Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crown Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1046 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

Crown Point is a wonderful school!! My husband and I have have been very pleased and impressed and have had a wonderful experience. Our son started kindergarten there in August 2013 and absolutely loves his teacher and his classmates. He is in a class of 18 and his classmates are a wonderful group of kids. Our son loves going to school everyday and has learned so much. Miss Toker is absolutely amazing!! We love Crown Point and can't wait to come back next year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

I would like to recognize Mrs.Hickox, Mrs. Eyler, and Mrs. Wyzan. My kids loved them. Because of them, my kids loved going to school! Crown Point Elementary is awesomel. It is very easy for parents to get involved and I have had no issues with concerns and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Mrs. Owens-Thompson is doing a great job at Crown Point. Through her efficient, caring and professional ways we are back to an "A" school. I look forward to another successful year with all our teachers, principal and staff. Crown Point is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I see all the reviews and it was what I had hoped for when my son started school in 2010. What I found out in the last two years is there is little to no comunication from teacher, guidance counselors and principal, even after contacting the school board. As an involved parent when asking about working with my child at home, I am told to only read to him and not to work with math, this makes it hard on a parent when this is what your child excales at and comes home with the need to learn more math! This school IS NOT PARTICIPATING SUNSHINE MATH for any chid and there AR ( Accelerated Reader) is no where to be found this year. If your child is above average in most areas and is lacking in another Good luck getting help! Not to mention the lack of discipline (that I have seen first hand) in the classrooms. I will be moving from this area just to get my son to a school that shows some Intrest in the children's needs and not a one sizes fits all. My family is extremely unhappy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Most of the teachers are outstanding here! They are always there to help the kids and communication is great. The former principal was horrible but thank goodness there will be a new one this year. She had horrible people skills and I felt she was very inexperienced. Not to mention she wasted so much of the schools money that they are practically broke. Also many of the teachers she seemed to favorite were not the best teachers. Don't get me wrong they weren't bad but there were better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Most of the teachers are outstanding here! They are always there to help the kids and communication is great. The former principal was horrible but thank goodness there will be a new one this year. She had horrible people skills and I felt she was very inexperienced. Not to mention she wasted so much of the schools money that they are practically broke. Also many of the teachers she seemed to favorite were not the best teachers. Don't get me wrong they weren't bad but there were better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

My daughter started as ESOL student in this school 2 years ago. Thanks to the great teacher she had the first year, she was able to catch up with all the other students and her english improved amazingly. This year my daughter was sent to an English class and the teachers have been great and very supportive though out the school year. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

We love Crown Point. My son will be going into the first grade and his kindergarten teacher (Ms. Hickox) was wonderful. Great way to start off the whole school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Crown Point Elementary is an excellent school. The overall atmosphere is very welcoming. It is a very safe school and the new principal ( as of 2006) has made vast improvements. The teachers communicate well and are responsive to parents and focused on the students' overall growth educationally and personally. They seem to truly care about each child. The volunteer base and PTA are very strong. The school offers several family events throughout the year. Crown Point has earned an 'A' for 6 years, I believe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My son goes to school here. It is a wonderful school. His teacher Mrs. Hickox is wonderful! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I am a former student of Crown Point. I loved attending this school! I was a safety patrol and I loved doing so. I made friends at Crown point that are now helping me through my middle school years. The teachers and staff are and got me ready for middle school. I am now in all advanced classes at MMS and have had straight A's! I loved this school!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 28, 2007

My son in fifth grade at Crown Point and has been there since Kindergarten. This is a wonderful elementary school. Teachers are genuinely concerned about their student's progress, although unfortunatley have to place too much emphasis on FCAT - just like all Florida schools, but overall just fantastic. He has had great teachers and I believe in their principal. She really is concerned about the progress of her students. She is doing a great job. I highly recommend Crown Point to anyone looking in Duval County. Their motton of character counts really shows through in the student's academic programs. Student's are graded and rewarded for citizenship. This school is outstanding and I am very happy my child had the opportunity to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

This school is uncaring about its students. I would recommend it to nobody. Experiences are made up of individuals and every individual at this school was focused on scores rather than the kids. The only redeeming value of the school was that it was free. But then again, that is all it was worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

My son just completed kindergarten here and it was a delight. Crown Point was my first experience at being a parent to an elementary schooler. The faculty is wonderful, they encourage parent involvement while at the same time teach the children independence. My son had a wonderful year as did I thanks to the wonderful people at Crown Point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Great school! Teachers really care about the education of our children. A very safe school and friendly staff! This school was a breath of fresh air for my children! Not one problem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

This is a great school. The teacher/principal involvement is outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Crown Point has an excellent academic program with caring dedicated teachers and staff. They offer a wide variety of subjects and the parental involvement exceeds many of the area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Crown Point finally has PE teachers. The students only have PE once every 2 weeks if they are lucky.The lower level grades have more parent involvement 5th grade has hardly any parent involvement (for parties).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Crown Point has had the same principal for over 15 years and some of the teachers have been there even longer. This adds greatly to the stability and quality of education at this school. Truly, I feel a child gets a first-class education here. Alot of the 'extras' -- P.E., art and music, were either lost or cut back a long time ago, which is very unfortunate, but teachers do their best to make up for this. Extra programs in reading and math are the norm and wonderful. The PTA and SAC are active beyond belief! The school never fails to make a good impression from the minute you walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

My son has attended crown point for the last two years. We moved from southern illinios to folirda, and since he has been a crown point student his academic level has accelerated by leaps and bounds. He used to hate going back to school once summer vacation was over. Now he looks forward to every new school year. He has been lucky enough to continue to be classmates with quite a few of children that were in his class when first beginning crown point. I moved in the area so that he could continue to attend crown point. Out of all of my decisions in life for myself and my son making sure that he attended crown point was in the top5. The staff is unbelievable, they care about each indiviual student. The campus is beautiful, clean, and a great expiernce for any child. I give crown point 100%!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Black 22%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%65%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. JAYNE OWENS-THOMPSON
Fax number
  • (904) 260-5839

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 Crown Point Road
Jacksonville, FL 32257
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 260-5808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Christ's Church Academy
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT