Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edward H. White High School

Public | 9-12 | 1752 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

My name is Reginald Massey my son goes to Ed White , His is in his second year. This school has done a complete turn around from last year. Ed White is now a great school ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I think the Administrative staff is not very helpful at all. The principal Mr. Jackson is very rude and does not return phone calls. He has an standoff attitude and could care less! School could use a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

The administration isn't helpful I had called for three days to get a hold of one person for testing information and there was an approaching deadline and still received no help. The teacher's aren't easy to work with and the student who tried to get involved cursed at me.


Posted July 29, 2011

A few good teachers, but mostly bad teachers and horrible violent student body.Overall bad school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2010

What major events and things happen at Edward .H. White.....? Thr drama level?...The teacher level and everything else here?..What is this school like?


Posted August 10, 2010

Personally i love Ed White. Most of the teachers were great. Some even acted like my parents when it came to my grades. There were horrible students though. The ROTC is the best. If your a slacker and go into ROTC they will weed you out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

Honestly, this isnt that bad of a school. If the child tries at what they do, the teachers try their best to help them get good grades. Teachers always offer tutoring and a lot of my teachers remind the students and normally stay after everyday. It is the kid that doesnt feel like going to tutoring. Most kids play around and not pay attention. These teachers try to prepare students for college so they wont normally accept grades past their due date unless a child was sick or if they do it will be 10 pts off everyday they dont turn it in. Yes i am in honors but some of the teachers also teach regular classes. i get a's in my classes so how come others cant?!?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

This school is a very bad school, with a majority of the teachers having a none caring attitudes towards the students, though the few teachers that are good get stuck working at a school that's probably not even worthy to go to Also this school is too overcrowded, and the kids there have too much of a lack of respect, along with some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

As a 2008 graduate, I believe Ed White isn't the greatest school to receive an education. The teachers are top-notch in most cases, but frustrated by the student behavior and the leniency in discipline. The administration staff do their best, but are a bit out of touch with the going ons of actual hall-way activity. It's also rather crowded, and when there's about forty people, with 39 of them students with a less than caring attitude, problems happen more than they should. Hopefully Ed White will gain more interest and the attention it needs to bring it out of it's failing grade. It's salvageable, but in danger if academic standards continue to plummet.


Posted May 22, 2008

In my opinion Ed White is an ok school however the class schedule and curiculem is not up to par with what i believe it should be. Students should try and make a B average other wise they should be expelled.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

Jacksonville fl is where i went to school and grew up. I love edward h. White high school.


Posted November 24, 2007

This school is good. The enviroment is great. The teachers do there job and more. There is some problems but all schools have that but overall its great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

My oldest daughter graduated class president and in top 12 of her class a couple of years back. Going from a student who hated school in the earlier years to this was a major improvement! I now have my youngest there this year and I am hoping she finds the same interest. The school thrives on 0 tolerance and is very safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

This school is very intresting. You feel you've seen it all or you've done it all. Ed. White High is like its own little world. Teachers are like parents you like them, but sometimes they get on your nerves. Students are all different no matter where you go. Clubs.....join bowling, its awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2006

I'm a Fairly recent graduate of Ed. White. Even though this school, like many others, has its fair share of problems, I benefitted greatly from my time there. The variety of classes is amazing and the quality of the education received is top-notched. Although, Parental involvement is nearly nonexistant...Parents! Be involved!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 24, 2005

This is a great school I have put 4 of my kids through this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

This is a very good school. All three of my kids went and they loved it. Most of the teachers are good. My daughter goes now and she is a freshman & she loves it!!! if i had to i would recomend this school to anyone. Its excelent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

I am a student at Ed White, and have enjoyed it very much. There have been two deaths in the past week here, and its very hard to watch people you know die. All you can do is work your very hardest to achieve your goals and make your life all it can possibly be, regardless of the emotional setbacks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2004

This is my sons first year at Ed White. The teachers and staff that I have come in contact with are truly dedicated to making sure our children get a good solid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

451 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 23%
White 32% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 57%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%65%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher Jackson
Fax number
  • (904) 693-7639

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Old Middleburg Rd N
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 693-7620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle's View Academy
Jacksonville, FL



Temple Christian Academy
Jacksonville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT