Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Louis S. Sheffield Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 794 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Awesome school, beautiful, clean and advanced. the teachers and staff are wonderful!!!!!!! It's the best school in this community. my daughter loves it and it makes me happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

This is my be in an old building, but the teachers and faculty are great! My son just finished 6 years at Sheffield and he absolutely loved the school. As a parent, I felt I was kept involved in his education and the teachers did not have issues when I inquired on his progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

We are new to Sheffield this year, as we moved here from out of state. We came from an excellent school and I had very high expectations. With my oldest, the expectations have been met and then some. This school has been amazing for him. He loves it and his teachers are incredible. My youngest, however, Im not very fond of her teacher. 2 months into school and she still cant get her name right and often sends home another students work and progress reports. My child is still struggling to adjust to the move, and this isnt helping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

sheffield elementary school have great ,awesome and dedicates teachers. mrs.Highsmith, mrs.Wood, mrs.lumsden,, mrs.connor, mrs.richardson, mrs.slucomb, mrs.dorsey are the best ,best,best teacher.the school in general have great staff. is clean promote academy enviromental. like mother I was feel always welcome in shefield.the parents always involves on activities ,always helps school I am recommend that school. june/22/2012
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

Mrs stancil is an angry misdirected censored teacher that needs discipline. And Id love the chance for a fair debate on the subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

First grade teacher, Mrs. Roberts is the absolute best! My son was in her class last year and enjoyed every minute of the year. It is amazing how much a child can learn when a teacher makes it fun for them!!!! Mrs. Roberts, Can you move to third grade? We have missed you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

My Daughter is in Kindergarton at Sheffield. She LOVES this school!!! Mrs.Stancil is a WONDERFUL teacher. My family is very pleased with how this school year is going!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

My children go here and the teachers and staff are fantastic. They communicate well with the parents and go the extra mile to help the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

everyone at the school is great! many of the teachers were there when i went there. its a very reassuring feeling that they do not have a large teacher turn-over rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

My child has enjoyed all the events that the school has provided.she loves the reading celebration!she looks forward to all the stuff the is an educational game/goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

My children and I love this school! The administration and the teachers really care about the kids that attend this school. As a mother of a special needs child that attends this school, they have been nothing but helpful and supportive in ensuring that my child is safe and that she gets a well rounded experience. If and when we move, I will make sure that wherever we go, this school is our assigned school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

Sheffield is one of the best school we have in town. A principal that gets things done. When he says something has to be done,the next day it is. We were there during the overcrowded time but can say my children's education was never jeopardized. The teachers and staff work tremendously together and care about any child that enters the school. Applause to all teachers and staff at Sheffield that makes my children's education a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

The principal is wonderful. We attended K thru 4, then moved to the brand 'new' school that was just built and moved us out of that district for the final 5th grade, but I am sending my new Kindergartner, second child back to Sheffield, warmer, more involved environment. Principal very accessible and wonderful to talk to and help out with anything you might be concerned with. New school, nothing really wrong but I loved the environment of Sheffield and that's what I want for my kindergartner. Many board-certified teachers there, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

This is the first year that both of my children attend their 'neighborhood school', Sheffield Elementary. They were previously in a magnet school, and bar none, Sheffield Elementary is a breath of fresh air. They both enjoy school, their lunches, teachers and all of the new friends they have met. Unlike their previous school, they haven't come home complaining about anything negative regarding Sheffield Elementary. Hats of to the entire staff for making learning a positive experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

My children have been going here for 3 years and it is a wonderful school. The one they went to first was horriable and they cried to stay home, but at Sheffield they have perfect attendence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I feel that my daughter received an excellent education this past year. Coming from CA, I can see that the quality of academics here is much better. Teachers and staff were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2005

Due to enormous growth, Sheffield is bursting at the seems. It seems as though everyone is anxiously waiting for the new school to open. Class sizes are very large, with many co-teaching situations (2 teachers, 2 classes, 1 room). Like most schools, the majority of teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic toward their profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This school has been growing at an alarming rate. I am very pleased at how well the principal and staff handle this growth. Things are ran very well at the school and the principal is really great at what he does. He genuinely cares about the students and how they conduct themselves. He takes care of problems immediately. Kudos to this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

Sheffield elem. School is a great school to send your child to. Everyone at sheffield is very involved in what the kids do. The principal is the best. I have never seen a principal get involved like Mr. lauzon does. My chils has learned alot since he started at sheffield and i owe it to the teachers. There science program is at the top of this world. My sons loves to go to the science den. Sheffield lets the parents get involved in what goes on. They keep you informed on whats going on and if there are any new changes. Plus they welcome the parents input. The best thing i think sheffield does is promotes the kids to read. If they read the numbers of books for the year based on their grade level. They put a day aside for the kids to attend a day of fun. Called reading celebration.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Black 22%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13333 Lanier Road
Jacksonville, FL 32226
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 696-8758

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
Jacksonville, FL




The Little Country School
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT