Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nathan B. Forrest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

This a great place to send your son or daughter. The administration and staff is great. They care about ALL students and they are willing to listen to parents and students concerns. I can say the principal Dr. Bostic supports the students in academic and in extracurricular activities and organizations. I have seen him at every football game and basketball game (home and always). We as parents cannot always blame the school for every thing, we have to support the school more. GREAT PLACE and I Love the school. Dr. Bostic keep us informed by communicating to us by the phone message...I look forward to receiving his messages. The is orderly and structure.....Please keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

This is the worst racially profiled school that will not bother to help out troubled youth at all! Rather kick the youth out of school or lock them up based on their own opinions! I believe they should pink slip all the administration and start over with non-bias individuals who are willing to help everyone have a fare chance for fundamentals of learning. The school has cameras for protection , but when you need them they do not work or the system is down!! I suggest if your child has to go to school here , for you to go to the School Board and get a Special Assignment to anywhere else. Just my thoughts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

My son graduated from Nathan B Forrest last year. I have to say since Dr Brennan took on this school I have seen a great improvement in structure and discipline within the staff as well as the students conduct. He has been a great asset to this school and I commend him for his dedication for his unwavering fight to save these kids,including mine. It took some initiative on my part as a parent, yes a lot of initiative,but I must say it was worth every minute of my time. Thanks Dr Brennan & Staff for being there for me and my son and making a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

THIS SCHOOL WAS DEFINITELY MY WORST HIGHSCHOOL EXPERIENCE. School just started and already I can tell I'm not going to last here. All of the faculty and staff are rude and disrespectful. It is super unfair here and they refuse to compromise. This school all together will set you to failure because all the staff are worried about all day is what you are wearing. Form fitting clothes not welcomed but skinny jeans EVERYWHERE... Oh! The classes are boring and below average level. They take phones even if you are not on them and keep them as their own. They don't follow the code of conduct , they add their own ridiculous remix. Their focus is not on learning all they do is invade everyone's privacy and try to run each student against our will. Your classes will be all over the place and they expect you to be their in a jiffy. I'm a honor student and I actually care about my future although attending forrest is constantly messing up my record. I've gotten tardies even though one foot was in the classroom, issp for a skirt that was finger length, and my phone was confiscated for falling to the ground.. I can't wait to transfer to Stanton College Prep very soon thats a school to aim for !
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2011

This school is shameful!! Not only is it located in a prime drug activity area, it is very unpoliced!! Oh they put on the face that they care, but it is clear by the thug mentality of the students and gangs that attend, that there is nooo education available. I was on the newly drawn boundaries and was required to move my son from Orange Park High School, to this cesspool of a so called school!! Oh his grades went up...only because there is no bell curve at Forrest. It is definitely flat-line!! I will be looking to enroll my son else where as I know he will only suffer going to this place. Maybe if they spent more time getting students to follow the rules...like pulling pants up instead of running a thug fashion show there, some learning would happen. All staff is rude, and you can see they don't really care!! Guess when the doors close on this failing, shameful school...they will care as they will be out of a job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

When I first moved down to Florida, I came on this site to see how the school I had to go to would be and this gave me the wrong idea completely. The students are not bad really. It's the staff. They are very RUDE all the time. The teachers don't teach really either. The staff could care less, the principal, vice principals, teachers, none of them care about the parents opr students. A lot of them I should say. It's really sad but the students are great. Made some really good friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2010

I decided to give Forrest another chance, since there is a new principal this year. Yes, learning starts at home. We as parents depend on the teachers and the admin staff to help prepare our children for the future. My son had both good and bad teachers last year. Yes, students need to respect the teachers, however the teachers need to respect the students as well. We pay them to teach! Not to put the assignment on the board and tell them hat their assignment is on the board. I recommend every parent to do a surprise visit to their child school to get a true picture of what's really going on. I wish Forrest success this year. I am happy that they are really enforcing school rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Government schools tend to be poor places to learn but, this one was just horrible.The teachers didn't care about the students. You were lucky if you had a teacher that even spoke during class. Assignments were usually just written on the board and that was all there was to it. No instruction, no help. The students were violent and the staff turn a blind eye to it. Students were not there to learn. They were only there because the law required them to attend. It was seen as a prison. You are better off dropping out, getting a GED, and starting collage courses at FCCJ( or whatever it is called now). You cannot get an education at this government institution.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2010

I went to this school for junior year and quickly transferred to Sandalwood in the middle of the year. I would not recommend this school to anyone. I'll tell you there are a lot of unmotivated students. Out of all my classes, I only liked 2 teachers. I think the school would be better if the parents are more involved. Disciplining and learning the importance of education starts at home!


Posted February 20, 2009

It truly is not the teachers fault that this school has such poor ratings. When I attended this school half of my classes were honors and the other half were the standard. It was quite a remarkable switch each period, to say the least. You go from a quiet environment very suitable for learning, to one that is hard to think in because of the rowdiness and utter disrespect of the students. The ill-mannered children at Forrest have no respect for their teachers or any other student. The parents need to take responsibility for their children instead of blaming our hard working teachers for their child s failing grades.


Posted August 18, 2008

I had two students at Forrest last year, but both have transferred to other high schools because of the student body, not the teachers. It is difficult to concentrate and learn with so many distractions. I am a substitute teacher, who has been in Forrest classrooms, and take my hat off to all teachers who are still trying in an environment of so many unmotivated youth. parents need to wake up and spend more time training and disciplinig their children and less time buying clothes, mp3s, and cell phones for disrespectful failing students. Schools aren't failing our children, parents are. Shame on you for not caring enough about your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I am a recent graduate of this school (Class of 2007). Its not really the school that's the problem. Most teachers are trying their hardest to teach the kids and help pass the FCAT. I do agree there are SOME teachers who don't teach as great as they should, but most of them are seriously trying their hardest. What can you do if students choose not to learn? I know for a fact that the APUSH, AP EURO, ROTC, and AP LIT teachers are teaching and its just those students who aren't listening or care enough to learn and graduate. I was in ROTC and I understand how they feel when students do not listen and disrespect. Its up to the students to decide what they want to do. I graduated with Honors, at the top 10% of my class, and I was 2nd in Command in ROTC.


Posted April 28, 2008

I feel this school is out of focus and the school needs to get the parents involved more instead of trying to do it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

this school cares nothing about academics compared to it's cares of student behavior and the way that it looks on the state. the teachers are more focused on your learning what they have planned the day they have it planned more than the fact that you may not even have it learned. they are focused on the way that they look more than the pace of the students themselves. they have a lot of improving to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Both my son and daughter go to this school, they don't really like it the teachers don't teach as the others have informed you on. Although I must say the AFJROTC program is great and that is the only reaason my children attend this school. There are alot of extra curricular activites that you can particiapate in although ther are a limit amount of sports. This is not a school I would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

This school is cool but the teachers just give us homework and they don't explain anything to us. The school is old and it could of been kept up well but no one tried to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

My daughter has been at Forrest for 3 years and she loves it. she plays sports and has joined clubs. She likes her teachers and if she needs help there is free tutoring after school. The principal is working hard to keep the school a safe place. We need more parents to teach their chilkdren to respect the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

My daughter attended this school her freshman year. Communication with most office staff and administrators was difficult. No matter what problem I had or needed help with, they acted as if they were doing me a favor to address the issue. There were a few of her teachers who were concerned and interested but most of them seemed burned out, tired, and/or unconcerned about her. I am very disappointed in this school academically, socially and overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

My step-daughter transferred to this school after attending one of the top academic schools in the country. She went from a A student to a C student in less than one year. She said the teachers do not teach and the students fight a lot. When I reviewed the school's standing and test results. I literally cried. I begged her mother to take her out of this school and that is exactly what she did. Thank God for caring parents. If you are a caring parent then remove your child from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

This needs more discpline for the students. Availability for extracurricular activites are outstanding. It also offers opportunity for students to advance to their correct grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
16%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
White 26% 42%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 67%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%65%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Alvin Brennan
Fax number
  • (904) 573-1177

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5530 Firestone Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32244
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-1170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


Atcom Christian School
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT