perfect we have our ups and downs but we will overcome @ conquer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

I think people have some preconcieved notions about FCM because of its location. It used to be just ok, but I think now it's a lot better. The teachers are very concerned about student success. There is daily after school help for homework, if your child is motivated enough to get help. If your kid doesn't want to learn, it's not the school's fault. If you don't like things about the school, get involved in the PTA. Remember you are the example for your kids; if you just sit back and expect something for nothing, so will your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Fort caroline middle school is the best school i have ever been too...i have been to 3 different school and FC is the best. I dont know why people think its a bad school because it is not. This school rules...this is my 3 and last year here. I love my teachers, the teachers will help you and give you only to help you get your grades up, and to all you parents who think its the schools fault for grades lowering...take that out on your kids not the school because i have been and A,B honor roll student all 3 years so its not the teachers or school....its your kids...but anyways i love this school and i will miss it next year.... submitted by Kaleigh
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

Fort Caroline is the best school I have ever attended I loved this school so did my sister everyone is friendly and nice. Now I'm in Ca and the school here is not better than FC
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

Fort Caroline is a good school. The field trips are fun(most of them are anyway.) My eighth grade teachers were very nice and helped you so you could make good grades.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 65%
White 19%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MAYSHA SHELTON
Fax number
  • (904) 745-4937

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3787 University Club Boulevard
Jacksonville, FL 32277
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 745-4927

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parsons Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL





CBE Learning Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT