Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Douglas Anderson School Of The Arts

Public | 9-12 | 1218 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2008

to the people that look down at DA's educational value because we focus on arts areas, they must understand that in no way is it different than a sports program is to a regular school. if you make bad grades, you will be penalized from your dance recitals, or programs. also if one is to drop in grqade point average they put you in your home school. in no way is DA lacking in educational value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

This school is the best high school of the arts in the country, as far as we are concerned. We were transferred to CA after my son's second year at DA. While his new school in CA was very good, it did not compare to the teaching and guidance given at DA. Our son audtitioned and was accepted into the UCLA Theatre program after high school. He attributes his acceptance into this highly ranked program to his teachers and curriculum in the DA Theatre department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Our daughter transferred her junior year from Paxon IB. What a breath of fresh air for her. She loves the AP classes and the Creative Writing department is amazing. DA gets an A in our book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

I love my school to death! it has amazing arts and great academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

There are opportunities at every level for students at DA. If you still need your parents to hold your hand through the process at high school level, this school is not for you. There are many opportunities for the parents to be involved. My daughter will be a senior next year and I have been priviledged to attend the shows and events that rival the professionals. If you don't like DA, you are not taking advantage of all that it has to offer. My only regret is that German was not offered. However, my daughter has taken two years of Latin and the Creative Writing department is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I am very pleased as the parent of a freshman in the writing department. The child takes five core academic classes and three classes in their art area. What a wonderful chance. Our daughter is very smart, but never excelled until DA. She is so motivated and extremly interested as she is being challanged in her arts area. There is no gifted program at DA but who needs one when Ap classes are offered and advanced placement. For the first tiime in her life, she relaly feels like she belongs in a school.l Plus she has friends of all races.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

I am very pleased with this school and my daughter loves it. Because she has been home schooled most of her life her father and I feared that it would be a rough transition for her, but it has turned out amazing. She has made many friends and she continues to excel at this school. DA gets an 'A' from this parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

I am very pleased with Douglas Anderson. My child looks forward to attending every day, and is eager to share experiences. The teachers are very dedicated and seem to be able to give pertinent information and direction to students. This school is for those who are interested in pursuing ARTS, not sports. For this I am very thankful. The students here have auditioned and excelled in academics before attending. This certainly weeds out students who are not dedicated to a particular arts field or academics. These factors create a safe and pleasant environment for learning to take place. I have been involved in private and public schools in the US. This is one of the finest schools I have ever observed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 2, 2007

Too much emphasis on arts and not enough on education. School does not encourage parent involvement unless it is fundraising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

As one of thousands of proud parents who can attest, DA is an educational experience of the highest calibur. Graduates can honestly look back at their time there & know they have truly earned their diplomas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

We moved here from out of State and are thrilled to have our daughter in DA. It was an easy transition to the south for her as everyone is extremely accepting of assumed differences. I say assumed because obviously, people are the same inside - no matter where you're from. She is doing wonderful in DA both academically and socially. The teachers are stimulating and encouraging. Although we feared the 90 minute periods, they turned out to be a great thing! Homework is kept at a minimum because they actually get to learn during class time. What a wonderful thing! Along with the State A rating, Douglas Anderson gets this parent's A rating too! Only thing that's lacking is useful parent meetings. Fundraisers and newsletters are nice but I think there should be more pertinent parent to parent info and parent involvement on a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

Douglas Anderson is a public arts school which has been mistaken for a private school due to its programs. The neighboring magnet high schools and private schools focus only on their academics, while at DA, the student is required to keep a high GPA in arts and academics. At the same time, each arts area and subject has a good amount of wonderful, experienced professors that make projects extremely fun. All the hardwork is recognized by faculty and peers alike. To add, the students are treated more like adults rather than children, which allows them to become more comfortable with themselves earlier than other teenagers. It's truly an A school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2006

Both of my children graduated from DA. I cannot say enough about what a wonderful opportunity DA gives to students. Academics are excellent (though necessarily narrow) and arts are wonderful. The self-discipline taught in the arts areas is extraordinary; the transition to college is much easier for most DA kids because of their arts area experience. Both of my children spent 35-45 hours aweek at school, and were happy to do it. A truly extraordinary school - because of the kids, as well as teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

This year was my freshman daughter's first year at D.A. This school is a perfect match for her or any student who excels in the arts areas. Obviously, DA is not for kids who desire to be a cheerleader or play sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

My son is learning alot in the Creative Writing program. My complaints would be the lack of other guys available as friends. The major is small (approx 30 per grade), and more girls than boys. My other complaint is the absentee rate of teachers, and the lack of assignments in their absence. He has watched numerous Disney movies with subs. But, he is doing well, likes his teachers, and seems safe and happy. He keeps his old friends from a prior school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

I currently attend DA as a senior. Even though this is a public school, one must not forget that it is still an art school as well as a college prepatory school. If you're child is interested and able to perform in a certain art area, such as visual arts, theatre, technical theatre, film/tv, writing, dancing, piano, or any instrument, then maybe they can audition. About 48% of all auditioners are accepted. Something that will give your child a better advantage at auditioning is making sure they have good grades on their last report card they recieved at their current school. DA students must maintain higher than a 2.0 GPA to do anything at school. DA is a great school for talented, motivated people who are interested n practicing their art and going to college. DA also let's their students express themselves. Students also don't prosecute other students for being different.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2005

I'm a graduate and let me tell you from a student's perspective, attending Douglas Anderson was a wonderful experience. The teachers actually care, one never worries that their person will be harmed, you're challenged academically as well as in your chosen arts concentration. A bit more on safety, there may have been one fight my entire 4 years at this school, I think those involved were expelled. Also, I never felt apprehensive about leaving my purse and my (very expensive) instrument unattended in the instrumental department. My teachers were accesible and they even attended student performances. Now that I'm a university student I've decided to major in Business. The skills I learned at Douglas Anderson (more than academic) helped me land a multi-year PAID internship with a Fortune 250 company. A Douglas Anderson education is a pricelss gift and an opportunity few receive.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 16, 2005

Academics are tough, coupled with tough arts classes, but I believe it really prepares them for a collegiate environment. Make sure your child is arts devoted because those are the courses you will be living with for four years. Great Booster program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

My daughter attended DA 2002/2003. This may be a great school if your student is already an A+ student. Don't expect much if they are average or special needs. They have no idea how to help them. There idea is talented students have to be academic genius as well as talented in an art field. The problem with this idea is that talent may be the only talent God gave that person. This school will waste person and their talent for the sake of an overall A rating. Any school can have an A+ rating if they can throw out the students they don't know how to help. After the right help at my daughters home school she is up to grade level, making Bs and passed all but one part of the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Douglas Anderson is by far the best high school for all young artists. The education at this school will expand your child's knowledge and ability in their field and give them a great taste of what they'll expect in their future careers.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

318 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

285 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
40%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
92%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Black 21%
Hispanic 8%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%65%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2445 San Diego Road
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 346-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bishop Kenny High School
Jacksonville, FL


Father's Harbor Academy
Jacksonville, FL




Episcopal High School
Jacksonville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT